Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book
I had read the reviews on various books relevant to the Nikon D5000 and decided that this was the best for me. I'm an ethusiastic amateur(but not very good) rather than a complete beginner, but this book would suit anyone new to DSLRs. It is easy to read from cover to cover or by picking out chapters and Jeff Revell uses a touch of humour from time to time which helps...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by Jim Roberts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Damaged
The item was marked as being as good as new whereas the cover is slightly damaged. hopefully this won't prove embarrassing as it's for a present
Published 12 months ago by miss holly v r blamire


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 27 Nov 2009
This review is from: Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
I had read the reviews on various books relevant to the Nikon D5000 and decided that this was the best for me. I'm an ethusiastic amateur(but not very good) rather than a complete beginner, but this book would suit anyone new to DSLRs. It is easy to read from cover to cover or by picking out chapters and Jeff Revell uses a touch of humour from time to time which helps. Apart from making it easier to understand and use the functions of the D5000 it also helps me to get my head round photography generally and my technique has improved greatly even with my wife's compact Leica D Lux3! Jeff Revell writes books for other cameras and I'm guessing that they are just as helpful. If you are looking at the various options, I would put this above the "Dummies" and Magic Lantern books which I had a look at in the Library. It's also pretty cheap here on Amazon so go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helps de-complicate the D5000, 6 Jan 2010
By 
A. Hayes "Blapper" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
This book doesn't tell you anything that isn't in the manual, but the manual is a dry old thing of about 225 pages! The information about getting best use out of what is a very complex camera is presented in a way that makes it so you enjoy reading it and subsequently find absorbing the information far easier than just reading the manual. Don't get me wrong - you still need the manual, but the manual is quite hard to read from cover to cover.
If you are a digital photographer upgrading from a recent Nikon digital camera to the D5000, you would probably be wasting your money. If, like me you arrive from an older camera (Olympus E10), the two cameras are worlds apart and you will benefit greatly from the easy-going format of this book.
I found that reading this first meant that the manual then became useful to carry and refer to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginner's bible, 15 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
As the book says it is ideal for a beginner. Gives very good insight with high quality pics shot with the D5000. The high quality pics are a very good motivation for any beginner. Well written and easy to read. The book emphasises on the three important setting of a slr: aperture, shutter and ISO with some explanation on white balance and other settings. But a warning to all other users who are either an intermediate or advanced...... this book would not be suitable for intermediate or advanced photographers..... highly recommended for a beginners with the amazing D5000 at hand... Well have completed the basic course with this book, need to purchase an advance book now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for D5000 owners, 21 April 2010
By 
M. Harris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
This is a great book, written in an extremely easy to read and understand way. This book offers a great introduction to digital SLR photography, with a very specific focus on the Nikon D5000 - As such, do not buy this book unless you have (or are getting) a D5000.

For a newbie or amateur, this book is fantastic. For anyone with more experience, or a more advanced understanding of (D)SLR photography, then this book won't really offer that much.

I have given this 5 stars, as this book is aimed at amateurs, and on this level, it is a very good intro to DSLR photography and the D5000. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what is says on the cover, 4 May 2010
By 
D. Griffith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
Probably the best "how to" book on good photography I have read or browsed. Some of the often very simple tips, including the one how to completely transform a landscape shot, is probably worth the price alone. As a D5000 guide, it beats most on the market-I only say most because I have not seen them all.
Highly recommended for the beginner for its simple, clear approach and writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for newbies, 25 April 2010
By 
R. SMITH - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
If you're new to DSLR photography you'll probably find that the manual which comes with the camera isn't a great starting guide. Whilst it will tell you about the *features* on your camera, it won't go into any detail about the 'art' of photography and how to compose shots under various conditions.

I think for the money, you can't go wrong with this book - it'll tell you how to set up your camera out of the box and get shooting asap. Then as you read on, you can learn about how and when to use the non-auto modes.

A worthwhile companion to your new camera and not too hard to digest for newcomers (like me)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have book, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
I used to take photos with an slr over 20 years ago and knew my way around a camera, but a dslr has taken photography to a much higher level. The manual that came with the camera is 220 pages and seemed daunting at first so I decided to buy this book. I've found it such a good buy. Jeff helps you set the camera up and gives many helpfull tips throughout.I recommend this book to anyone who has bought the D5000
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon D5000 Guide, 15 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
A really useful guide book into setting up and making use of your new D5000 DSLR. With so many features available on current model DSLR cameras you need plenty of advice in how to use the full protential of your new Nikon. It is well laid out and reader friendly to follow. A must buy if most of your previous camera experience was with 35 mm SLR film cameras or point and shot digital cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for a beginner, 25 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
Having bought the D5000 camera and been put off by the dryness and tediousness of the manual, this is the ideal book for me. By the end of the first chapter you can take top quality photos and as the book develops you can add to this quality and really bring out the best in the camera. When i first bought the camera I feared I had bought a camera which was too complicated for me to use - this book has already shown me that this is not the case, and has already enabled me to get some brilliant shots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 1 Aug 2010
This review is from: Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
As i am new to Digital photography, i bought this book because of its high customer reviews, and what a buy this was, not only does it teach you about the D5000 but also about digital photography (and film photography to some extent). If you a beginner or like me this book is an absolute must buy! Easy to understand but not "dumbed down". Thanks to the Author "Jeff Revell" who is obviously a great photographer (many high quality photo's in the book) for sharing his tips and knowledge with us.Also there is a Flikr photo group to join for users of this book (URL found on back of book) to upload there own photos taken with the D5000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots
Nikon D5000: From Snapshots to Great Shots by Jeff Revell (Paperback - 9 Aug 2009)
£12.80
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews