Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited teaching reference on Cocoa programming.
Cocoa and MacOS X deserves to be out there as a development environment of choice to the discerning programmer and user. The biggest obstacle is Apple's own technical documentation, bless them! It is dry and uninviting, just the thing to turn new developers away from such an elegant and advanced operating system.
Now, at last, we have a text book that can reverse the...
Published on 2 Feb 2002 by mark@hoggatt.co.uk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - But Maybe Consider A Primer First - Some May Find More Detail HelpFul
Cocoa is not intuitive - at least I don't think it is - it's not the book's fault if some ideas of the language don't "click" first time. To compare, I used to be a hobbyist Visual Basic programmer and found VB far more intuitive.

For the absolute beginner there are easier books / ebooks to try.

Some of the exercises come over as a bit "magic" - not...
Published 3 months ago by David


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited teaching reference on Cocoa programming., 2 Feb 2002
By 
Cocoa and MacOS X deserves to be out there as a development environment of choice to the discerning programmer and user. The biggest obstacle is Apple's own technical documentation, bless them! It is dry and uninviting, just the thing to turn new developers away from such an elegant and advanced operating system.
Now, at last, we have a text book that can reverse the tide. Aaron Hillegass brings the skill of the teacher to this subject. He teaches Cocoa programmers at the "Big Nerd Ranch" in the States, but don't let that discourage you!
The author knows how to put ideas across and at what point to bring in new topics. Tricky topics such as the retain and release mechanism, normally baffling to those new to Objective-C, are revealed as the easy topic they are.
This book for the first time brings out the true purpose of Cocoa, that is to make putting programs together easy, so that you can concentrate on your program, and not have to worry about ordinary housekeeping.
I think this will become the definitive work, that evey aspiring Cocoa programmer will need to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A programming book that doesn't put you to sleep, 27 Nov 2003
I've just finished reading "Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X" and have to say its amongst the best programming books I've ever read. It's aimed at people with C or Java experience who are new to objective C and Cocoa. The author demonstrates his skills as a teacher by delivering information in a progressive and easily digested manner. He begins by introducing the language and tools with a basic random number generator application and then builds on this with a number of tutorial applications. Topics covered include localisation, custom views, mouse and key events, fonts, images, printing, cut and paste, drag and drop, timers, sheets, printing, and creating your own Interface Builder Palates and controls. Cocoa is vast but this serves as an excellent starting block, covering the essentials and tasters required to progress deeper. Its very easy and enjoyable to read with challenges at the end of each chapter to help solidify your understanding. I read it from cover to cover which is unusual for me with a programming book.
I've been using OS X 10.3 which has had changes to the development tools since the book was written For example Project Builder is now called XCode, has code completion facilities and some of the menus have moved. However this didn't prove to be a problem and differences were rather obvious.
Can't really recommend it any higher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Learning Resource for keen MacOS developers!, 28 Jan 2002
As a student currently finishing a MSc in Computer Science and dreaming on someday working for Apple, I dived into Cocoa as soon as MacOS X came out officialy. From all the books out there in Cocoa Programming, this has been by far the best. It is written in an extremely familiar tone, and as long as you already have experience in C, or better yet C++, you'll be happy to be developing Cocoa applications easily.
I am really excited about such a powerful set of frameworks, but with the lack of documentation from Apple it is really necessary to have a good book such as this one by hand.
Great stuff really! Overall, best book in Cocoa programming! BUY IT NOW! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exemplary!, 13 Jun 2002
By 
Dr. A. Allan "Ant" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We know three things about Aaron Hillegass: he has had many years' experience with OpenStep/Cocoa; he is a professional trainer; he wears a big hat. All these things show through in this book: it is technically sound; clearly presented; humorous. All programming books should be like this.
The book is written for programmers who already know C++ or Java... I don't. (Although I have about 20 years experience in programing with BASIC, FORTRAN, S/360 Assembler, COBOL, REXX, ... I'm new to OOP.) Nevertheless, I found the book and example projects easy to follow and understand. The challenges (Aaron's term for what others might call exercises) are often challenging... but Aaron makes no bones about it: learning a new programming language can be hard. (Even for those with degrees in astrophysics from CalTech... read Chapter 1.)
The book is well supported by a web page at Big Nerd Ranch, with errata, solutions to those challenges, etc. (Even better, the BNR web site has some downloadable example projects and full-blown open-source Cocoa applications, such as BigShow, an XML-based MS PowerPoint alternative.)
All in all, it is inspirational. It makes me wish I was a professional programmer again. Well, just maybe...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a good book, but often short on detail, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X (Paperback)
Definitely recommend this, but I do wish the authors would consider writing a series of books on the same range of topics, with a lot more detail for each chapter. During the course of writing my first Mac App, I found myself needing to learn a number of the topics - Bindings, Pasteboards, etc... but actually found myself needing to scour the web due to the lack of real in-depth detail provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK - But Maybe Consider A Primer First - Some May Find More Detail HelpFul, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cocoa is not intuitive - at least I don't think it is - it's not the book's fault if some ideas of the language don't "click" first time. To compare, I used to be a hobbyist Visual Basic programmer and found VB far more intuitive.

For the absolute beginner there are easier books / ebooks to try.

Some of the exercises come over as a bit "magic" - not explaining in any detail how/why stuff works, or how to adapt it for other apps. Same is true of other books as well.

Although the book is teaching Xcode 4.x it's possible to get away with Xcode 5.x. Haven't come across any fully deprecated code - i.e. that won't compile at all - yet. A basic knowledge of Xcode 5.x is an advantage, however. Things like "Constraints" and "Localisation" are totally different in Xcode 5.x.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Mar 2003
This book is just great. It shows you the different aspects of the tools you are working with and explains how to use them and how to get things done. The book also have a lot of screenshots which was really helpful to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocoa programming, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Mel Doost "mel" (Rayleigh, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can not in all honesty rate it yet! It's on the back burner. I have just been prompted to provide a review - you can't always! Good luck if you are buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X
Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X by Adam Preble (Paperback - 9 Nov 2011)
£25.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews