Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Agile Book I've Read, 30 Aug. 2011
By 
N. FOX (Manchester (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agile Software Requirements: Lean Requirements Practices for Teams, Programs, and the Enterprise (Agile Software Development) (Hardcover)
This book was surprisingly good. Many books of this type explain the theory but don't sufficiently explain how to implement the theory in practice, let alone go on to explain how to overcome typical real-world issues with putting the theory into practice. The same cannot be said for this book. It is very thorough without being overwhelming. This book also goes beyond focussing only on aspects of requirements discovery and management in Agile projects and gives the reader an understanding of how the requirements fit together with the other aspects of Agile.

Before reading this book I'd been exposed to Agile for only a few months and that particular organisation had not fully adopted Agile, nor fully understood it at that stage. It was a very frustrating experience because different people understood different snippets of the theory but not the big picture or how to address low-level process issues. I had spoken to many people (some who had read extensively about the subject and even acted as a consultant/trainer on the subject) but none could answer all my questions or address my concerns. I was very sceptical about Agile. This book has answered all those questions and concerns and I must say that now I am looking forward to getting involved in an Agile project.

I highly recommend this book for anyone who needs to understand how Agile can be implemented from a high level theory aspect right down to the low level implementation process aspect. This is an absolutely fantastic book that I can see myself dipping into for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A detailed and extensive study of the agile gathering and management of requirements in enterprises, 5 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Agile Software Requirements: Lean Requirements Practices for Teams, Programs, and the Enterprise (Agile Software Development) (Hardcover)
Although many might tend to limit the concept of agile requirements to "user stories", this book reminds us that there could be more than just a post-it on an information radiator when we talk about requirements. The title of one of the initial chapters is "The Big Picture of Agile Requirements" and this book provides it, together with the small details that can help you write better stories.

Dean Leffingwell describes the general context of managing requirements in organizations based on a three levels view: portfolio, program and team. The concept of requirements is different at each of these levels: from the investment themes and epics of the enterprise strategy to the user stories implemented by teams during Scrum sprints. An interesting concept developed in the book is the Agile Release Train (ART) that aggregates user stories in features set. The goal is to adjust the team's capacity to produce software with the ability of customers to absorb it.

The book is very well written, achieving balance between a structured approach and easiness to read. It contains many case studies, templates and sample agenda that help relate the ideas expressed with the daily activities. Three appendixes at the end propose interviews and document templates, along with a release-planning checklist.

This book provides a detailed and extensive study of the agile gathering and management of requirements in enterprises and I will recommend it to everybody involved in some software requirement activity, from the business analyst to the project manager or developer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything other agile books are not, 11 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Agile Software Requirements: Lean Requirements Practices for Teams, Programs, and the Enterprise (Agile Software Development) (Hardcover)
I have read many agile management, scrum, xp, user story (etc) books. Most are so high level and anecdotal that they fail to give the reader any meaningful insight or pragmatic guidance. This book puts a bit more thought and explanation behind the conclusions and advice it gives. It is packed with detailed advice and that elusive "insight" that we all need. It manages to cover a lot of ground in a fairly large book, were most others barely devote a chapter to this tricky and challenging aspect of agile software development. I will be using this book for a few years I think, it was a good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 3 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Software Requirements: Lean Requirements Practices for Teams, Programs, and the Enterprise (Agile Software Development) (Hardcover)
A great intro to setting product requirements in an Agile development environment. Especially useful is the section on Agile in a commercial development arena. A tricky question with some practical answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about doing agile on a large scale, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Software Requirements: Lean Requirements Practices for Teams, Programs, and the Enterprise (Agile Software Development) (Hardcover)
A great book, but not particularly on requirement handling in an agile world, but on how to adopt agile in a large scale.

Sure, the book goes into the usual agile for dummies for one team, but it also covers every part of the agile process with clear examples for both team, program and enterprise.

It so far the only book I've found that deals with the added complexity of running agile on a large scale (with releases, architecture, NFR, different cadence etc). Truly recommended for anyone with an interest in agile on a larger scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A SAFe Book, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Software Requirements: Lean Requirements Practices for Teams, Programs, and the Enterprise (Agile Software Development) (Hardcover)
The new bible in our company, still some lack of detail with bigger projects and how UX feeds in up the pipeline. That of course would add shadows of waterfall, but in a multi-module multi-team enterprise application if you want consistency that seems the only way. The SAFe website provides good summary pages to accompany the book, which overall is a good grounding but would have liked more around the non-dev functions as that is where agile is newer and harder to accomplish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a good book and runs through all the topics in lots ..., 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Software Requirements: Lean Requirements Practices for Teams, Programs, and the Enterprise (Agile Software Development) (Hardcover)
This is a good book and runs through all the topics in lots of detail. It backs up the SAFe methodology and covers lots of areas. Now i have read this it will be one of those reference books that I will check back on to look up specific items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on agile at scale, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Software Requirements: Lean Requirements Practices for Teams, Programs, and the Enterprise (Agile Software Development) (Hardcover)
Great book on agile at scale. Practical examples rather than just the theory you see in other texts. A really good user guide for agile development at scale.

Would suggest they change the title of the book as it is confusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews