Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
I have been looking at this idea of selling my photos for a while now (years in fact) and whenever I have dipped my toe into the water I have had it bitten - rejected, rejected, rejected ...
This book seems to have corrected that; it is clear and concise and makes every aspect of this (to me) confusing subject, with so many variables and subjective decisions, crystal...
Published on 1 July 2011 by GC

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars out of date
Covers the basics of microstock, but in a rapidly changing marketplace it is out of date for anyone wanting to take the subject seriously.
Published 13 months ago by roger ashford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Stock: Make Money in Microstock Creating Photos That Sell (Paperback)
I have been looking at this idea of selling my photos for a while now (years in fact) and whenever I have dipped my toe into the water I have had it bitten - rejected, rejected, rejected ...
This book seems to have corrected that; it is clear and concise and makes every aspect of this (to me) confusing subject, with so many variables and subjective decisions, crystal clear.
The step by step walk through of the way a photo is treated in Lightroom is brilliant and worth the price of the book alone; it is clearer than the dedicated Lightroom books I have piled through.
Cannot recommend this volume highly enough - wish it had been around years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly useful and definitely recommended., 6 Feb 2011
This review is from: Taking Stock: Make Money in Microstock Creating Photos That Sell (Paperback)
I've spent the last 5 years selling stock images and I still found I learned a lot from this book. From simple tips on composition to technical details about the advantages of particular colour spaces, the book is interesting and useful to a wide range of readers. The many real world examples from other photographers also help to impart and condense many years of stock photo experience into a small space. From lighting techniques to learning to be your own worst critic, there is little this book doesn't cover. I think it's a rare find, in that it manages to be relevant and useful to beginners and experienced photographers alike. Thoroughly useful and definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Positive, 23 Oct 2010
By 
J. R. Carroll (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Stock: Make Money in Microstock Creating Photos That Sell (Paperback)
On the whole I think this is a very good book. My only concern is the constant referral to using Lightroom and Photoshop. Although I know Photoshop is the industry standard and that Lightroom is very good I think the constant reference to it is a little irksome. I use Aperture 3 and have found this to be excellent and if no one wants to buy my photos then it's my fault, not Apple or Adobe. Although buying Lightroom may help with noise reduction a little it won't turn one of my sows ears into a silk purse and the thought of learning yet another new software package makes me shudder.

The book does stress the importance of not rushing out and trying to buy your way to success because it won't. It would help a little maybe. But it's not the whole story. Buying the latest camera gear is about as likely to turn you into a good photographer as buying a set of scalpels would turn you into a surgeon. You obviously need camera gear but not 10,000 worth. In fact, perhaps practising, buying and reading more books is a better way of spending resources to improve your skills.

Overall I would recommend this book. Plenty of good tips and nicely written. I am sure if you make the effort and are determined you will get the results.

The cost of books today is better than they have ever been and well worth the investment. There is always something to learn from any book and this is good example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 26 May 2012
This is a good book and it really teaches you how to get the best out of Adobe Lightroom for the purpose of uploading to a stock site to minimise rejection. It does inspire you to photograph even the simplest of items, as the examples show, these images sell well too. I was hoping for a little more on the business element and a little less on the saturated debate on lightroom. You really need lightroom open alongside this book to get the benefits. I would recommend this book as a useful resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars out of date, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Stock: Make Money in Microstock Creating Photos That Sell (Paperback)
Covers the basics of microstock, but in a rapidly changing marketplace it is out of date for anyone wanting to take the subject seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply to the subject. Not "great" words, just what it is needed., 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Taking Stock: Make Money in Microstock Creating Photos That Sell (Paperback)
I am newby at stock images, but this book is making the entrance to the world of selling stock images to seem very comfort. It is direct to the subject. The experience of Rob Sylvan is passed to me via this book without many great words, just the right things of stock images world. Starting with a description of what is stock images, how it came to life, and who are the contributors and the clients, it gives you a great idea about what this book is going to be about. After that it describes what to look for and what to avoid in order to make your photos good in quality, useful for the clients, and legally acceptable. Finally let you be the one who will critic your images first and the one who will reject the ones not acceptable is just the best part, let it you know about compositions and techniques to use.

Definitely useful and for sure recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written, out of date, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is easy to read and would have been informative a few years ago when there was something of a gold rush in micro stock.

The large microstock sites mentioned in this book now seem to arbitrarily reject images, even if of a professional quality, regardless of what you do. For example, I had some very high-end food images rejected with spurious reasons of a standard that would have graced any glossy magazine or cookbook.

It's also now, in 2014, to get more than beer money if that from micro stock. I'd hate to think that people bought this book thinking a decent income could be made starting from scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I heartily recommend this without any hesitation, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book written by a person who is sincere and who really cares about the reader. It is very clear that the author
has given it all for the benefit of the reader. There is no holding back anything.

One of the best books in any subject I have read so far. In particular for those aspiring to be Microstock photographers
this book goes to great lengths in explaining everything you need to know in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just informative but an enjoyable read, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For one thinking about leaping into the microstock world at retirement this book served as an excellent guide and is full of encouragement, tempered with sound advice drawn from lots of experience. Time to put the toe in!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Stock: Make Money in Microstock Creating Photos That Sell (Paperback)
I think this is about to be given a big dent if the goverment get there way as in the uk
in saying this i love this book. it is very very inspiring and helpful as to what you should be looking to photograph
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taking Stock: Make Money in Microstock Creating Photos That Sell
Used & New from: 40.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews