Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light it, Shoot it, Retouch it.
I bought this book have been recommended by a friend at work. What I liked was how it shows the studio setup and then follows through to a finished product,
Scott Kelby explains his methods very well,along it easy to follow, with the bonus of the link to download the images and complete them as you read through the chapter.
An excellent book with hints and tips...
Published on 3 Dec 2011 by SJK

versus
46 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 15% lighting 85% photoshop
In one sense this is quite good but as I wanted a book on lighting setups most of it was wasted. It's all about retouching, removing blemishes, high pass sharpening etc which is all well and good but not what I wanted. There were a few useful tips I picked up but my rating is based on the fact I wish I'd bought something else. Also worth pointing out that the contact...
Published on 29 Sep 2011 by Boich


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light it, Shoot it, Retouch it., 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I bought this book have been recommended by a friend at work. What I liked was how it shows the studio setup and then follows through to a finished product,
Scott Kelby explains his methods very well,along it easy to follow, with the bonus of the link to download the images and complete them as you read through the chapter.
An excellent book with hints and tips that I have been able to put to use in my general photography and work too.
It has proved a good purchase which I would recommend to anyone looking to advance both their studio photography and post processing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide..., 9 Nov 2011
By 
Andrew Mclaughlin (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is a great book to guide you through lots of lighting scenarios, I got my copy yesterday and have had a good flick through picking up some good tips already. It's well organised and you don't have to read from start to finish, you can dive into the picture style you want to create and you get walked through the process from start to finish - If you shoot and post process in Photoshop or similar this is a really good reference book. I'm a graphic artist with a decent level of Photoshop experience and I'm working on my photography skills, I feel this book is perfect for that. If you don't have a knowledge of Photoshop don't be put off as Scott takes you through step by step.
I would have liked to see some guides for product lighting, but maybe that's another book.
Well done Mr Kelby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST have book that explains it all and more!!!, 9 Sep 2011
By 
Glyn Dewis "Dinkiz" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok so imagine how good it would if one day somebody out there would write a photography book that covered everything from the photo shoot, the equipment, settings used, the editing and all the way through to the final image?

Well, imagine no further because it's been done and it's available NOW!!!

Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It is the latest book from Best Selling Author Scott Kelby and having had a copy for the past week I don't hesitate in telling you that it absolutely ROCKS!!!

This new book is made up of 13 Chapters; 12 of which cover a completely different photo shoot using a completely different lighting set up.

So let's take a look at what makes this book destined to be such a winner...

Contents:
Chapter 1: Clamshell Lighting (3 Light Classic Beauty Setup)
Chapter 2: High Contrast Lighting (2-Light Edgy Setup)
Chapter 3: Dramatic Glamour Lighting (2-Light Dramatic Setup)
Chapter 4: Lens-Flare Lighting (3-Light Lens Flare Setup)
Chapter 5: Using Ring Flash for Fashion Lighting (1-Light =Ring Flash Setup)
Chapter 6: Edgy Lighting (3-Light Sports Setup)
Chapter 7: Full-Length Fashion Lighting (1-Light Full Length Setup)
Chapter 8: Soft Glamour Lighting (1-Light Home Interior Setup)
Chapter 9: Fashion Side Lighting (2-Light On-Location Fashion Setup)
Chapter 10: Lighting for Composition (4-Light Sports Composite Setup)
Chapter 11: Dramatic Side Lighting (1-Light Dramatic Setup)
Chapter 12: 1940's Hollywood-Style Lighting (2-Light Beauty Setup)
Chapter 13: If You Use Hot Shoe Flash Instead...

Each Chapter is split into 4 sections that take you from the photoshoot all the way through to the final edited image, covering the Set Up, Gear Guide, Camera Settings and the Post Processing.

The Set Up:
This is the first thing you'll notice that sets this book apart from any other. The practice of including lighting diagrams has been in books and on the web for some time now; in fact I have been known myself to include the occasional hand drawn masterpiece when I write about a recent photo shoot, but Scott's gone one better.

Each chapter is packed with behind the scenes photographs showing the lighting set up, the position of the model and photographer from every angle imaginable; left, right, behind, above. Don't get me wrong, lighting diagrams can be really helpful I know but they're very much a case of `the light was kind of in errmmmmm this position'.

In Light It, Shoot it, Retouch It, you see Photos from every angle so you get to see every light modifier actually in position as opposed to where it was `roughly'. This alone sets this new book from Scott Kelby apart from the crowded shelves of Photography books but this is just the start...

Gear Guide & Camera Settings
With each chapter Scott shows every single piece of kit that was used from the camera, lights, modifiers, triggers and accessories.

Inn addition to that though Scott goe into all the settings used on the lights and the camera too.

Sure when we go off to replicate the shots the settings will vary depending on the environment we're in but having these settings as a starting point is surely a good thing; if only to give an idea of ratios.

Talking of lights, throughout the book there are a whole mix of set ups from one light through to multiple lights and even down to using Speedlights, but more on that later.

One very important message that comes across from the book is that you don't have to have the expensive kit to produce great results and if anything rather than spending your money on the lights, spend the money on the modifiers.

Post Processing
Each chapter closes by covering the editing that was done to take the out of camera image to it's final print ready version.

This is where it all comes together as Scott goes through each and every part of the edit step by step just as he does in his previous book "Professional Retouching Techniques for Photographers using Photoshop"

This previous book was a sell out in no time and created a buzz around the photography industry like no other that I can remember so having the post production section in this new book too, seriously takes it to new heights.

What about if you don't use or have access to a studio?
There may be some nay sayers feeling that the book wont be relevant to them because they either don't use a studio or just don't have access to one but Scott's got it covered, as the final shoot sees Scott on location for a fashion shoot.

Ok so what about us Speedlight users?
Yep that's covered too, in fact better than you could hope for, because at the end of the book Scott repeats all the shoots but with speedlights and relevant modifers to produce the same results.

I can't even begin to imagine how much time and effort has gone into this book that covers so much and at the same time covers it in so much detail leaving the reader in no doubt as to what to do.

Another thing I also really like is maybe one that might wasn't intentional and that's, that all of the studio shoots are done on half width seamless backgrounds as opposed to full width.

So why is this so important? 'Well, not everyone has the luxury of enough room to set up a full sized seamless and stands or indeed the ability to transport such kit around. The 1/2 sized is much more portable and can be carried around relatively easy and set up in most spaces. Plus...these backgrounds are relatively inexpensive [Link] ; it's things like this that make the book for `everyone'.

Summary
This new book from Scott Kelby is destined to be THE photography book to own!!!

Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Studio and Manipulation in a nutshell, 5 Jan 2012
By 
M. J. Clenton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Scott Kelby is one of those rare American authors who does not over use humour to help you learn.

Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It, is studio photography in a nutshell with extra classes on professional retouching. The genius part of this books format, is the fact that Scott Kelby thinks about the photographer. The book is laid out with the obvious introduction to what the book is about and various set ups for Digital SLR camera's. Then you are taken on a lesson guide to setting up studio shoots with portraiture in mind. Each shoot lesson is documented with various photographs from all angles, even from above, which show the precise set up. It is a revelation to see photographs and not drawn diagrams.

Each of these lessons are followed by a comprehensive guide to professional image retouching. The only downside to this is, if you do not own the latest version of Photoshop CS5, you will not be able to follow all of the retouching guides. This is due to the fact that some of the tools Scott Kelby uses, are only found in CS5.

There then follows a few pages on the various photographic equipment and studio accessories for a decent studio shoot.

I would recommend this book to anyone with prior photographic knowledge and a good head for photo manipulation. I would also recommend that you be prepared to spend money on studio equipment. Scott Kelby does offer advice on this, but the end section of equipment is far from the budget market.

Overall, a very well thought of guide to studio photography and manipulation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good multi-subject book, 12 Aug 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
In many respects, this book is typically Scott Kelby. It is a step-by-step guide replete with multiple screen captures, diagrams and images whose purpose is to help explain and to replace huge amounts of text which may be less easy to comprehend than a single illustration.

The book is also a slight deviation from his normal offerings in that it talks about lighting, the photography and image manipulation more or less in sequence and simultaneously rather than treating them as distinct from each other. Unfortunately for most of us, lottery winners aside, he has access to a studio about half the size of a football pitch and enough lighting equipment to fill a film company's lighting van. Whilst we may be able to provide a temporary studio in a lounge or other room in our house and perhaps have one or two lamps, they are not likely to be of the size or types shown here. Forgiving that, we may be able to partly duplicate the shots with available facilities.

Kelby is one of the most prolific current writers on photography, and one of the most knowledgeable. He lectures and offers tutorials in person and on disk on behalf of several training companies and, occasionally, for Adobe mostly using Photoshop or Photoshop Lightroom. Although there are some negative comments from other reviewers, this book is intended as a learning medium for those wishing to improve their photography. It is not intended for the more expert photographer or those who have extensive experience with image manipulation, whether with Lightroom, Photoshop or anything else.

If this book suits your purposes in one or more of the areas covered by its title, it is one that you should certainly consider and probably buy. It is not the most complete offering on either of its subject fields and, if your needs are greater than this book provides, there are other offerings that may better suit. However, if an all-in-one solution will suffice, this is about as good as you will find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I have been looking for a book like this for some time and this is the one. Get one yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best by a mile, 18 Dec 2011
By 
D. C. Blanchard (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Having bought quite a few of these sort of books, i can say without a doubt that if your looking for a step up from basics, then this book will serve you well. Shows you how he lights a shoot then processes it, very useful stuff. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 15% lighting 85% photoshop, 29 Sep 2011
In one sense this is quite good but as I wanted a book on lighting setups most of it was wasted. It's all about retouching, removing blemishes, high pass sharpening etc which is all well and good but not what I wanted. There were a few useful tips I picked up but my rating is based on the fact I wish I'd bought something else. Also worth pointing out that the contact sheets are at a terrible resolution as to be almost worthless which on an iPad is criminal. Hope this review helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Bought this product a couple days ago came promptly and has been great!! everything you need to know about certain lighting tricks and how to get a great output is in this book from the beginning of your project right to the end KELBY is GREAT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Idiots idiot guide to photography, 3 Jun 2012
By 
Nowade (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Really, this is the idiots-idiot guide to photography. I was disappointed because I expected from the preview pages and comments, a lot greater breadth and depth of the subject of lighting. What the book explains is great but could have been condensed into a tenth of the size and still have maintained easy to access information (and probably cheaper too!).
The problem with the book's style is that it sets out to make things easy; too easy. To explain what settings the camera is set to for each shot (Camera mode, ISO, Aperture, Shutter, lens) apparently requires half a page, which seems like a good idea but it dawns on you that in fact this is simply wasting a large number of pages and thereby padding out an otherwise slim volume of knowledge.
The same philosophy has been applied throughout, so for instance 'Why I include the power settings' takes a third of a page to explain and half a page to show the back of a strobe flash (remember that was 'Why' I include, not any actual information).
Similar treatment is carried out time and again as for instance, a full page dedicated to why a special bonus chapter has been added for hot shoe flash users - not actually the information but waffle and meaningless pictures - all looks very important and pretty but also pretty uninformative.
I have also to question why we are treated to so much Photoshop technique - basic Photoshop treatment. If you have forked out for Photoshop then you have probably spent a lot of time and money learning how to use it and if your are adventurous, also looked at the hundreds of free tutorials on how to obtain effects. The author though, drags you through some pretty basic techniques that you should probably already be either capable of or aware of, and which can be better garnered from the Web.
I have a little handbook produced by Portaflash which came with my first strobe lighting kit. This, in a few pages and some excellent simple graphics and photo examples, goes through very concisely and clearly the basics of lighting, providing you as the user the basics on which to experiment and learn through practice about what lighting works.
Overall then, I found this book terribly disappointing. I felt it was padded out and lacked depth. I liked the philosophy of the book's style but apart from one or two useful explanations this did not make up for what basically was a re-hash of material already available for free on the Web or simply through stacking up a couple of strobes yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews