Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beginners Appraisal
I was looking around for weeks at different offerings for manuals on Photoshop Elements 7. I went for 2 books - but this one is by far the best. I would recommend it to anybody - its not a "manual" in the traditional sense, more of a "how to do it" with really practical examples and written in an understandable layman's non-technical speak. Another big plus for me was the...
Published on 8 May 2009 by GarryB

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop Elements 7 Guide
Not a useful book: it tells you how to do particular things, that you may or may not want to do. I'd far rather have a straight forward explanations of the main menus in Elements 7
Published 11 months ago by Mr. A. Pearce


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beginners Appraisal, 8 May 2009
By 
GarryB (Leixlip, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I was looking around for weeks at different offerings for manuals on Photoshop Elements 7. I went for 2 books - but this one is by far the best. I would recommend it to anybody - its not a "manual" in the traditional sense, more of a "how to do it" with really practical examples and written in an understandable layman's non-technical speak. Another big plus for me was the fact that all the topics show a before and after image and the quality of the printed material is such that you can actually see the difference. The other book I bought at the same time cant hold a candle to this from that perspective. Just one other thing - the chapter introductions are 'quirky' to say the least but dont let that put you off. These guys know how to write a good manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than its predecessors, 7 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I used the Elements 4 version of this book and after upgrading to Elements 7 I bought this latest version. It is just as helpful and retains the lighthearted tone whilst providing clear but detailed step by step instructions on how to use Elements 7 to achieve what is required. I find it invaluable as a reference source when photo editing and would urge anyone seeking a guide to what Elements 7 can help you do to look here first. With the input from its two authors it is even better than its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the photoshop elements 7 book for digital photographers - Kelby and Kloskowski, 21 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
My previous Photoshop purchases have been very disappointing in that they assume a previous knowledge that, in my case, doesn't exist. This book sets things out very clearly without actually treating the reader like an idiot. It concentrates on aspects of the programme which are, in the main, the ones useful to the non professional photographer and I have been delighted with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop Elements 7, 21 April 2009
By 
P. Thompson (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book is great but it does not go into the layers part of Photoshop Elements so if you want to know more about this, you need to look at a different book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and very helpful, 18 Nov 2009
By 
R. Beard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
As someone who is new to Photoshop, Elements 7 had me foxed for sometime. No amount of fiddling or twiddling with options and tools seemed particularly constructive. It quickly became apparent that taking "pot-luck" was not going to be a viable option so I invested in this extremely helpful guide. This book has shed a shining light on the mysteries Elements 7. It is written in a simple, easy to understand syle. Each short lesson on how to fulfil a particular task is stand alone, so there is no need to keep flicking back to previous chapters, and broken down into simple stages with colour pictures at every stage. A revealing and useful gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, useful step-by-step guide., 22 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I recently bought a used copy of Photoshop Elements 7 (a bargain compared to buying Elements 8 new, and 8 doesn't have many additional features over 7), and wanted a guide that would help me make the most of it. This book already had many good reviews on Amazon, and I agree. It has very useful, and relevant step-by-step instructions on each 'tip', and - also very usefully - before and after comparison photos so you can see the effect of the changes that have been applied. It's a bit overly 'chatty' in places, with a pre-amble in each chapter that seems a little pointless, but overall, I have no hesitation in recommending this book if, like me, you've had enough of trying to fathom out Adobe's own help pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining way to learn, 4 July 2009
By 
Mr. Robert W. Dack "Grandad" (Huntingdon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I found this book to be very entertaining both to read and to learn from as the use of personal examples is a helpful way to guide a beginner like myself through what at first appears to be a minefield of menus and shortcuts to try and remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent instructional book in easy read and down to earth guidance, 18 Mar 2009
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I have already purchased several books from Scott kelby and have found them to be a great help in learning. His manner is that of a friend who just answers the questions you pose with minimal "techie" stuff. OK his sense of humour is crankie but what the heck . . . . With this book he has teamed up with Matt Kloskowski, another very knowledgable and competant photographer, and between them they guide you through most (if not all) the various options available with Elements 7 in easy one step-at-a-time stages. I commend it to anyone who (like me) either can't be bothered to read through volumes of instructions to get to the item you want - or just likes the easy things in life. I guess if you have read this far you are keen to know about Elements 7 so what are you waiting for - buy it, you wont regret it. Go on - you know it makes sense. (Oh, by the way this isn't Skott Kelby using an alias!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elements 7 Scott Kelby Book, 1 May 2009
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
An excellent book and as a long time user of Photoshop Elements even I have found new and interesting tips. well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very usefull !!, 22 July 2009
By 
John Mellon (UK, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I previously had the Elements 5 book by Scott Kelby which is the reason I bought this one after upgrading to Elements 7. It carries on on the same excellent tradition with the added bonus of input by Matt Kloskowski. If you are an Elements 7 user you won't go wrong this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photoshop Elements 7 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews