Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get started in usability testing
If you want to find and fix usability problems in your web site, the bad news is that finding them on your own is extremely difficult. You'll overlook massive show-stoppers because you know how the site is meant to work.

The good news is that usability testing, getting someone else to use your web site while you watch them, is very easy and extremely...
Published on 8 Feb 2010 by C. Jarrett

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very centered on user testing
The whole book is focused on how to do usability testing without spending much money.
If you want to know how to do it, this is your book. Definitely! It has everything. It even contain templates of the kind of questions you should ask to the users doing your usability tests!

I, on the contrary, bought this book thinking it would be an evolution of Krug's...
Published on 14 April 2010 by Carlos Santos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get started in usability testing, 8 Feb 2010
By 
C. Jarrett "forms and usability expert" (Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocket Surgery Made Easy: The Do-it-yourself Guide to Finding and Fixing Usability Problems (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
If you want to find and fix usability problems in your web site, the bad news is that finding them on your own is extremely difficult. You'll overlook massive show-stoppers because you know how the site is meant to work.

The good news is that usability testing, getting someone else to use your web site while you watch them, is very easy and extremely informative.

In this short, encouraging book, Steve Krug explains what you have to do in his wonderfully approachable style. In Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability, he zeroed on in the really important points about web site usability. In this new book, he's done it again with usability testing. It's boiled down to the essence of an approach that anyone could use, in 'a morning a month'.

Steve does not claim that this is a comprehensive manual for how to do any type of usability test. For that, he includes recommendations for further reading, such as Handbook of Usability Testing: How to Plan, Design, and Conduct Effective Tests.

Not does he claim that his method is full-on, professional testing. In fact, he says: "If you can afford to hire a usability professional to do your testing for you, do it".

This book is for anyone who wants to make sure that their web site is easy to use, but doesn't have the budget for a professional.

Having said that, I am a usability consultant and I still found it worthwhile to read this book. If you've struggled to get clients to make the changes that you know are necessary, then here's an opportunity to pick up some ideas.

(Disclosure: Steve wrote the foreword to my book Forms that Work: Designing Web Forms for Usability (Interactive Technologies))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Usability testing for every website owner/manager/designer, 3 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Rocket Surgery Made Easy: The Do-it-yourself Guide to Finding and Fixing Usability Problems (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Having read Don't Make Me Think some time ago, I've been eagerly awaiting this 'how to' book and have had it on pre-order for a while. It was worth the wait. Having read it in a matter of hours I think any website owner, manager, designer or developer would find it an interesting and informative read.

This book explains what you can gain from regular usability testing and shows you step-by-step exactly how to facilitate usability testing and collate the results into an action plan. You don't need a load of fancy, expensive equipment or programming skills and Mr Krug usefully includes all the scripts (narrative not programming) you need to conduct your testing. He also covers how to: conduct debriefing meetings, manage the fixing of problems, get buy-in from stakeholders and potential pitfalls and how to avoid them.

Really all you need to start your own usability testing is this book and the skills to organise a meeting - the book tells you what to do at what time point so it really is a case of following the instructions. I particulalry like the short, to the point chapters and as with Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability the design layout makes it super-easy to use with decent sized type broken down into manageable chunks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, 6 Feb 2010
By 
De Sio Michele (Firenze, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocket Surgery Made Easy: The Do-it-yourself Guide to Finding and Fixing Usability Problems (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
A good introduction to interface usability tests. It succeeds in making you understand how this kind of tests, although not necessarily expensive, can dramatically improve user experience suggesting just minor interface tweaks.
The book gives you little more than a general idea, scratching only the surface, but it gives you enough to conduct your own tests, conveys confidence in their usefulness and gives you a list of other sources to expand your knowledge.
The examples are all about web interfaces but the very same principles are easily applied to desktop or mobile applications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to have and to hold, 7 Sep 2012
This review is from: Rocket Surgery Made Easy: The Do-it-yourself Guide to Finding and Fixing Usability Problems (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Steve Krug's usability testing methodology does for usability testing what James Bach's Rapid Software Testing methodology does for other types of software testing. That is, it assumes that:

1. You have some version of a website or web application that can be tested (even if only a wireframe or prototype).

2. You have limited time for testing.

3. It's better to do some testing that will find important problems fast than to plan a big test that could yield statistically significant results and find many problems but that won't actually get run.

It further assumes that you are not a usability professional and cannot afford to hire one but that you can do good enough testing yourself if given some practical instruction. This book, supported by the video on the companion website, provides that practical instruction.

Here you will find out what to do at every step, from recruiting test subjects through to debriefing, and how much time to spend on each activity. If you have never facilitated or observed a usability test, you will additionally get a sense of what it's like to do usability testing.

The book is well written, being concise and precise. Furthermore, the pages are attractively designed and illustrated, making this a book that's nice to hold as well as one that's useful to have. (This review relates to the paperback edition, obviously.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Usability tsting made EXTREMELY easy, 19 Mar 2010
By 
M. Kjeldsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocket Surgery Made Easy: The Do-it-yourself Guide to Finding and Fixing Usability Problems (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
There's not much to say really. Steve Krug has made user testing even more easy to approach than he did in "Don't make me think".

If you're into user testing of products (or just really, really curious) this book is a must read.

The best part? The book is read within a few hours but the contents will last for life. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *The* book for beginners interested in running usabilty sessions, 19 Feb 2010
This review is from: Rocket Surgery Made Easy: The Do-it-yourself Guide to Finding and Fixing Usability Problems (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
A great companion to Steve's previous book - Don't Make Me Think.
This expands on the 3 chapters in the original edition of DMMT, and then some.

I've run usability testing sessions for 8 years and found it an easy read which I am now recommending to colleagues beginning to run their own tests.

If you're looking for an introduction to usability as a whole though, DMMT is the better option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book - demystifies in plain language, 22 Jan 2010
By 
T. Duffin (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocket Surgery Made Easy: The Do-it-yourself Guide to Finding and Fixing Usability Problems (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, the follow up to his "Don't Make me Think" which gave us several simple benchmarks which we try to adhere to when designing any website. This book shows you how to test your website - on your own - simply and cheaply, and if it does nothing else for you other than persuade you to start testing your webpages, then it's worth 10 times the cost of the book. Just buy it, read it over a weekend, and feel as if you've been handed a machine-gun in a room full of enemies armed with only feathers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for anyone interested in user testing, 23 May 2014
By 
Daniel R (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Surgery Made Easy: The Do-it-yourself Guide to Finding and Fixing Usability Problems (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book is essential to anyone willing to perform user testing by themselves. It's quick to read and very clear. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must for all product managers, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still the most concise and practical advice on how to collect user feedback when texting. I keep referring to it every now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 9 Sep 2012
This review is from: Rocket Surgery Made Easy: The Do-it-yourself Guide to Finding and Fixing Usability Problems (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
A great follow up to Don't Make Me Think with a more relevant and up to date approach. I especially like the focus on fixing the big problems since it is easy for practitioners to get lost in the detail of every observed nuance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews