Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light it, Shoot it, Retouch it.
I bought this book have been recommended by a friend at work. What I liked was how it shows the studio setup and then follows through to a finished product,
Scott Kelby explains his methods very well,along it easy to follow, with the bonus of the link to download the images and complete them as you read through the chapter.
An excellent book with hints and tips...
Published on 3 Dec. 2011 by SJK

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much Photoshop and not enough variety of subjects
Technically this book delivers in that it describes and illustrates some studio set-ups with the work-flow to get a very polished artificial-looking result. Much of this is achieved using a huge studio, very expensive equipment and oodles of Photoshop.

Scott states at the beginning that he didn't spend too much on the equipment but in the UK if you add up the...
Published 4 months ago by Annie MacDonald


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light it, Shoot it, Retouch it., 3 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I bought this book have been recommended by a friend at work. What I liked was how it shows the studio setup and then follows through to a finished product,
Scott Kelby explains his methods very well,along it easy to follow, with the bonus of the link to download the images and complete them as you read through the chapter.
An excellent book with hints and tips that I have been able to put to use in my general photography and work too.
It has proved a good purchase which I would recommend to anyone looking to advance both their studio photography and post processing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide..., 9 Nov. 2011
By 
Andrew Mclaughlin (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is a great book to guide you through lots of lighting scenarios, I got my copy yesterday and have had a good flick through picking up some good tips already. It's well organised and you don't have to read from start to finish, you can dive into the picture style you want to create and you get walked through the process from start to finish - If you shoot and post process in Photoshop or similar this is a really good reference book. I'm a graphic artist with a decent level of Photoshop experience and I'm working on my photography skills, I feel this book is perfect for that. If you don't have a knowledge of Photoshop don't be put off as Scott takes you through step by step.
I would have liked to see some guides for product lighting, but maybe that's another book.
Well done Mr Kelby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much Photoshop and not enough variety of subjects, 1 Jan. 2015
By 
Annie MacDonald "AnnieMacD" (Applecross, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Technically this book delivers in that it describes and illustrates some studio set-ups with the work-flow to get a very polished artificial-looking result. Much of this is achieved using a huge studio, very expensive equipment and oodles of Photoshop.

Scott states at the beginning that he didn't spend too much on the equipment but in the UK if you add up the cost all his Elinchrom gear, not to mention modifiers, it comes to thousands of pounds. Of course it would be possible to get much cheaper equipment (and he does have a chapter on how to convert each set-up for using hot-shoe flash) but the variety of octaboxes, softboxes, strip grid with egg crate grid (yeah, me too!), beauty dishes, etc etc is huge and I presume the results would be different if you did not have all these modifiers. Not to mention all the stands and backdrops required. However, if you have all the gear then you presumably know how to use it but you may still learn from his lay-outs and how to obtain the effects he is after.

And that brings us to another topic. He only uses two varieties of model. Very skinny young women who look totally disempowered in ridiculous poses tottering on extremely high heels, and three examples of men who are depicted as sports people, two of whom look very aggressive. Wake up, Scott, this is 2015. Enough said on that topic.

I wanted to learn about studio set-ups for families, pets, real people and still-life/product. And don't get me started on Photoshop. There is one set-up using an older man (no older women, of course) taking a golf swing whose face is fairly wrinkled. Scott recommends to totally smooth out the wrinkles in Photoshop and then judiciously put some back in. Aaaaargh! I want to photograph people and want to make them look alive.

I should probably only have given the book one star but the guy seems to know what he is doing technically. So, I'm off to buy Christopher Grey's book "Master Lighting Guide for Portrait Photographers" which seems to be an altogether more relevant and respectful book for the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good multi-subject book, 12 Aug. 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
In many respects, this book is typically Scott Kelby. It is a step-by-step guide replete with multiple screen captures, diagrams and images whose purpose is to help explain and to replace huge amounts of text which may be less easy to comprehend than a single illustration.

The book is also a slight deviation from his normal offerings in that it talks about lighting, the photography and image manipulation more or less in sequence and simultaneously rather than treating them as distinct from each other. Unfortunately for most of us, lottery winners aside, he has access to a studio about half the size of a football pitch and enough lighting equipment to fill a film company's lighting van. Whilst we may be able to provide a temporary studio in a lounge or other room in our house and perhaps have one or two lamps, they are not likely to be of the size or types shown here. Forgiving that, we may be able to partly duplicate the shots with available facilities.

Kelby is one of the most prolific current writers on photography, and one of the most knowledgeable. He lectures and offers tutorials in person and on disk on behalf of several training companies and, occasionally, for Adobe mostly using Photoshop or Photoshop Lightroom. Although there are some negative comments from other reviewers, this book is intended as a learning medium for those wishing to improve their photography. It is not intended for the more expert photographer or those who have extensive experience with image manipulation, whether with Lightroom, Photoshop or anything else.

If this book suits your purposes in one or more of the areas covered by its title, it is one that you should certainly consider and probably buy. It is not the most complete offering on either of its subject fields and, if your needs are greater than this book provides, there are other offerings that may better suit. However, if an all-in-one solution will suffice, this is about as good as you will find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Studio and Manipulation in a nutshell, 5 Jan. 2012
By 
M. J. Clenton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Scott Kelby is one of those rare American authors who does not over use humour to help you learn.

Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It, is studio photography in a nutshell with extra classes on professional retouching. The genius part of this books format, is the fact that Scott Kelby thinks about the photographer. The book is laid out with the obvious introduction to what the book is about and various set ups for Digital SLR camera's. Then you are taken on a lesson guide to setting up studio shoots with portraiture in mind. Each shoot lesson is documented with various photographs from all angles, even from above, which show the precise set up. It is a revelation to see photographs and not drawn diagrams.

Each of these lessons are followed by a comprehensive guide to professional image retouching. The only downside to this is, if you do not own the latest version of Photoshop CS5, you will not be able to follow all of the retouching guides. This is due to the fact that some of the tools Scott Kelby uses, are only found in CS5.

There then follows a few pages on the various photographic equipment and studio accessories for a decent studio shoot.

I would recommend this book to anyone with prior photographic knowledge and a good head for photo manipulation. I would also recommend that you be prepared to spend money on studio equipment. Scott Kelby does offer advice on this, but the end section of equipment is far from the budget market.

Overall, a very well thought of guide to studio photography and manipulation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST have book that explains it all and more!!!, 9 Sept. 2011
By 
Glyn Dewis "Dinkiz" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok so imagine how good it would if one day somebody out there would write a photography book that covered everything from the photo shoot, the equipment, settings used, the editing and all the way through to the final image?

Well, imagine no further because it's been done and it's available NOW!!!

Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It is the latest book from Best Selling Author Scott Kelby and having had a copy for the past week I don't hesitate in telling you that it absolutely ROCKS!!!

This new book is made up of 13 Chapters; 12 of which cover a completely different photo shoot using a completely different lighting set up.

So let's take a look at what makes this book destined to be such a winner...

Contents:
Chapter 1: Clamshell Lighting (3 Light Classic Beauty Setup)
Chapter 2: High Contrast Lighting (2-Light Edgy Setup)
Chapter 3: Dramatic Glamour Lighting (2-Light Dramatic Setup)
Chapter 4: Lens-Flare Lighting (3-Light Lens Flare Setup)
Chapter 5: Using Ring Flash for Fashion Lighting (1-Light =Ring Flash Setup)
Chapter 6: Edgy Lighting (3-Light Sports Setup)
Chapter 7: Full-Length Fashion Lighting (1-Light Full Length Setup)
Chapter 8: Soft Glamour Lighting (1-Light Home Interior Setup)
Chapter 9: Fashion Side Lighting (2-Light On-Location Fashion Setup)
Chapter 10: Lighting for Composition (4-Light Sports Composite Setup)
Chapter 11: Dramatic Side Lighting (1-Light Dramatic Setup)
Chapter 12: 1940's Hollywood-Style Lighting (2-Light Beauty Setup)
Chapter 13: If You Use Hot Shoe Flash Instead...

Each Chapter is split into 4 sections that take you from the photoshoot all the way through to the final edited image, covering the Set Up, Gear Guide, Camera Settings and the Post Processing.

The Set Up:
This is the first thing you'll notice that sets this book apart from any other. The practice of including lighting diagrams has been in books and on the web for some time now; in fact I have been known myself to include the occasional hand drawn masterpiece when I write about a recent photo shoot, but Scott's gone one better.

Each chapter is packed with behind the scenes photographs showing the lighting set up, the position of the model and photographer from every angle imaginable; left, right, behind, above. Don't get me wrong, lighting diagrams can be really helpful I know but they're very much a case of `the light was kind of in errmmmmm this position'.

In Light It, Shoot it, Retouch It, you see Photos from every angle so you get to see every light modifier actually in position as opposed to where it was `roughly'. This alone sets this new book from Scott Kelby apart from the crowded shelves of Photography books but this is just the start...

Gear Guide & Camera Settings
With each chapter Scott shows every single piece of kit that was used from the camera, lights, modifiers, triggers and accessories.

Inn addition to that though Scott goe into all the settings used on the lights and the camera too.

Sure when we go off to replicate the shots the settings will vary depending on the environment we're in but having these settings as a starting point is surely a good thing; if only to give an idea of ratios.

Talking of lights, throughout the book there are a whole mix of set ups from one light through to multiple lights and even down to using Speedlights, but more on that later.

One very important message that comes across from the book is that you don't have to have the expensive kit to produce great results and if anything rather than spending your money on the lights, spend the money on the modifiers.

Post Processing
Each chapter closes by covering the editing that was done to take the out of camera image to it's final print ready version.

This is where it all comes together as Scott goes through each and every part of the edit step by step just as he does in his previous book "Professional Retouching Techniques for Photographers using Photoshop"

This previous book was a sell out in no time and created a buzz around the photography industry like no other that I can remember so having the post production section in this new book too, seriously takes it to new heights.

What about if you don't use or have access to a studio?
There may be some nay sayers feeling that the book wont be relevant to them because they either don't use a studio or just don't have access to one but Scott's got it covered, as the final shoot sees Scott on location for a fashion shoot.

Ok so what about us Speedlight users?
Yep that's covered too, in fact better than you could hope for, because at the end of the book Scott repeats all the shoots but with speedlights and relevant modifers to produce the same results.

I can't even begin to imagine how much time and effort has gone into this book that covers so much and at the same time covers it in so much detail leaving the reader in no doubt as to what to do.

Another thing I also really like is maybe one that might wasn't intentional and that's, that all of the studio shoots are done on half width seamless backgrounds as opposed to full width.

So why is this so important? 'Well, not everyone has the luxury of enough room to set up a full sized seamless and stands or indeed the ability to transport such kit around. The 1/2 sized is much more portable and can be carried around relatively easy and set up in most spaces. Plus...these backgrounds are relatively inexpensive [Link] ; it's things like this that make the book for `everyone'.

Summary
This new book from Scott Kelby is destined to be THE photography book to own!!!

Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I have read the criticisms of this book and I just don't get it. The book does what it says on the tin. Yes it does have a lot of stuff on photoshop, but then the book title does include the term "Retouch It". And yes, you can get free tutorials on how to use Photoshop but those free tutorials don't detail how the images got into Photoshop in the first place (the camera settings, shooting angle, lighting set-ups) but this book does. As a ready reference for the less experienced, and for those experienced but wanting to fill a few gaps in their knowledge,the book is fine. And the author's lighting set-up details are the best I have ever seen (i like the way he has shot from above and used a real photographer and real equipment (or perhaps used a lighting diagram software that gives a more realistic 3D look to the diagrams)).

And no it doesn't appear, as far as I could tell, to go into other details about organising make-up artists and negotiating a contract or dealing with a model agency but then by looking at the title of the book clearly those issues are beyond the scope of this publication.

I haven't as yet read the book properly; I received the book a few hours ago and skimmed through it to make sure the book would have value and I find that it does. I am not gonna claim that the book is earth shatteringly brilliant but from my persual of the publication it doesn't deserve the criticisms it has received from some reviewers on this site.

It gets the thumbs up from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Business as usual, 16 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Typical Scot Kelby book,makes it all sound deceptively simple with his easy to understand guide to what went where, how it was done etc etc. Also as usual it leaves you wanting more......

As always it really does pay to read the book from beginning to end. It may make some people ( like me ) jealous of the options Scot has because of the variety of kit he has at his command. The response to this is that there are other ways of approximating the looks he produces ( especially in the U.S. where accessories and equipment for photographers seem to be more common) AND photography for the serious hobbyist has NEVER been cheap.

I must admit that the retouching section of each of the examples was the least interesting to me, as I bought this book to stimulate my lighting set ups. It did. Job done. Purchase vindicated. For retouching I would recommend Professional portrait retouching techniques.... by the same author.(Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop) By Kelby, Scott (Author) Paperback on 24-Mar-2011

If you are new to using lights on a shoot... buy this book. If you are an old hand.... seriously consider getting this book if you like others from the pen of Mr Kelby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A first class read, 21 April 2012
By 
A. Tapsell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title of this book says it all. The author takes you through how to set your lights and why and how to process the shots in Photoshop after.

The information around setting up your shots is not too in depth but manages to give you enough knowledge to give it a try yourself. Each chapter is dedicated to a specific lighting/flash arrangement. There are helpful views from above and from behind the photographer along with pictures showing the settings on the camera and flashes.

Really it should have the word 'Photoshop' in the title as the bulk of the book is about how to give your photos the 'pro' look once you have them on your pc. Within 15 minutes I had read the first couple of chapters and learned more about processing portraits than I had in the last few years. Every 'look' or 'feel' I had been striving to get was explained in a simple, step by step manner. The author even includes a link to download the original shots so you can follow the book and make the same tweeks.

If you haven't got Photoshop then you'd probably best give this a miss but if you have it is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not entry level, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I chose this book as I wanted to learn more about studio lighting and how to use it. Whilst its interesting to see the lighting set ups, the book doesn't have much of a practical application for me and didn't help me decide what kit I would need to get started. It would probably be a good reference tool for an experienced photographer looking to use existing studio lighting more creatively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews