Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING
I am currently learning web design and this is my first book. I have read 83 paqges in one day and love it so far...It is fantastic.
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by Jamie Hallam

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get to the crux of the matter...
"Designing with web standards" follows very honourable principles and encourages the web design community to embrace standards and follow them, in the hope that we can all use any browser on any platform we like and use any web site perfectly - including anyone with special needs or a disability.

I am all in favour of the principles, but I was disappointed that...
Published on 12 Jan 2010 by O. Kinne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get to the crux of the matter..., 12 Jan 2010
By 
O. Kinne "Oliver Kinne" (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
"Designing with web standards" follows very honourable principles and encourages the web design community to embrace standards and follow them, in the hope that we can all use any browser on any platform we like and use any web site perfectly - including anyone with special needs or a disability.

I am all in favour of the principles, but I was disappointed that half of the book is spent explaining how wonderful standards are and how it will make everyone's life easier. I was hoping to seem some clear advice on what to do - and how - and not spend most of my time listening to a very convincing and successful evangelist.

The writing is very good and I do like the style. It will certainly convince a lot of people to follow web standards and give everyone, technical or not, enough ammunition to convince clients or the boardroom to invest time and money in using web standards.

If more emphasis was put on concrete advice on how to reach web design "nirvana" and less pages spent on listing all the advantages, I would give this book the full five star rating. As it is, you have to skim read a large chunk of the book before you get to the juicy details - and hence only three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I am currently learning web design and this is my first book. I have read 83 paqges in one day and love it so far...It is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 11 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is absolutely a must have if you are a web developer. No matter if you are designer or programmer or both, you really need to learn the basics about standards and this book really explains and makes it easy to understand and learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, entertaining read, but mostly outlines general principles that you're probably aware of., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is a very influential book in the history of web development, and is something of a classic of the fledgeling genre; Zeldman writes in an enthusiastic, engaging style which makes it a pleasure to read, something that cannot be said of the majority of computer books.

That said, I'm not sure that it is the must-read text that it once was, for two main reasons: (a) we are now lucky enough to live in an era where the current versions of all the major browsers are highly standards compliant, and as such doing anything other than coding websites according to the common standards sounds like a hopelessly quaint idea, and (b) if you take an active interest in web development - if you read blogs, listen to podcasts and follow leading developers on Twitter - you'll probably have assimilated many of the ideas presented here through osmosis.

I've very much enjoyed reading it, but it's mostly served to reinforce beliefs about the right way of building websites that I already had. Probably the person who will gain most from reading this is someone who is coming to web development for the first time, or someone who used to have a GeoCities site in the nineties and wants to bring their skills up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome for beginners, very good for those more seasoned, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Ines Teles (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Pros:
- You come away with an excellent understanding of web standards in every context where they can be applied as well as the reasons for their importance - this book does exactly what it promises, teaches you about designing with web standards.
- Great chapters on CSS & browser bugs, understanding DOCTYPEs, how to use divs and classes the *right* way & introduction to typography.
- Also includes some good initial discussion of HTML5 & CSS3.

Cons:
- The first 5-6 chapters are really quite basic - even historical - and require only light skimming (or the motivation to plough through!).

NOTE: Although some chapters are quite in-depth and all chapters contain links for further reading, if you are looking for deep knowledge in a particular subject other than web standards (CSS, HTML5, typography, fluid design), you will probably be better off with a book specialized in that subject.

------------

Full review:

Zeldman is excellent at providing a thorough understanding of web standards and arming us with a myriad of reasons on why they're important. For example, it's often difficult for designers to avoid filling their XHTML with divs and classes as presentational hooks rather than using them semantically (with relevance to the content of the actual webpage). Although most people know the broad strokes of 'divitis' and 'classitis' (overuse of divs and classes), Zeldman helps the the reader get under the hood of the problem and really understand what the better alternatives are.

There are a couple of *very* useful chapters on CSS basics & (principally IE6) browser bugs, laying things out in such a structured form that even those who have been using CSS for a while now are likely to benefit from it as a form of reorganizing the ideas in their minds. There is also a standards-driven discussion of currently usable CSS3 & HTML5 which proved interesting, though for deeper information on the CSS3 as it stands in late 2009, I suggest Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter).

Other interesting chapters include those on typography (again, this is complemented by a very clear discussion of font size in fluid designs by Ethan Marcotte's chapter in Handcrafted CSS: More Bulletproof Web Design (Voices That Matter)), accessibility and an introduction to DOM, all nicely capped off with a practical application in a redesign of the Zeldman website.

The only downside of this book is that I found the first 5 or 6 chapters really difficult to get through as they are very historic. Although I understand the benefits of starting the reader off with some background information, I definitely think it drags on for too long here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars eye opener, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
A great book indeed! If you're beginning to work in the web, Zeldman will show you the way.

PS: the package didn't arrived 100% perfect, that's why I rated it 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Designing with Web Standards (Third Edition), 3 Dec 2009
By 
Richard Line (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Having previously purchased the Second Edition and enjoyed it immensely, I was glad to see the Third Edition published. Once again I found this book enjoyable and easy to read. It was also nice to see quite a few updates from the previous edition including references to Internet Explorer 8 and Firefox 3.5.

The book is split in 2 with the first half talking about websites in general and pointing out the good and bad in them. The second half explains to the reader how to code to web standards, using XHTML and CSS, and does this expertly with numerous examples, tutorials and external references.

This is an easy but enjoyable read if you are remotely familiar with HTML.

I thoroughly recommend it. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious history lesson arrogantly presented with irksome attempts at humour, 6 April 2012
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Some useful technical content can be extracted from the later half of the book, but, to me the style is irritating, long winded and presented at oddly varying levels of background understanding and detail.
The majority of the content is a history of web standards - if that's what your after this may be a valuable book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter)
Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) by Ethan Marcotte (Paperback - 15 Oct 2009)
36.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews