Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Retouching Bible!!!
If you ever find yourself sat infront of your computer screen staring at some portrait shots you've taken, Photoshop open and saying "Now what?" or quite simply you want to make your portrait shots look their very best, then I can't say it any simpler than You Need This Book!

`Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers using Photoshop' is the...
Published on 19 July 2011 by Glyn Dewis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay
Not sure if this book is worth the money really - or they are just selling on the Scott Kelby franchise.

Ive seen all of these techniques in other photoshop books that I have, so was abit disappointed with this purchase.

Doesnt it show anything new and exciting - no, not really.

If you dont have any other photoshop technique books - this...
Published 18 months ago by Design Queen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Professional Retouching, 19 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. L. R. Ramsden "ropeaccess tech" (lancashire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Professional Retouching, does exactly what is says on the tin.

Amazing book well thought out and put together!
Scott Kelby is god when it comes to this type of thing,
any serious photoshop users need this book in thier arsenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, very well writen, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is a book well constructed with several number of techniques we effectively need and use, to retouch a portrait enhancing the image with realism.
Thank you Scott Kelby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have for portrait photographers, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is the second Scott Kelby's book I have bought and quite frankly it is the best Photoshop book on the market just now in my opinion, and I have spent a lot of time in libraries checking out Photoshop books for photographers. The tutorials are clear and easy to follow and with the added option of downloading the images used in the book and also some very good Photoshop brushes for eyelashes.
I have been amazed at how my portraits have stepped up a level since using these tutorils and love the comments I get from the sitters, I also let my college tutor have a look and he was so impressed he ordered one.
The other book I mentioned earlier is the Adobe Photoshop cs3 book for digital photographers, if like me you use CS3 thenAdobe Photoshop CS3 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) these two books should be part of your editing kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The before and after images look the same..., 18 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I don't know if I had a dodgy print run, its the cheap paper it is printed on or if my eyes are failing me but many of the before and after images are identical or so close that you can't actually appreciate the value of the technique without trying it. A good example is page 166, I struggle to find any differences.

Don't get me wrong I am a huge fan of subtle editing that looks realistic but these simply look the same in many cases. Unless you look at the book in very bright sunlight its hard to discern a difference.

I would have expected a photographers retouching book to be a bit better cared for in the printing department. The paper is clearly cheap and that has degraded the quality of the images to the point you lose the changes in some images.

That said the techniques are many that I already use, and I know they work. The others I dont use seem good too. So the content is great but the images are too similar to appreciate the power of the book without doing it yourself.

I love Mr Kelby's work usually but this book doesn't quite practice what he preaches.

I am torn between 3 and 4 stars, but went with 3, consider it 3.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars which is perfect for those wanting to improve their portrait skills, 4 Dec 2014
By 
Becky Wells (South-East, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book has endless techniques for photoshopping faces, eyes, stray hairs etc, which is perfect for those wanting to improve their portrait skills. However, there's nothing in this book about lighting, backgrounds, effects etc, which are just as important when creating a finished portrait. Perhaps my fault for not reading the blurb enough, but was expecting tips to create a whole finished photo, rather than just take out spots and improve eyebrows. Have enjoyed reading though to pick up some extra tips and advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Book has everything a retoucher needs. Best book i have read so far, really enjoying all the practice techniques :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 out of 5 !!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very clear instructions, even a dummy like me could follow it & get great results ! I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's ok but, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Thought it would be more explicit, more details from the publisher, not bad.
One of the better within your area but it could be much more explicit and better direction reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, I keep returning to it, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Not all retouching can be outsourced, which makes this book indispensable in my shelf of reference books. Easily five stars when it comes to quality, readability and extent of content covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Portrait Retouching Techniques for Photographers Using Photoshop (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Excellent book with great tips and tricks. Learned heaps of new useful stuff, plus it's always nice to have something close by to give you the ideas of what else you could have paid attention to. Very well written, very accurate and detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews