Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book had me wishing for traffic jam..., 4 April 2011
By 
This review is from: VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
... so I could read a little longer during my bus journey to work every morning!

The first half is amazingly inspiring and talks about why one would want to turn pro and how to make a broad plan to get there.

The second half give numerous advices on how to get specific things achieved; marketing, marketing and marketing, but also finances and other topics. Very useful, and still engaging.

There are also 4-5 pages profiles of several photographers of different speciality and style talking about how they got there in the first place. The variety is is great!

The author writes VERY well and is VERY engaging; I just couldn't put this book down! ... and I got another book from the same author before I even finished this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful., 14 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I recommend this book very highly. David DuChemin has a lot of very useful points to make to anyone considering a career in photography. I have learned a lot from him and will put it to use in my future plans. This is not a technical book but one that looks at the business and practicalities of photography (although there are some great shots in it by the author, who has travelled the world shooting his work). Well written, humourous and sympathetic to burgeoning photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for all working professionals..., 12 July 2010
By 
Paul Hodgson "www.bof.uk.com" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
If you expect this book to make you a more accomplished photographer, it will but not in the way you expect. This book isn't a photography 101 or a by numbers book, instead David duChemin walks you through the reality of what it takes to become a successful photographer. This, heavens forbid, also means the reality that forging a career out of taking photographs my also not work.

I like how duChemin writes, I resonate with his thoughts about success, failure and being honest with oneself and completely recommend this photography book not just as a photography book, but a book that requires you to think for yourself. Many of the ideas in this book aren't photography related but are completely transferable across every type of vocation or industry.

For me, this has become a must have book to have in your library. I also know that this will be a book a revisit time and again and my suggestion is simply this...

this is a whole lot of book for not a lot of cost. If you buy it and don't like it simply sell it on or pass it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 21 July 2011
By 
Mr. N. Cattermole "Nick" (London Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is a top book. Very inspiring and honest - no quick fix here. Just great advice on how to craft a vision into a business with heart and integrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired Writing, 31 Oct 2010
By 
Richard Deeble "Welsh Wizard" (Halesowen UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Having read this author's other book "Within the Frame" I wanted to get his angle on making a living or at least some money out of utilising a passion for photography. The book gives a superb insight into pedalling your passion but does not glamorise the process, in fact there are many warnings issued.
Highly recommended but not of the reader wants a simple way in to Professional??? photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tel it like it is., 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
excelent book on basics of running a business and being self employed. broad enough here to be of interest to anyone whos considering going self employed in anything!

I like the style and the hardnosed advice 9 Makes it clear early on that if your not at least very good at what you do- go do something else. also that its not about getting rich - funds are a lucky bonuse if you want to make money then thats a different prospect to making a hobby into your job.

Also has usefull tips on photography buisness but thats an extra. This book could be read by anyone who has an inerest in turning a buck from thier creative abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential reading, 17 May 2010
By 
H. Aarvold (Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne & Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
If you earn a living from photography or you are thinking about trying to, then you should read this book.

It is the best book I've ever read on the practice of photography. It is not about the "how" of taking pictures. It is about the "why".

Brilliant and sage advice throughout.

I've been shooting professionally for over 5 years and it has helped me understand my profession a great deal. Just knowing my fears and challenges are not unique and are faced by photographers the world over.

You should definitely check out David duChemin's other books including his eBooks - they are extremely good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Useful, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book is written with a lot of heart and practical experience by photographer David duChemin, and I consider it essential reading for someone starting out or wanting to transition to a full-time working photographer.

I wrote a blog of the top five things I learnt from this book here: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the professional photographer, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Sadly, there are so many amateurs out there now, who think simply owning a DSLR makes them a professional photographer. This book highlights what it takes to become a successful professional in an ever changing marketplace. Dissecting a variety of different ways of working, with good examples of current contemporary photographers who are attempting to forge a career. The emphasis is less on the known professional giants and more towards getting started, building a niche, and maintaining professional visibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
If you are interested in the effort and the psychology required to be a professional photographer, this is the book for you. Not a how to shoot like a pro but an in-depth understanding of the art as a business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

VisionMongers: Making a Life and a Living in Photography (Voices That Matter)
26.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews