Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for creating better slides, but that' all
This book is very useful but has some limitations.

The book builds on Garr's first book `Presentation Zen', in that it really helps someone with limited design experience build amazing slides.

It is well laid out and easy to read. It goes into enough depth to be useful and is very theory light; this is a good thing.

This book contains no...
Published on 12 Feb 2010 by Adam "Reviewboy" Yorki...

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good images but...
Good images, but there are no new tips.
Some good example but the question should be which kind of software to use and how.
Published on 4 Feb 2011 by Carla


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for creating better slides, but that' all, 12 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presentation Zen Design: Simple Design Principles and Techniques to Enhance Your Presentations (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book is very useful but has some limitations.

The book builds on Garr's first book `Presentation Zen', in that it really helps someone with limited design experience build amazing slides.

It is well laid out and easy to read. It goes into enough depth to be useful and is very theory light; this is a good thing.

This book contains no information on how to use PowerPoint or Keynote - which focuses the reader on what is important, design. It will also mean that the book will have a long shelf-life.

Though the book repeats many of the ideas from Presentation Zen, you would have need to read the first book or another book on how to do great presentations to get the most out of this one. The book has very little on delivery or crafting your whole presentation.

I would highly recommend this to someone who is a reasonable presenter already, for those new to the area I would recommend reading The Presentation Secrets of Steve Jobs: How to Be Insanely Great in Front of Any Audience by Carmine Gallo, first.
The Presentation Secrets of Steve Jobs: How to Be Insanely Great in Front of Any Audience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes a sequel can be better than the original, 22 Nov 2010
This review is from: Presentation Zen Design: Simple Design Principles and Techniques to Enhance Your Presentations (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This was what I was looking for.

This does everything that Presentation Zen: Simple Ideas on Presentation Design and Delivery (Voices That Matter) doesn't, this is practical and has eliminated the philosophical waffle of its predecessor.

If you want to learn about how to design slides so that they can get clear and understandable ideas across to your listeners (and viewers) then this is the book your should get.

There is still some references to the Japanese culture but this time they are controlled and relevant, the author gets back to his old philosophical self in the chapter on Space but in general this is a tighter, more useful and educational book.

This is recommended reading for anyone who wants to understand how to design great slides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Within reason, one of the better ones., 29 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Presentation Zen Design: Simple Design Principles and Techniques to Enhance Your Presentations (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Garr Reynolds first book : Simple ideas was the first book I ever read on presentation and presentation design.
Within reason, because I do not feel as an authority in this field, I would certainly recommend both of them.
Design is the one more about "How", while the first one was more about "Why". Both are needed to understand the matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever on Presentation design & delivery!, 3 Feb 2010
This review is from: Presentation Zen Design: Simple Design Principles and Techniques to Enhance Your Presentations (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Garr Reynolds is a genius when it comes to modern presentation design. Not only is this book a great guide on how to plan and present quality presentations, it's also a very handy reference that I constantly reefer to when looking at typography and color in my overall designs.

There is also a very good guide on taking better photographs. His first book was fantastic but this is now my bible!

Can't recommend it enough, it has helped my presentation design & delivery so much! Thanks Garr!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, great ideas, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Technoquest (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really comes at presentation design from a different angle. It's very refreshing to be liberated from the constraints of Powerpoint bullet-pointed lists.

I have taken on board the principles in this book and haven't looked back. My presentations have gone well and achieved their objectives, so I am very pleased I found and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant inspiration for slides, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presentation Zen Design: Simple Design Principles and Techniques to Enhance Your Presentations (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Bought this as a companion to 2nd Edition of Presentation Zen. This one extends the ideas further but more importantly it has loads more slide design tips and examples. A great reference for visual and striking slides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, giving practical support, 14 May 2013
By 
Miriam Thorne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is not aimed at the professional graphic designer but for those professionals for whom presentations are an important part of their life. And particularly for those who don't want to continue to bore their audiences to tears and not do their subject matter justice by creating boring powerpoint presentations.
It is relatively light on things like audience research, story telling theory etc (but gives some) but gives some great design tips that anyone can actually apply. I read this book after reading Nancy Duarte's Resonate and found the two books perfect companions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not perfect, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presentation Zen Design: Simple Design Principles and Techniques to Enhance Your Presentations (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Very well-produced (as one would expect!)it combines relatively straightforward presentation with quite sophisticated (to one who is neither a designer or artist) ideas. This occasionally misses the point for me (e.g. the importance of the tone of background colour) but lots of clear principles which mostly will be easy to implement. As others have said, probably best combined with something like the Presentation Secrets of Steve Jobs (which was recommended to me first). But very useful on the visual side. in summary I would say worth having if you do a lot of presenting and want to up your game, but not perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for clean presentations!, 22 Aug 2012
By 
J. Montiel Maillo (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presentation Zen Design: Simple Design Principles and Techniques to Enhance Your Presentations (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book is really great since it gives you the guidelines to creating clean looking presentations.

However, it only gives you the idea, it does not provide you with templates so some creativity is (of course) necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I nailed my presentation and its down to this guy!!!!, 28 April 2010
By 
JC "JC" (Mansfield England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presentation Zen Design: Simple Design Principles and Techniques to Enhance Your Presentations (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book is superb like its predecessor - I can only recommend that you buy it without a further a do. I am not a presenter - I hate it, however I have had nothing but compliments from my Executive Management Team following the presentation I did a few weeks ago. This book is a real winner! Buy it and change your way of thinking when it comes to presenting! John D Cleland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews