Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for newcomers and intermediates
I wrote my first website 10 years ago using the 4th edition of this book. Ok, the examples haven't changed that much and some of the stuff you need is now on the web and not in the book, but it saves a lot of time typing! HTML 5 and CSS3 are vastly different from previous versions and this book updated me and got me back up and running in no time after crashing out with...
Published 22 months ago by BRN

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless examples
Well written technical books have many examples which the author guides you through step by step; or they have an example which is developed further as you proceed through the book.

This book has neither - the examples are useless i.e. open the tag, put in content, close the tag.

There is some good information there but really it can be summed up by...
Published 21 months ago by C&C fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless examples, 11 Oct 2012
This review is from: HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
Well written technical books have many examples which the author guides you through step by step; or they have an example which is developed further as you proceed through the book.

This book has neither - the examples are useless i.e. open the tag, put in content, close the tag.

There is some good information there but really it can be summed up by p180: "CSS2 is the version best supported across browsers both new and old so this book will cover it extensively."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for newcomers and intermediates, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
I wrote my first website 10 years ago using the 4th edition of this book. Ok, the examples haven't changed that much and some of the stuff you need is now on the web and not in the book, but it saves a lot of time typing! HTML 5 and CSS3 are vastly different from previous versions and this book updated me and got me back up and running in no time after crashing out with both Drupal and Joomla which proved to be too techie and buggy for me.
Basically, if you're a professional don't buy this book. For the other 99% of us this is a must have book that you will find yourself referring to over and over again. Buy it, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment (Could have been so much better), 31 Jan 2012
By 
Peter Jones (Crawley, West Sussex. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
I have read previous versions of the HTML & CSS Quickstart books, and found them to provide a solid background to the subject. I was a little disappointed in the previous version that the examples were not more modern in layout and style. You just have to look at the authors website to see what I mean.

When I read that this latest version included `approximately 125 pages added and substantial updates to (or complete rewrites of) nearly every page' I was most exited and looking forward to new and updated content. However what you get is the same old content without major updates, exactly the same samples, with just a couple of chapters on HTML5 added at the end.

I would get a copy of your local library before committing yourself to the purchase of this title. I for one think that authors should be spending more time on books like this, rather that rolling out the same old stuff with a new cover.

Follow the free guides on W3Schools is my advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides), 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
This book did have a lot of information included, however some elements of HTML and CSS are not included and this made it hard to implement some of the elements into a project i am working on using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
Solution Architect, ScrumMaster and Enterprise System, N-Tier developer.
It contains the right amount of detail to prototype front-ends in an agile fashion using up-to-date techniques easily.
At 500+ pages it is not that lightweight. Not detailed enough if you're a pure front-end developer.
Quick way to get up and running - needs to be paired with an in-depth O'Reilly title equivalent.
I like the innovative format so i'm giving it 4 stars, depth is only 3 stars though.
Useful refresher if front-end is a smaller proportion of your development time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful reference, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
Maybe not quite as good as some of the more specifically "visual" books on the subject but nonetheless a very useful and up to date reference work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for students, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
This guide is useful for anyone seeking to study web design and who has little or no experience in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars real new book, 21 Mar 2013
By 
Lina Wang (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
although the price of this book is a little bit expensive but the quality of this is really good. The book is new and delivery is fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HTML 5, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
This book is really thorough and it does not cover the latest developments in HTML 5 like the proportional spacing.
It is s good book but if you simply want to look something up it is a daunting task as its like looking for a needle in a haystack. The index is a bit lacking in this regard. I wanted to make a wide background for my website and there is nothing in this book to tell me how to do it. I had to look on the internet and suffer all the red herrings I finally found one that works to a point. Why are simple things so hard to learn how to do? By the time you wade through all the pitfalls of multi-inherited rules you would just as well give something a unique ID. Life is too short for alot of these esoteric rules which I hoped a more updated system would obviate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
Just perfect, good book, absolutely useful. I can recommend this one for everybody who interested in html5 and css3 coding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HTML5 & CSS3: Visual QuickStart Guide (Visual QuickStart Guides)
25.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews