Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Objective-C
Having recently decided to learn how to develop apps for the iPhone, I purchased this book as a guide and future reference to the Objective-C language, the underlying language for creating iPhone apps.

Stephen Kochan has a unique way of explaining the language that people who have never programmed before should be able to pick up this book and develop a good...
Published on 28 Jun 2011 by Nick Hanson

versus
2 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars why can't authors check the books before release!!!
Not a great start I got this as it should be up to date the first thing it starts with is "main.m" which is NOT there. Please if you say it is up to date get it up to date!.
Published on 20 Jun 2011 by Mr M Rosenthal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Objective-C, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Nick Hanson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
Having recently decided to learn how to develop apps for the iPhone, I purchased this book as a guide and future reference to the Objective-C language, the underlying language for creating iPhone apps.

Stephen Kochan has a unique way of explaining the language that people who have never programmed before should be able to pick up this book and develop a good grasp of it. Unlike languages like C (a procedural) language which Objective-C is built on, Objective-C is an object oriented language, something that can be hard to get your head around.

Right from the start of the book in Chapter 3, Stephen gives you an introduction to Classes, Objects and Methods - the basics behind object oriented programming. The way he explains the concept of OOP to mere mortals without being condescending is very well done, and was able to make things clearer to me.

Although I am currently working on Chapter 6 of 21 of the 3rd edition, with the way the book is written so far, I believe I will have no trouble understanding the rest of the book - even the harder chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very thorough grounding in Objective-C, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
Most books on Objective-C, programming for the iPhone, iPad, etc., nearly all start with trying to get you to develop an App in the first chapter, complete with buttons. This is all very well, except that you understand nothing of the underlying principles. Kochan's book does the opposite. It starts really from the beginning, making sure your programming foundation is solid. He focuses on making sure you know how basic things like variables work, looping and making if-else decisions, with output straight to the console (or debugger window), rather than a fancy graphical user interface. He then builds on this foundation to build out objects and classes. He uses what I would call quite a mathematical approach, with lots of maths examples (e.g. calculating the area of rectangle, making a fraction class, etc. It's only really in the last quarter of the book that you start to learn about the foundation framework, and then in the very last chapter your first proper IOS app. This means when you develop your IOS app, you actually KNOW what the app is doing.

My background is in procedural programming languages such as pascal, basic, and visual basic, albeit 10 years ago. This was a great re-introduction, and especially in to object oriented programming. Anyone who appreciates learning something with a solid foundation will be well at home with this book. It is straight forward to follow. I high recommend hanging in there to do each example. Type each one in and you learn a lot from your mistakes. I got through the first 300 pages in about 2.5 weeks, studying about an hour a night. There is also a comprehensive forum where there are little quizzes which are v helpful to embed the knowledge.

Highly recommend this book for anyone wanting a proper grounding. I write very few reviews, but felt this one was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a non-programmer, 29 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have very limited experience of programming and usually find it hard to get my head round but this book makes it easy. It is straight forward and very readable. If you've never programmed before but feel like giving it a go, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 31 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
This book is a must have for anyone learning Objective-C. It works well both for those who have no programming knowledge as for those who know JAVA and C++.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
I've found this book very helpful. After reading several objective-c and iOS development books this is by far the best. For the person that can't find main.m look a little better, it's defiantly there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Programming in objective c, 28 Feb 2013
By 
I. Coulton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic book. Found it easy to follow and understand. The author breaks each task down into simple easy to follow step by step examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AAAAA, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
Thank u that no bad Book do well I like it.
Im happy with that. good post.
Thank u
Jason Sharpe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing primer for programmers both old and new, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
I bought this book book because I wanted to get back into programming which I dropped over 15 years ago. My aim was to develop apps for the iPad and iPhone, and I can say this is a very good book to help you get back into the swing of things.

I like the way the book progresses and how the OO concepts are explained. There are a lot of best practices on how to work with and implement objects. Although there are a few errors in this book, it should not deter the reader from achieving his or her goal.

My best chapter is chapter 13, The underlying C Language features as it helps you understand the concept of C programming and it blends with Objective-C. I can't wait to get my hands on the iOS5 version in the new year.

Now when I am going through other people's Obejctive-C code I can understand the reason why they wrote the code the way they did. This book is always by my side as a reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic introduction to Objective-C, 8 Oct 2011
I am a Computer Scientist, looking at getting into iPhone development, so I got this book just so I could become familiar with Objective-C before moving onto other books that go into greater detail.

The book does a good job of introducing new concepts gradually and not making too many assumptions about previous knowledge of the reader. There are exercises at the end of each chapter to make sure that you have understood the concepts discussed.

I do feel like certain aspects of this book may be a little tricky for someone completely new to programming, however for my needs this book was great and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice book to start learning Objective-C, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
This book is well-written and helps you understanding the peculiarities of objective-c (messages, protocols, categories etc), but it does not explain deeply each topic.. I gave it 4 stars since it is useful to understand what you can do with Objective-C, but if you want to understand each topic very well you must read the book and in parallel read the documentation on Apple developers' site. So, it is not for experienced Objective-C users, but for someone like me, that has programming experience in other languages and want to start coding in Objective-C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Programming in Objective-C (Developer's Library)
Programming in Objective-C (Developer's Library) by Stephen G. Kochan (Paperback - 6 Jun 2011)
Used & New from: £2.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews