Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Step by step tutorials
I had some experience with other photo-editing software packages previously but decided I wanted to take the plunge and get Photoshop CS5. When I first came to CS5 I was somewhat overwhelmed by the complexity of the programme and found it daunting to find my way around all the menus and control panels. I checked about on the internet for books and tutorials and came upon...
Published on 5 Jan 2011 by 00avjohn00

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as you'd hope
this book is a useful and effective tool for doing the tasks described to the images provided on the disc (for the most part - there were some instances where no matter how carefully i followed the instructions i did not see the results i needed).

where the book falls down is that while it tells you what to do, it rarely tells you why you are doing it - so you...
Published on 26 Jan 2012 by Deniz Karagulle


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Step by step tutorials, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I had some experience with other photo-editing software packages previously but decided I wanted to take the plunge and get Photoshop CS5. When I first came to CS5 I was somewhat overwhelmed by the complexity of the programme and found it daunting to find my way around all the menus and control panels. I checked about on the internet for books and tutorials and came upon this book which seemed to be well reviewed. I ordered this book in time for my Christmas break.
The book arrived, a paperback, which is nicely packaged with a matt cover and very professional finish. The layout of the contents are exremely clear and easy to read and the format is maintained throughout the book. Illustrations are well printed and clear to see even in the fine details.
The book takes the format of 14 lesson chapters each of which takes about an hour to work through. The raw materials for these lessons are supplied on an accompanying CD which you copy to your hard drive.
The first chapter begins by introducing you to the tools bar and gives a brief description of them but you are soon into the first exercise. The quality of the materials supplied on the CD are of a very high standard and make working through the exercises a joy.
The book walks you step by step through each exercise with some explanation of the processes involved. It is presented as point by point steps so that you never feel that you are losing your way and I never once found an error in the process. Everything literally happened as it says in the book.
This is a tour-de-force of CS5 and presents to you through the exercises just about every process and tool there is on offer.
As this is presented as a work-through exercise book it is not intended as a reference book. To use it for this would be a little clumsy. Throughout there are tips and techniques which expand on the main text although these could be a little fuller.
If you are looking for a book that will explain how-to "fix" your photos or acheive certain artistic effects then this may not be for you but if you need to learn how to get around the interface, understand layers, paths, channels etc and how these can interact then I would be suprised if there is any better book available.
In short a brilliant exercise book which has given me the confidence to go further with the CS5 software and now reading the techniques in the photo magazines makes sense and I have the confidence to tackle their techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the beginer!, 10 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Having received CS 5 as a gift, but with very little knowledge of how such a professional product can best be utilised, I looked for a book/manual that would provide me with the best insight. Bearing in mind that I would only be using it on an occasional basis, but would at least need to know the basics. With that in mind this manual seemed to tick all the boxes. I have found it to be a easily followed set of directions and tips. I also found that the instructional dvd to be of great help. For those who need the insight in greater depth, this manual should also tick your box.
Like many of these books you do not have to read as a novel. You can identify the issue that you want to approach and choose the appropriate chapter.
One tip I would give if purchasing book and have the same minimal knowledge, of Photoshop as I have, watch the dvd first. I found that it enabled me to understand the book better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 23 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
having previously had photoshop cs3 i was looking forward to the upgrades of the cs5 version. this book has help me utilise the new fucntions that the cs5 has to offer. one can go through the chapters in about a hour as the exercises are short, it explains the functions of the program in detail so that one can work on one's without having to jump back and forth to the book due to uncertainty. i recommend this book to all who wish to get the most out photoshop cs5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as you'd hope, 26 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
this book is a useful and effective tool for doing the tasks described to the images provided on the disc (for the most part - there were some instances where no matter how carefully i followed the instructions i did not see the results i needed).

where the book falls down is that while it tells you what to do, it rarely tells you why you are doing it - so you can't perform the tasks on any other images. this limits its usefulness, as i imagine that most people that purchase it hope to use it on images other than the ones on the accompanying disc. when you try to apply the "skills" you have learned to other images, you may well find it a profoundly frustrating and futile experience.
it also has a tendency to explain things in a way that don't make much sense to the inexperienced used - for example, when it explains the difference between channels, channel masks, layer mask, vector masks and clipping masks. after having read the paragraph a good thirty times, i was if anything less clear on the distinction.

this may well be the best book available on the topic but it falls short of what you would hope from the makers of the program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tutorials and easy to understand, 22 Sep 2010
By 
John Arcay "J.Arcay" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I really feel that this is one of the most user-friendly tutorial books for PhotoShop I have ever owned. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase!!, 29 Nov 2010
By 
D. Grunhut (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
This is one of the best lesson books for Photoshop CS5, and so cheacp in comparison from purchasing from Adobe direct!
A great way to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop CS5 - Get this book before any others!, 18 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I am a Photoshop fanatic ever since the early nineties and upgrade every time a new version comes out.
I am perfect or like to think I am, but with each upgrade, I get the Classroom in a Book.
Photoshop has a very steep learning curve, in fact, and gets steeper with each upgrade.
Learning the basics is similar to walk before run, and like walking(Power Walking)there are technics that
need to be observed before attempting the complicated steps.
I always pick up a rule I may have forgotten with these books as well as learning the new "bells and whistles".
There is a disc attached that contains the contents for a lesson, so don't be "smart" get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent instructions for the beginner like me, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I found this book very clear and concise. I am an amateur photographer who wanted to be able to use photoshop mainly for the basics, such as using levels and clone tool etc. This book contains a cd with lessons to follow step by step. It shows you how the photgraph should look at the end of the lesson and it doesnt assume you know anything already like a lot of books on the subject. It is simple to use and very informative. I dont use every lesson in the book as some cover Vector drawing technigues and Typographic design both a little too advanced for me. I would recommend this book for the beginner or the more advanced photoshop user that wants to dabble in the art side of photography or design. My work college teaches Photoshop and recommended this book to me as she uses it for her teaching as an aid. I havent looked back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product,, 10 Dec 2010
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe))

A steep leaning curve from Photoshop CS, But well worth the effort,
A great product worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book, 16 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 Classroom in a Book: Classroom in a Book : The Offical Training Workbook from Adobe Systems (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I had read reviews of a few books on PC CS5, and am so pleased that I chose this one. Excellent book - systematic and easy to follow. Accompanying CD also very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews