Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good but can be un-necessarily hard going
I'm gradually working through this book to refresh my memory of some algorithms and although I haven't finished it yet I feel I've read enough to have a good opinion of it.

Overall I'd say its detailed and has a lot of content which is nice, as is the real code examples.

Unfortunately I found many of the descriptions in the book bizarrely poor. For...
Published on 14 Feb. 2013 by C. Jack

versus
11 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very horrible layout on kindle PC reader
Good book but with a very very horrible layout on the kindle PC reader (at least on big screens). For the editors who are too lazy to properly format technical books for (the entire range of) kindle readers: please use "just like the printed book" format.
The 1 star is mainly for the horrible layout on kindle PC (otherwise it is a 4-5 stars book). I totally agree...
Published on 25 Dec. 2012 by S. Popa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good but can be un-necessarily hard going, 14 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Algorithms (Hardcover)
I'm gradually working through this book to refresh my memory of some algorithms and although I haven't finished it yet I feel I've read enough to have a good opinion of it.

Overall I'd say its detailed and has a lot of content which is nice, as is the real code examples.

Unfortunately I found many of the descriptions in the book bizarrely poor. For algorithms I already knew, many of which are not complicated to explain if proper care is taken, I paid particular attention to the explanations provided. In particular I was thinking about whether I'd have picked up the gist of the algorithm from the content.

The answer is probably yes but with far more pain than should be necessary. In some cases this was because of very poor descriptions, in others it was because the choice of examples weren't great, and in other its because of the code (variable names i, j, k, v etc). The content was all technically correct but I just thought it often made a meal of explaining things.

Anyway its definitely a good book but it definitely wasn't an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introductory for beginner. Could have been terse and easy to understand for some topics, 9 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Algorithms (Hardcover)
This book provides good introduction to about 40 most popular algorithms, good Java code example, use lots of graphs, coloured charts/graphs, easy to understand most of the times, question and answer section, exercises both in the book and online. There are more learning materials (slides, video, Java code, etc.) on the authors' website. Chapters 1.4 and 1.5 show analysis of algorithms. The focus of the book is on understanding and the ability to code algorithms. It's designed to skip maths if you choose to do so (High school math is required to understand basics). Last chapter touches topics of advanced level.

Downsides
1. The downside is that the erratum for the 2012 printing version considering its 4th edition.
2. The book is easy to understand to some extent. But on some topics, the book is a bit bloated, and doesn't make it easy to see the main points.

For example, I have to look up the internet for topic like Prim's algorithm. The link below provides explanation as to why for each step and summary at the end with three steps, which is easy to understand, and not available on the book. The video takes a few minutes to make you understand. Whereas, the book spend pages over pages that is hard to get the point for reader. The trace for each algorithm in the book should have added explanation for each step as to why to do that, so it would be easy to understand.

[...]

This is just one example the book lacks clear explanation for many algorithms.

All in all, this is an excellent introductory book (Considering no other better at the moment). For the next level (e.g. analysis and design), consider Introduction to Algorithms when you have first/second year uni level math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Algorithms (Hardcover)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Algorithms (Hardcover)
Good deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very horrible layout on kindle PC reader, 25 Dec. 2012
By 
S. Popa (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book but with a very very horrible layout on the kindle PC reader (at least on big screens). For the editors who are too lazy to properly format technical books for (the entire range of) kindle readers: please use "just like the printed book" format.
The 1 star is mainly for the horrible layout on kindle PC (otherwise it is a 4-5 stars book). I totally agree that the content of a book is the most important but in the same time I consider that a (digital) book should be properly/nicely formatted in order to be "fit for purpose"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The content of the book is great but the typesetting of the Kindle version is horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Algorithms
Algorithms by Kevin Wayne (Hardcover - 28 April 2011)
£52.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews