Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2012
Any one studying physics at first year university level, will tell you there seem to be loads of books that cover different aspects of Physics. But this one is pitched just right in my opinion. It explains the subject material in plain language and will also put in proofs where necessary to improve your understanding. Finally at the end of each section you can test your understanding and problem solving with graded questions of the level to be expected in the exam.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
Young and Freedman was the recommended textbook for my undergraduate physics course and I dutifully bought a second-hand copy. On the few occasions in my first year that I tried reading it I did not find it of any use. It simply lacks the detail I require for any course, often only having the really key equations; I suppose I could use it for some quick reference if only the size weren't so unwieldy. Also I noticed that Y+F seems largely to shy away from complex numbers (and sometimes even differentials) which is no good if you want to get beyond term 1 of university physics.

As an example, on being confused by circular/elliptical polarisation equations I decided to look up the topic - there is a short description (did you know that circular polarisation is IN A CIRCLE?) but not an equation in sight. The internet quickly told me there are two different conventions of left/right circular polarisation and provided the equations.

In my second year I have had no recourse to this book. There is extremely little on quantum mechanics, which has been a large part of my studies.

The only uses I've found for it so far are a) propping open my window and b) when I'm writing lab reports etc. and need book references rather than websites. Because while the internet can often provide the explanations and derivations that are sorely lacking in this book, markers would still rather you refer to what is more of an A-level textbook...

In conclusion, if you're a physics student and need to look at a textbook then go to your university library and find one more specialised on the topic, Y+F is a master of none.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
I was recommended this book by my lecturers when first starting my physics degree at university. After each lecture we would often be advised to read one or two chapters that correspond with the lecture material and after i bought this book i was keen to do so, especially considering the price of the book itself. However my enthusiasm for this was quickly lost as it would often take me longer than the lecture itself just to read the recommended chapter.

The goal of the authors in this book seems to have been to explain relatively simply concepts in as many sentences as possible and using as many analogies as possible. Analogies can be useful, however in this book it is often one after another which i found confusing as after reading long analogies i often forgot what the purpose of it was.

The sheer length of everything in this book also caused problems when i was stuck on a particular concept or problem because even if i managed to find the topic in question, it was often spread out across several pages of text, requiring once again a large amount of reading.

I believe the main issue surrounding this book and the reason it is so verbose is that the authors have tried to cater the book to students who are not very good at, or dislike maths. Often entire pages of description could be replaced by one or two lines of maths, which in my opinion would be much clearer and useful.

I also never really used the mastering physics add-on, so can't really comment as to whether it is any good or not. I would however be wary of things like this, as well as the constant new versions that this book gets, as they are often simply methods used by the publishers to limit the resale value of books.

However the book does have some redeeming factors.
Firstly it does cover a very large amount of material, i would say most of first year physics in within this book, you might just find the end of certain modules go into more depth than is here.
Secondly each chapter ends with a nice summary page which provides all the main equations used in that chapter
Finally there are a staggering number of questions in this book, varying from simple understanding questions to long problems that will require pages of maths. Also very beneficial is that the full solutions to the problems can easily be found online, so you can actually check that you have arrived at the correct answer.

In summary i did not like this book at all and never really found any use for it. However if you are not keen on maths and willing to spend the time with it i could see how this book could be useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
This is the textbook definition of tl;dr. What I want out of a physics textbook are complete derivations, and minimal text to address common misconceptions SPECIFIC TO THE SECTION. University Physics goes out of its way to address any possible problems you could have, while also using analogies, metaphors and all kinds of flavour text to explain every minute point. This makes it too long-winded to act as a useful reference text, while at the same time being too long to give a very good explanation due to the large amounts of noise separating each of the key points. It should in theory be excellent if you want to relearn a concept which confused you due to a misunderstanding, but whenever I tried to use the text for that purpose, it rarely touched upon the point I needed in order to eliminate the misunderstanding. It's like firing a shotgun at a wide-screen TV from a distance of 10 meters, with every buck missing the screen. University Physics also attempts to be a one-size-fits-all for every university physics course, and is thus often hesitant at introducing certain mathematical techniques into derivations. The level of Mathematics used in lectures exceeded that in the book more than a few times. It is an awkward dissonance.

In its favour, the textbook has a large amount of interesting and decently challenging problems, which can provide good practice. You only get answers to odd-numbered problems, which allows lecturers to set even-numbered problems as homework. There are also barebones chapter summaries which are useful for last-minute revision.

In certain respects, the textbook is like the bible of physics. I often joked about this because of the size of the book; it's huge, it easily weighs a few kilograms, and has 1500 pages each with nearly the same area as an A4 sheet of paper. It theoretically contains nearly all of the required information for a first year undergraduate physicist. However, there is a saying that "a picture is worth a thousand words", and many of the thousands of words in university physics could have been adequately shown in algebra or diagrams.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
The book "University Physics with Modern Physics, with Mastering Physics" does what it says in it's title. It is the suggested book at Imperial College , London, for Physics students. Expensive, but does the job.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
As a new physics teacher a physics bible is an essential to me. Having sampled what is available and found some publications lacking this book has excellent coverage at university physics level as title would suggest. I would highly recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
A well written and revised text containing all the basics. It could be more detailed in places but that's what your lecturers are for!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
Pretty much a requisite and a really useful companion if you are embarking on a Physics Degree ! Good resale value too (When you've finished your studies).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
The book is a solid text that has a lot of useful information - though it does discuss it in a rather lengthy way. However a new edition including technology has been released and this one is out of print. You should be paying nowhere near this price for it. £50 is reasonable. I find it particularly useful if you've forgotten a topic and it has A LOT of practise questions that can prepare you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
This is the course textbook for 1st/2nd year in Physics and it's been a real help. Better for some things than other but all round great overview.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)