Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Starting Point
This is a MUST for any novice purchasing Photoshop as it gives you a great introduction of what can be achieved with this software. Having downloaded before and after images from the CD to accompany each lesson, the book takes you step by step through each control until you complete the assignment. However, as a complete novice I took a lot longer to complete the...
Published on 25 Nov 2009 by Mrs. Natalie J. Handleigh

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the prior in this series ...
While a good number of the new CS4 capabilities are explored, many of the exercises were difficult to complete. In some cases the instructions were just plain wrong. In others the setting of the options necessary for the example to work were missing.
Published on 10 Feb 2009 by J. Bloom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Starting Point, 25 Nov 2009
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
This is a MUST for any novice purchasing Photoshop as it gives you a great introduction of what can be achieved with this software. Having downloaded before and after images from the CD to accompany each lesson, the book takes you step by step through each control until you complete the assignment. However, as a complete novice I took a lot longer to complete the lessons than the book actually suggests, although with time I am sure I will improve. The lessons are clear, practical and give a excellent introduction to the limitless applications of Photoshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amateur to pro in no time!, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. E. A. Thompson "Edhead" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I work in marketing and had dabbled with most of the CS4 suite, however i never felt that i was utilising much of the potential and was considering working towards becoming a professional designer.

this work books have opend my eyes to some of the possibilities of the software and have increased my confidence and ability to the point where i am now teaching others in the office.

i throughly recomend these books as a stepping stone into design or as a way of improving your understanding and utilisiation of the software.

from these you can then progress to the 'Real world' books from Adobe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fair tutorials, 5 July 2009
By 
S. Duncan "SED" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I have not yet completed all the tutorials in the book, but have done about half. I have only played around with Photoshop before and this book does provide a loose start, covering topics and techniques that you would not find by accident. However, as Photoshop is such a huge application, this can only brush the surface and will still leave the beginner wondering how to remember all the features it covers. As these sort of books go, it's not all all bad. It's a start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, a real asset!, 28 Feb 2009
By 
Richard D300 (Denbighshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
What a fantastic book. I have recently completed a college course in advanced digital image manipulation techniques and learned loads about the power of Photoshop, albeit via CS2. That said, this book complements that course and for any beginner who yearns to become savvy in Photoshop, then this is the one to buy. No, not advanced, but it covers all the basic techniques and gives a worthwhile understanding of Photoshop CS4. Although the "Classroom in a book" series are not cheap to buy, I also bought "Photoshop Lightroom CS2 Classroom in a book" and was similarly impressed (see my review). Why pay an enormous amount of money for Adobe software and then skimp on learning how to get the best out of it? A learners book and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 31 Oct 2010
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Easy to follow,with each chapter taking you through a different set of exercises. Tells you how long each chapter should take which is useful. Lots of illustrations and clear explanations - I already had worked with photoshop quite a lot, but still find the book really useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book, 6 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
This is a good text which introduces the reader to all the basics of Photoshop CS4. Not quite the book a photographer needs but it does cover a lot of ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a book, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. D. Lowes (Darlington, Co. Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
An extensive coverage of the items available in CS4. There appears to be less coverage of working on photographs than I would find ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Intro to Photoshop, 12 April 2010
By 
Steve Johnson "Steve Johnson" (Skye, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I've had a copy of Photoshop since CS3 first came out but shied away from it thinking I didn't really need it as it was part of the Web Premium Suite and I favoured Fireworks. Having stepped my toe into Photoshop with The Digital Classroom CS4 Design Premium book, I was hooked so I dug this book off the bookshelf and delved in. It is written clearly, precisely and leads you through each of the examples really well. It is well paced and although not meant to be read from front to back, it does build up progressively and sows some neat functions which I'd never seen nor knew about!

Needless to say I am hooked and about to start the How to Cheat in Photoshop and look forward to developing my skills rapidly.

The only downside I found was it'd tell you to select blend mode blah and set x to this, y to that etc but didn't always say why nor explain the options but I guess that comes with time and playing around.

Overall a great intro with some nice tutorials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the prior in this series ..., 10 Feb 2009
By 
J. Bloom - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
While a good number of the new CS4 capabilities are explored, many of the exercises were difficult to complete. In some cases the instructions were just plain wrong. In others the setting of the options necessary for the example to work were missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Exploration into Photoshop, 7 July 2010
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
While this book covers a lot of the functionality of Photoshop i.e. getting to grips with some of the tools, menus and options available, it does not give you any great examples of how to get the most out of this powerful tool.

This book should really be an instruction guide to be provided with the CS4 package rather than any sort of deeper learning. I felt that the examples should have been much more inspirational and challenging. There are two sorts of people that use photoshop on a regular basis, digital photographers, and graphic designers (to distill the basic uses down). I felt that the examples would excite neither user, and would only impress those that had never touched CS4 or any Photoshop incarnation previously.

I felt very misled by the other reviews of this book, as I thought that it would be very comprehensive in both the tasks you undertake and bredth of learning. If you are looking for a book that provides you with great, dynamic, and interesting examples of how to use photoshop as either a digital photographer or graphic designer there are a lot of other books which will capture your attention.

I do wonder if the other reviews are by people associated with the production of the book.

A positive mark for this book is that there is a CD-Rom with photos and jpegs for each of the classroom steps. But it makes me wonder why they did not explore some more vibrant and interesting ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe))
Adobe Photoshop CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) by Adobe Creative Team (Paperback - 10 Nov 2008)
£31.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews