Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explains why as well as what to do, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographically Speaking: A Deeper Look at Creating Stronger Images (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Have been slowly digesting this book, and really enjoying it. Looking at the contents page before I bought it, the material seemed quite similar to a lot of other books on composition, covering rule of thirds, leading lines etc. However, what makes this book far more useful that certain others I have read is that it goes into more detail about why certain things work. It is also illustrated with some really good photos, which certainly gives you more confidence that the author knows what they are talking about. The message throughout the book is that good photos come from really thinking about what you want to include in the shot and why, and the final section of the book consists of 20 of the authors best shots with a detailed examination of why he thinks each one worked. Definitely a book I will read more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Normally I only buy this type of book as a hard copy but I opted to have it downloaded as I have an IPad and Kindle app and I was able to sample the quality. This book is fab for gaining inspiration and developing your creativity. The images are great even on an IPad and I thoroughly recommend this to any photographer who needs to develop his or her creative base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art in photography, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographically Speaking: A Deeper Look at Creating Stronger Images (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
A thoughtful and intelligent analysis of the art of photography. One of the best books I have found on the subject that draws interesting analogies with other art forms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Photographically speaking and photographically thinking, 4 Dec 2011
By 
Nigel Ecclesfield "nigele1" (Cullompton, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographically Speaking: A Deeper Look at Creating Stronger Images (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Worth reading and looking at the photographs used to illustrate the author's ideas and methods. I liked the exercises at the end of each chapter and the final use of a "now you decide" task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought two copies, 17 Feb 2013
By 
hilary glassborow (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographically Speaking: A Deeper Look at Creating Stronger Images (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Bought one copy as a gift, serious part time photographer saw it ready to be wrapped and enthused so much that I bought him a copy -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photographically Speaking a deeper look at6 creating stronger images by David Du Chemin, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographically Speaking: A Deeper Look at Creating Stronger Images (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I chose this book as a follow up to his other books as my son is very keen in photography and found his books refreshing to some others and he is not disappointed in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very inspirational, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: Photographically Speaking: A Deeper Look at Creating Stronger Images (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I'm a great admirer of Davids work and waited impatiently for this book to come. I wasn't deceived. It's a great insight in his thought processes and there's lots to learn from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Photographically speaking, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Photographically Speaking: A Deeper Look at Creating Stronger Images (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Excellent content, well laid out and informative.

Why I have to write a minimum of twenty words I'm not quite sure.

If you enjoy well written and informative books then this should be on your bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photographically Speaking: A Deeper Look at Creating Stronger Images (Voices That Matter)
£23.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews