Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's how to fix the problem with the media files
Some people - me included - downloaded the Final Cut Pro X work files from the Peachpit website but get the following error when trying to use them: "The document "CurrentVersion.fcpproject" could not be opened. The file isn't in the correct format." or "The file might be corrupted, truncated, or in an unexpected format."

This is because the file is so large -...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good idea badly executed
The DVD content does not match the text. The way the text is structured makes it very frustrating if the lessons contents included in the DVD are not perfect. The remedy suggested by the publisher is complicated. They should get it right the first time around. The same problems exist with the Aperture Manual
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by MTRR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's how to fix the problem with the media files, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some people - me included - downloaded the Final Cut Pro X work files from the Peachpit website but get the following error when trying to use them: "The document "CurrentVersion.fcpproject" could not be opened. The file isn't in the correct format." or "The file might be corrupted, truncated, or in an unexpected format."

This is because the file is so large - over 5Gb - that your browser isn't actually downloading all of it; it's giving up part way through.

Fortunately, it's very simple to fix - in fact, there are instructions printed on the very page file from - they're just not obvious. Rather than clicking the single "APTS FCP X.sparseimage" file link, you should actually click the "Download all" link in the top left of the page, under the Peachpit logo. This forces your browser to use Peachpit's downloader, and the whole file will be downloaded - and it will then work. I've been able to successfully use the files, and found the book very useful in learning how to use the application.

As with other Apple Pro Training titles I've used, the training is well structured and nicely paced. It doesn't go into detail in some areas I was hoping for, but I see there's an "Advanced Editing" book coming out in Feb 2012. I'm hoping that this means they'll be able to do the topics covered in that book justice, since they haven't crammed them in to this one.

Overall I'm very happy with this book (once I opened my eyes and actually read the instructions!) - and hopefully this review will help other people who had the same problem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good idea badly executed, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (Paperback)
The DVD content does not match the text. The way the text is structured makes it very frustrating if the lessons contents included in the DVD are not perfect. The remedy suggested by the publisher is complicated. They should get it right the first time around. The same problems exist with the Aperture Manual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - happy with it., 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (Paperback)
Used this book to do the Apple Final Cut pro x examination for self study. I seem to recall that the software was a bit of a hassle to load but apart from that had an excellent experience with it. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Cut Pro X becomes useable, 18 Oct 2011
Having been a keen, amateur, video editor for several years I was interested in the recent release of Apple's Final Cut Pro X software. Despite the largely negative reviews, mainly from professionals it would seem, I took the plunge and now have it residing on my iMac.
The software is loaded via a download so comes with none of the usual collection of mostly confusing instructional books. Apple does provide a few hints and answers on-line but nothing that would help a first time user. This software appeared to provide an extremely powerful but reasonably priced answer to a beginner in video editing assuming they could find their way through it. What to do next?
Logging on to Amazon but not expecting to find anything yet, as the software is so new, I was delighted to find Diana Weynand's Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X. I immediately downloaded the Kindle version and started reading on my Mac, toggling between Kindle and FCP X to carry out the instructions provided and checking the results.
The physical book comes with a disc of film files to work with so what one sees on the screen is what is shown in the book. The "ebook" provides a link to download these same files. This is an excellent idea. Using the same video and audio data as that used in the writing of the book gives the new user a visual reference to ensure that the results of any action taken can be checked against the provided screen shot.
The way the book is structured takes one from opening the software through to outputting the the finished film in easy steps. I found the step by step approach very easy to follow and very quickly learned how to get the best from my new toy. The book is divided into chapters taking the reader through the various stages of film production, imputing raw footage, rough cutting etc., with a question and answer review at the end of each. Each chapter also has a list of keyboard short-cuts at the end - very useful.
This book will make learning how to use the software very easy. It takes one through the stages step by step but does not treat one as an idiot. On its own it will not teach you how to release the next block buster at the cinema. You will need to provide the imagination and hours of un-edited film for that. What it will do is show you how to put it all together, get rid of what you don't want, add effects and music then export it to the medium of your choice.
An excellent book. I am now ordering the hard copy version to have beside me at all times for reference. Buy it with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this Edition!, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (Paperback)
Started off well, but some of the lesson files do not work. Plus, the screen shots look different. I have contacted Peachpit but have not heard anything back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good choie for beginners in FCP X, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (Paperback)
This book - videobook is perfect for beginners. It is good choice for all who want to start learning about the edition with FCP X.
This is not my first book by Apple pro training series and I must say it again met my expectations.

best DotFilms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginners, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (Paperback)
What's good with this book are mainly two things. Firstly, and this is good enough reason to purchase this book, it teaches you how to structure your work in the editing process. You can sense that the author has an in depth field knowledge. Secondly, the hands-on technique is an excellent way to quickly learn how to work with Final Cur Pro X. The project files included on the DVD are professional made pieces that contributes to the overall excellence of this book.

I've just worked through this book and really feel that I now master the basics of FCP X. I'm already looking forward to the advanced version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FCPX, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (Paperback)
A very good editing software but it doesn't quite meet my expectations because it doesn't permit me to produce DVDs with a menu and a sub-menu nor permit me to decide where the chapter points should be; I want to be able to determine the length of each chapter rather than be forced to use the 10 minute chapter points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent straight forward training manual, keep it on Kindle next to the edit for reference, great., 19 Jan 2013
By 
P. Powell "peter" (East Hampshire/West Sussex border) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Set out as you would expect, consise and easy to work with, Final cut X is so different to Studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book is amazing!, 16 Aug 2012
I dont normally write reviews however this one is worth a comment. I self taught myself FCP X and thought I had it figured out. After going through this book it has transformed the way I do things, it has showed me functions I never new existed, things that other training books had failed to mention.

After reading some of the reviews I was concerned about some of the issues regarding downloading the video content. however went for the purchase anyway. I do have to say that I also had some issues downloading the content, the download would fail half way through. However persistence paid off.

So overall comment, the issues downloading was a mild inconvenience, once I had the files its a five star book all the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X
Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X by Diana Weynand (Paperback - 28 Sep 2011)
Used & New from: £24.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews