Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, but uses it's own API too much
Generally a great book for those who need an introduction into OpenGL, but I soon found it lacking in areas of detail that were outside of the scope of the book (interactions between OpenGL and Device Contexts outside of the scope of GLUT, for example). Probably my biggest gripe with the book, however, is its reliance on a whole underlying "helper" API (i.e. not just...
Published on 15 Dec. 2010 by S. Mowbray

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OpenGL Super-disappointment
It's the first time that reading a book actually impends my progresses in understanding a topic. This volume, a collage of chapters from the previous version of the SuperBible plus new material (which has been never proof read), should had never been printed in the shape it is.

To prove my point, here is an incomplete description (at some point I got tired of...
Published on 15 Nov. 2011 by Riccardo Di Meo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, but uses it's own API too much, 15 Dec. 2010
By 
S. Mowbray (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (Paperback)
Generally a great book for those who need an introduction into OpenGL, but I soon found it lacking in areas of detail that were outside of the scope of the book (interactions between OpenGL and Device Contexts outside of the scope of GLUT, for example). Probably my biggest gripe with the book, however, is its reliance on a whole underlying "helper" API (i.e. not just OpenGL extensions and GLUT), which is great for getting a basic understanding of 3D graphics, but often leaves the reader thinking "ok, but how do I do this using just the core OpenGL libraries and extensions?" - something that must be done for commercial development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OpenGL Super-disappointment, 15 Nov. 2011
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (Paperback)
It's the first time that reading a book actually impends my progresses in understanding a topic. This volume, a collage of chapters from the previous version of the SuperBible plus new material (which has been never proof read), should had never been printed in the shape it is.

To prove my point, here is an incomplete description (at some point I got tired of writing....) of the goodies you'll have access to, should you decide to ignore all reasonable advices and decide that your wallet is too heavy of 50$:

- the authors must have been paid on a page basis, because about 1/3 of the opera is simply a printout of the OpenGL "Man Pages" (yes: the very same pages that you can obtain, for free, from the Khronos group on Internet) without any index or aid to help you in the navigation. Needless to say, you'll never use them (it's way easier to search them on-line), but you'll feel the weight of this "extra" every time you lift the book.

- since the new version of OpenGL is so tough to grasp, the author introduces his own library wrapper to smooth the learning curve (not a bad idea in itself). Pity however that you'll not get rid of the damn thing until the very last chapter. In other words: you bougth a book to learn the OpenGL, but why anyone in his right mind would waste his time learning it when he can spend it more fruitfully practicing with the (bug-ridden and abandoned) glt library by Richard Wright?

- The book is a collaborative work of many authors and, while this has its merits (for instance it allows to condense the experience of many people), it might present some drawbacks. In our case, I guess that during the development the authors might as well had a litigation or something, because they probably stopped communicating althogether: on a page I read that the feature X is going to be explained in the next chapter, and then when I actually (and eagerly) reach that chapter, I find out that X is taken for granted "as explained in the previous chapters" (are you curious about the mysterious "missing topic"? It's not an important one, really: just the explanation about how to actually "draw things"...).

- A particularly intriguing example is in chapter 11, the author cuts short on the explanation on the ground that "A complete implementation can be found on this book's Web site.", but the code is nowhere to be found: many of the examples that should have been on the web site (especially the ones from the more advanced chapters) just doesn't exist or are fairly incomplete (some crucial files cannot be found).

- chapter 12, the book reads: "there's plenty of advanced shader examples in the last chapter". Too bad that chapter 12 *is* the last useful chapter (the remaining ones are in the section "Platform Specific notes" and they don't deal with OpenGL at all)...

- the glossary explains terms that are actually never used in the whole book or supported by the OpenGL core profile, I guess because it has been copied & pasted from the previous version of the book. Look at the bright side: if you'll want to know what a NURB is, your curiosity will be satisfied (but don't expect to be able to create any).

- You'll get the chance to enjoy the splendid companion site (wait! you can actually check it for free:

[...]

) which compensates for it's HTML 1.0 vintage style with it's lack of contents. If not else, just read the (unintentionally) hilarious rant from the author in the MacOSX section...

- no matter how hard I tried, an errata corrige was nowhere to be found: I wasn't that surprised (should it ever existed, it's size would have probably surpassed that of the Superbible itself...): perhaps the author thought that the book was so good it didn't need it (or more likely, in my opinion, he never read it himself...)

- the code for the examples and accompanying library is registered on google code, but suggestions and corrections from the readers appear to have been systematically ignored. As already mentioned, many examples are missing or not complete.

Are you still wondering why the new version of this guide costs LESS than the previous one?

If you think you have a surplus of 50$ and you really have to do something about it, don't buy this book: go on the street and try to get mugged instead: you will get robbed anyway but, at least, it will only take minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, 20 Jan. 2012
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (Paperback)
This book overcomplicates a lot of things, and even when it's simple, it's using the gltools library instead of actually teaching you how to use OpenGL itself. If you want to learn how to use gltools with OpenGL, this is a good book but it's a terrible book for learning OpenGL, whether you're a beginner or a more advanced programmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good!, 9 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (Paperback)
Pretty good book. It's very in-depth and exhaustive, but at the same time keeps the learning curve nice and smooth.

The vast majority of teachers/authors I encountered waste the first three quarters of the lesson/book regurgitating the same material over and over again or lose themselves in motivational rambling and then panic and try to cram EVERYTHING else into the last quarter, leaving out vital information because there is no space left. This book does not do that!

The chapters are nice and concise and deliver comprehensive code examples and diagrams and explanations that are actually human-readable. Where there are technical terms or maths, they get explained properly and don't require a lot of experience beyond basic programming skills. It doesn't constantly tell you that "we will not explain X although it would only take two sentences" as so many books/tutorials do.

The downside is that to keep the examples simple and clutter-free, the book makes heavy use of a library called GLTools, which the authors have handwritten. Neither this library nor ANY of the example code comes on a CD with the book but needs to be downloaded. Also GLTools is written in C++ and the techniques that are wrapped up in it are not explained until very, very late in the book. That means if you want to learn OpenGL using a different language, you need to read almost the entire book, then recreate GLTools in your language and only THEN can you go back to the beginning and actually try out the examples in the first chapters. So, no 5 stars. But still, pretty good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but..., 4 Dec. 2011
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (Paperback)
I was recommended this book for my masters coursework. The explanation for the techniques are pretty good but it relies far too heavily on "gl tools" which is not good when you are not allowed to use external libraries for a piece of work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to learn the future of OpenGL (and ignore the clutter)? Look no further!, 8 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (Paperback)
OpenGL is a tough nut to crack for a beginner, especially right now. Do you learn the fixed function pipeline or the programmable one. Don't get me started on all the depreciated functionality! Thankfully the Superbible solved my problems by focusing on the Core profile and the programmable pipeline. Its very readable and there is some great source code and examples available at the books website.

I think the authors did a great job here and deserve plaudits for making life for beginners a little easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Introduction to OpenGL and 3D Programming, 16 Jan. 2011
By 
J. Perry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (Paperback)
An excellent book in depth and breadth for beginners. Only read the first three chapters, but anticipate reading the remainder of the book. Very useful sections on OpenGL for Embedded Systems and how OpenGL is used in other OS environments. A very fascinating area of computer science!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for OpenGL 3.0 and later, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (Paperback)
As it says, it is a comprehensive tutorial. It is only applicable to OpenGL 3.0 and ideally you need 3.3 or later to run the samples or even to make sense of them. For the older (simpler) fixed pipeline of 2.1 and earlier, get the 4th edition of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A confusing book, 5 April 2013
By 
J. Lind - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (Paperback)
This is a wrong book if you want to learn modern OpenGL from the ground up. It has a really confusing structure. The worst thing is the fact that the authors are using their own magic library for everything. This book is ok as a reference, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating read., 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference (Paperback)
Too many english words and not enough C++ opengl code.
Too WAFLY!!! (Sent it back)
Not sure what framework was being used for the matrix math and stock shaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference
OpenGL SuperBible: Comprehensive Tutorial and Reference by Benjamin Lipchak (Paperback - 23 July 2010)
£36.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews