Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Step by step tutorials
I had some experience with other photo-editing software packages previously but decided I wanted to take the plunge and get Photoshop CS5. When I first came to CS5 I was somewhat overwhelmed by the complexity of the programme and found it daunting to find my way around all the menus and control panels. I checked about on the internet for books and tutorials and came upon...
Published on 5 Jan 2011 by 00avjohn00

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as you'd hope
this book is a useful and effective tool for doing the tasks described to the images provided on the disc (for the most part - there were some instances where no matter how carefully i followed the instructions i did not see the results i needed).

where the book falls down is that while it tells you what to do, it rarely tells you why you are doing it - so you...
Published on 26 Jan 2012 by Deniz Karagulle


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 16 Oct 2014
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Too dry and technical - I sh0uld have known better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent can do great things with, 21 Sep 2014
By 
R. Wolley "Quodvultdeus" (SE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
excellent can do great things with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
has great tips on using PS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop lessons, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I bought this book hoping that it would teach me the basics of Photoshop which I had just purchased, however, the book was extrely difficult to work with as it presumed a fore knowledge of a lot of the tools which were often difficult to find. Even my tutor couldn't help with one of my queries afterwards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop, 5 Nov 2014
By 
P. C. Archer "camera fair" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Celebrity Cake Mix, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
To use an analogy, this book is like a celebrity cake mix. It comes with everything you need to do the task, but in the end, you didn't learn how to bake and you need the same ingredients to bake again.

The book is only useful to show what Photoshop can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over-priced and slender detail, 9 Aug 2010
At just under £18, this book is very thin on detail. A lot of time is wasted on obvious things an experienced Photoshop user will already know... so it ought to be clearly described as a product for beginners. As a proficient user, this book does not grip the new features with any tenacity and the demo photos are pretty small nor easy to read (on an iPad). It's put me off buying the other editions for InDesign, DW etc.

The Adobe Master collection is expensive enough and charging extra for mediocre manuals is naughty. Apple provide extremely detailed manuals for Final Cut etc. and as someone who's prepared to pay for software, there should be more reward from Adobe.

I wouldn't mind if this guide was exceptional, but it's not. Or even close.

To experienced users: RECOMMEND DO NOT BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews