Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book
Well, what can I say? This just does what it says on the box and it helped me to do everything I needed to. You can become a competent user of this software through the tutorials but more importantly you can resolve individual issues using the help system. This will help many users to achieve their own results instead of resorting to paying for expensive outsourced...
Published on 30 Nov 2010 by TandA

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but check the contents page before you buy
The book is pretty good at covering basics and is fairly well written. But it does not cover gradient meshes even slightly. I highly recommend using the 'look inside' feature to check the contents pages for your required topic.

The book was also scratched and slightly damp, but still perfectly usable. Just annoying.
Published on 12 Nov 2011 by Allie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book, 30 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Well, what can I say? This just does what it says on the box and it helped me to do everything I needed to. You can become a competent user of this software through the tutorials but more importantly you can resolve individual issues using the help system. This will help many users to achieve their own results instead of resorting to paying for expensive outsourced providers. Thank you Adobe. I bought 3 products Illustrator, Dreamweaver and Photoshop Classroom in a Book. They all deliver what you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version: No CD, 1 Aug 2011
These books are perfect, they take the user clearly through various 'tutorials' that intuitively initiate the learning process. I have four books in the series now and they are all so useful. I fully recommend using these books if you want to learn to use adobe software, you can't get better than this without having a member of Adobe staff sitting right there next to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illustrator CS4, 25 May 2010
By 
T. Malcolm (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
This book is excellent for those starting out with this package. It is very detailed in its descriptions of the various tools and is supported with lots of useful tutorials. I use it as a reference book at hand. It is not a book full of good ideas as to how to do clever things with Illustrator. It is what it says "a classroom".
However, on the down side, where-O-where is the chapter on mesh??? Not a word. Why so? It detracts considerably from the usefulness of an otherwise excellent book and means I have to now buy another which covers the missing subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 23 April 2010
By 
steve b (EDINBURGH, MIDLOTHIAN, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
It's hard to keep things simple, this book along with others in the series
does that. The mac and windows O S snapshots include both platforms, and it's a step by step
walkthrough. Unless you need instructions on how to put on a hat, you should find it easy going
from one chapter to the next, increasing the depth of your grasp as you progress.
Amazon provides the best prices, remember 90% effort 10% talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amateur to designer in simple steps - CS4 work books, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. E. A. Thompson "Edhead" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I work in marketing and had dabbled with most of the CS4 suite, however i never felt that i was utilising much of the potential and was considering working towards becoming a professional designer.

this work books have opend my eyes to some of the possibilities of the software and have increased my confidence and ability to the point where i am now teaching others in the office.

i throughly recomend these books as a stepping stone into design or as a way of improving your understanding and utilisiation of the software.

from these you can then progress to the 'Real world' books from Adobe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super resource, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Ruby Ormerod (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Very useful, clear and handy resource. I use it all the time and am always dipping into it for ideas and solutions. Good for every level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AI CS4 Classroom in a book, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Good introduction to the software. I've only just begun working through it, but so far it's useful and informative. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All Good, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
Everything went well with this purchase so I would use these guys again top buy other items. I would recommend them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suitable for everyone - Beginners and Professionals, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
I have been using Adobe Illustrator for more than 2 years now, i am pretty good at it, but i still bought this book. There is always something more to learn! This book summarize the knowledge, making sure you know exactly what each tool does. I know most of the stuff as i went through it quickly the other day, but i am sure there is so much more for me to learn. Also, it's a good book to add to your collection, if you have one.

The only concern i have is that when the book arrived, it was scratched on the edges .. Like someone has been rubbing at it all along .. That's why i gave 4 stars only.

Anyway, very good product, good for educational purposes, don't doubt - get it!

ENCHO P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not bad for newbies, poor for more advanced users, 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) (Paperback)
We have this book at work (along with Indesign and photoshop). I guess this book is okay for complete newbies who haven't used illustrator before, it does cover most of the program but does leave out some areas like how to style graphs which is a extremely useful feature of illustrator.
The main problem I have with these classroom books is that far too much space is wasted where it say things like "open file blah, blah......", "save file here......"
Overall not bad if you've never used illustrator but if you're fairly familiar with it don't bother. Personally I find the visual quickstart books to be a lot better but that's just my personal opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe))
Adobe Illustrator CS4 Classroom in a Book (Classroom in a Book (Adobe)) by Adobe Creative Team (Paperback - 12 Nov 2008)
£35.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews