Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Auto Escape
I'm not stupid when it comes to cameras and photography, just old school. Old being the operative word here having taken photographs for over fifty years starting long before the setting "auto" was invented. I understand all about the relationship between speed, aperture, ISO and depth of field so why would I want to read a book like this? I finally bought my first...
Published on 10 Mar 2012 by Old Hand

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Canon EOS 60D From Snapshots to Great Shots
Delivery was in the time specified.
As for the book, this is only of any interest if you want to know some of the basics. As it says in the introduction on page ix, the book does not cover every function on the camera. All in all for me it was a waste of money, if it was not for the fact that the book got marked while reading (coffee stain) I would have sent it back...
Published 23 months ago by Black Hawk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Auto Escape, 10 Mar 2012
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
I'm not stupid when it comes to cameras and photography, just old school. Old being the operative word here having taken photographs for over fifty years starting long before the setting "auto" was invented. I understand all about the relationship between speed, aperture, ISO and depth of field so why would I want to read a book like this? I finally bought my first digital SLR, a Canon EOS 60D, that's why! I read the Canon manual, as dry as the Sahara, excellent for insomniacs trying to fall asleep, functional but uninspiring and I'm no stranger to equipment manuals having written such tombs as "Assembly Instructions for a Centurian Tank Gearbox" or "Understanding Your Computerised Stock Control System".

This book is written in simple terms and helps you find your way around the Canon EOS 60D menu system far better than the manual. For those of you who are as familiar with photography as I am it helps you to understand and find the various hidden settings and inspires you to go out and try the techniques learned in each chapter and for those of you who are beginners it also helps you understand the relationship between the four key elements of taking a good photograph. Read it in bed at your peril, it will keep you awake and have you setting your alarm to catch the golden hour of dawn.

Now where's the Canon manual, I think it's time for my afternoon nap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice pictures, 17 Mar 2011
By 
old dude (lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
This is a readable and particularly well-illustrated book - could it be otherwise with that title? The typical intended readership is one "who wants to upgrade from a point-and-shoot" ie one who may be new to the more technical aspects of photography and the terminology. So the language is informal (I'm sure I spotted "cool" - and not in relation to colour temperature !) and the pictures are gripping. The Canon 60D does come supplied with an excellent pocket-sized 300-page instruction manual and there isn't really a desperate need for a "how-to" guide but this gets away with it by blending the how-to bits with impressive and apt images. This book may not have as long a useful life as for example Charlotte Lowrie's 60D Digital Field Guide (mine of information for the long haul), but for the less-experienced photographer (and maybe others who need a visual reminder of what it's all about), it should work a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply a good book, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
It's a cheap book but a very interesting one. Simple, objective with the information and have very nice tips. If you have bought a 60D and you are a little lost with all the settings (and you don't like too much «tecnicality» and pro talk) this is a good way to understand your Canon.
Sometimes the Canon manual can be dificult to understand properly , with this book you'll get there easily. Just read it and go shoot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 May 2011
By 
G. Idle (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book. It explains things in language that you can understand, and gives you lots of tips on getting the best from your 60D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction, 19 Nov 2012
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
A great introduction to concepts and the camera. I had the camera for a while before getting this, and the pictures I have produced since reading it are significantly better than those taken before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Sep 2012
By 
R. Thomas (Wigton Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
If you own the Canon EOS 60D camera and you want to improve your photograpthy this is for you,
it explains in easy to understand in scrip and photo's.
A book that you will read over and over again the art in taking different types of photo's
Landscaps, Capturing effects of water in slow motion, Moving Targets, Low light conditions,
Still life, Portraits, How the Camera works, the LIST is endless.
In all there are 60D Top Ten List Chapters.
Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Helpfull book., 15 July 2011
By 
Mr. A. J. Walker (Edinburgh UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
As many have said the 60D comes with a well defined instruction/guidebook, But for that bit extra help and infomation this is ideal, Its a pickup and open any chapter type book, and will help, and inspire you to use and to get the best from your 60D and once you see a photo you have taken that your proud off, and that this book has helped you take and understand how and what setting to use on your 60D, you will be on your way a a photographer.
Its helped me to understand the camera beyond the basic functions, I now know what setings to put the camera to to get that shot. It is and ideal helpfull book for the 60D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful book for novice photographers, 29 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
Im pretty new to photography so needed something that would help me get to grips with my camera in a format that was easy to understand. Even though the manual that came with the camera is good, this book expands on all the functions you are likely to use with illustrations and clear narrative when to use certain settings for certain subjects and conditions. It's not completely detailed there are functions that the EOS60D has that it doesn't cover however all in all well worth the money, it's certainly a useful book when starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon 60D, 11 April 2011
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
Being new to the world of digital slr cameras I needed a book that went beyond the manual provided with the camera. I am currently only half way through the book and so far I have found it everything I wanted. It is explicit without going over the top and yet gives me plenty of detail. Maybe it would not be good enough for seasoned professionals but for me it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book to get better at shooting and using your camera, 28 Aug 2011
By 
JBeer (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
That's a great book to read if you already know the basic of your camera (which most of us do when you buy a 60D), but want to make the most of the 60D.
There is a lot of examples, where all the used settings and reasons are given as to why this setting and not another.
Great book that will take you from Snapshots to Great Shots, as it says on the tin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots
Canon EOS 60D: From Snapshots to Great Shots by Nicole S. Young (Paperback - 12 Dec 2010)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews