Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful - again
The underlying theme of Dan Cederholm's books is that craftmanship is the essence of good web design. The web craftsman seeks to ensure that each element of a design is built using robust code that will adapt to the requirements of different browsers and user display settings. Every aspect of the interface, no matter how small, deserves the designer's full attention and...
Published on 12 Sep 2009 by Justin Reynolds

versus
10 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but has bad habits
This book is a short book which contains information about common techniques and when best to use them. It teaches a bit about problem solving and the logic that is applied to using these common techniques. It covers a bit about CSS 3 as well, and covers a fair bit about floats and positioning, using a fluid grid, amongst other things. The book also has good quality...
Published on 9 Aug 2010 by SilverFirefly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful - again, 12 Sep 2009
By 
Justin Reynolds (Borders, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
The underlying theme of Dan Cederholm's books is that craftmanship is the essence of good web design. The web craftsman seeks to ensure that each element of a design is built using robust code that will adapt to the requirements of different browsers and user display settings. Every aspect of the interface, no matter how small, deserves the designer's full attention and respect.

This concept is made explicit in 'Handcrafted CSS'. Through the book Dan quietly unfolds the most persuasive case I've yet read that web designers should be using CSS3 now to enhance designs for those browsers that can support it. He shows how to use incredibly useful CSS3 tools such as border-radius, rgba and transition effects without damaging the user experience of those with older browsers. There's also a very useful discussion of the merits of using the 'clearfix' method to clear floats: Dan supports it, but with some significant caveats.

As with his previous books Dan focuses on the design techniques that designers actually use, day-in-day out. Five years or so after their first publication his earlier books 'Web Design Solutions' and 'Bulletproof CSS' are still by my desk. 'Handcrafted CSS' is more of the same, and highly recommended.

As a bonus the book includes a fine chapter by Ethan Marcotte discussing fluid grid designs. If time or opportunity allowed a full book by Mr Marcotte would be most welcome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Sep 2009
This review is from: Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is the second title that I own by Dan Cederholm. His books are a must for any web designer. Although the books will not teach you the basics of CSS or HTML, they will give you a full insight into the workings of a professional websites. This book is a must, the only down side to this book is that it is only 220 pages, I would love it to be twice the size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for a working professional, 4 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
The problem I find with a lot of CSS books is they tend to cover the basics, and aren't much use to a working professional. This book however is an exception. It discusses CSS 3 techniques in some depth, and how they can be applied to real world projects today. I always say that if you get one great idea from a book then it's almost always worth the asking price. I got several from this book.

Definitely gets a thumbs up from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I love this book! It goes in to so much detail and covers so much that even a complete beginner could use it to start with CSS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book to start learning the fundamentals of css and web design, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I bought this book upon to start learning the styles of CSS and thought it covered a lot of basic and advanced stuff that CSS can provide and also going into what the browser compatibility meant that the mark up of the CSS needed to look like so that the CSS would look typically the same in each browser, even though it described CSS3 it still told you what was needed if the CSS3 didn't work in IE 7 browsers and older then there was a solution to what was needed to correct the problem so the style of the web page would not be disturbed.

Overall the book is a really good source tool and good to have beside you when designing websites. A good and well written book and it gets right into detail so you won't get bored when reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners. And experts., 11 Jan 2011
By 
Dave C (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I read this books as a CSS and Javascript novice (not its intended audience). I had cobbled together a few web pages through trial and error, and was dissatisfied with them, although I didn't know why.

Many CSS books are boiler plated with reference material, lists of attributes and classes. Dan CederHolm's book is different. It gave me insight into how to design CSS to interact with HTML and Javascript (I was using Prototype), and how to make my web pages more `object oriented'. I went back and rewrote my pages to be more compact and more maintainable.

As a beginner, I highly recommend this book. The other reviews say that it's a good book for advanced users too. Well done Mr Cederholm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I loved every bit of it, 22 Dec 2010
By 
S. Rafiq "Its all good" (Blackburn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
An inspiring read. technically well thought out and well written. Using just one chapter to sort out my website was worth the purchase price. You do however have to have some knowledge of HTML & CSS before hand. This is not a beginner's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Dan!, 11 Aug 2010
By 
N. Rance (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is the 2nd of Dan's books I've bought, and it's definitely worth the money. After reading his Web Standards Solutions markup book, I was eager to buy more of his CSS books. Both books are great for reading, but are also a great reference book that you can always refer back to.

Handcrafted CSS is beautifully presented, with a lot of screenshots, which is particularly imported in any CSS book. The designs demonstrated are modern, clean and web 2.0. The book also covers various CSS3 properties as well, and gives examples for browsers that don't yet support CSS3 (IE!!!!).

The only downside I would mention, and I think it has also been mentioned by other people as well, is that this book is just over 200 pages. I wish it was twice as long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic work Dan!, 24 July 2010
This review is from: Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Thank you Dan for this amazing book, thank you for very simple and understandable description of attractive information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read for an IT Book, 23 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I know its crazy, but I actually enjoyed reading this book! Many IT books are boring, uninspiring and gernerally seem to enjoy showing us wanna be computer geeks that we cant hack it!

But this book is different. It's fresh, totally clear and has certainly changed the way I code websites.

The total beauty of this book is the was it was written. Dan Cederholm writes like your his friend (well IMHO) and unlike many IT textbooks, I actually read it from cover to cover.

I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone interested in developing their CSS skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter)
23.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews