Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got me up and running in Flash CS5
I've been working with Macromedia MX 2004 until recently so this book was to help me with the conversion to Adobe CS5. It's well presented and although I am only half way through, it has helped me pick up plenty of tips already. Don't know if it would be the right choice for an absolute beginner though, as it focusses on the how and not the why - no real preamble. But...
Published on 5 Dec. 2010 by BK

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy Kindle edition
I made the mistake of buying the Kindle version, which is not delivered with the exercise files. Without these, the book is utterly useless - you can't follow any of the lessons!

The fact that Amazon don't mention this on the Kindle storefront (and include reviews from the printed version of the book, which also don't mention it) is a serious issue and one that...
Published on 11 Nov. 2011 by D. Chapman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got me up and running in Flash CS5, 5 Dec. 2010
By 
BK (Rochdale) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adobe Flash Professional CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I've been working with Macromedia MX 2004 until recently so this book was to help me with the conversion to Adobe CS5. It's well presented and although I am only half way through, it has helped me pick up plenty of tips already. Don't know if it would be the right choice for an absolute beginner though, as it focusses on the how and not the why - no real preamble. But like I said, for me it is just the ticket. I now have 5 of the CIB series books sitting on my desk (FW, AI, DW, Flash, PS)so I'm obviously fairly happy with them. Also, I'm using a dual-booting iMac and this book is fine for either OS. Hope this is of help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy Kindle edition, 11 Nov. 2011
By 
D. Chapman (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I made the mistake of buying the Kindle version, which is not delivered with the exercise files. Without these, the book is utterly useless - you can't follow any of the lessons!

The fact that Amazon don't mention this on the Kindle storefront (and include reviews from the printed version of the book, which also don't mention it) is a serious issue and one that they should address.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tutorial., 16 July 2011
By 
R. Field (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Flash Professional CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I have been waiting for a book like this for years. It teaches Flash CS5 in the form of a series of lessons. Readers follow along using lesson files on the CD. Clearly, the best way to learn how to use software is to actually get hands-on experience. This books guides you through the process, building knowledge and confidence as you go.

The writing is clear and highly readable and well illustrated. The accompanying CD also contains further video lessons which are very thorough and assume no prior knowledge. Every step is explained clearly, without being patronising.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Flash book, 28 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Adobe Flash Professional CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I have been using the Adobe Classroom books as a training source since Adobe Photoshop 2.5 and find them a valuable source for getting to grips with Adobes applications. The Flash book is easy to follow and you are told how long each lesson will last at the beginning of the chapter. Highly recommended.
Adobe Flash Professional CS5 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The start they should give you with the program, 15 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Flash Professional CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Having seen what Flash could do I wanted to develop applications myself, but got a bit overawed by the amount of information out there. This is a good start to learning Flash Professional, with concise lessons and basic examples.
Just wish Adobe would include this level of tutorial with the product, and not as an optional update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Improve your flash skills, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Flash Professional CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Love these books, it's a great buy for beginners into CS products, would like to see an additional series for professionals with in-depth tutorials etc. Book is value for money and it does what it suppose to. Mine came with a CD Rom as specified in the product area and the chapters are easy to follow. Recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Clunky! Not as good as the DW CS5 book, 20 Sept. 2011
The Classroom in a book range is a great idea and is good to buy. I used the Dreamweaver CS3 Book and was delighted to find that the CS5 is MUCH easier to read. It takes into account anomalies you may face and is pretty linear. This Flash book on the other hand isn't like this. One minute it's taking you through an exercise the next it's talking about the toolbox so you lose your place. My first movie came out completely wrong and it was my own tinkering that got it right. I would like to see this book written in the same tone as Dreamweaver CS5 and hope the rest of the range are not like this clunky mass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you need, 1 Nov. 2012
By 
Mari Devold (Oxford, United Kingdom/ Ålesund, Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Flash Professional CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Briliant book, very easy to use and with good descriptions of how things work. I am an absolute fan of the Classroom in a Book series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Flash Professional CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
You must have a good sound knowledge of computer applications and be interested to take the time to read and go through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Flash Professional CS5 Classroom in a Book, 6 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Flash Professional CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
This is a easy to follow book
lots of tutorials and examples ..
I had fun real fun with this book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews