Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable
I attended Joshua Porter excellent panel session, 'Social Design Strategies', at SXSW 2008 and was keen to read his book. The book does not disappoint. The title is misleading it's about more than just social networking; and this is a good thing. For example, there's some excellent stuff on how to design a good sign-up process and how to respond to customers on service...
Published on 27 May 2008 by B Lavender

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No return on investment
This is one of the most useless books I bought since university (12 years ago).

I simply cannot understand WHO would benefit from it. For sure, there is nothing wrong, it is not outdated with regard to the facts. But it is simply non revealing. There is nothing in this book that a serious internet professional does not already know about. You would tract more...
Published on 17 Aug 2011 by DrGren


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 27 May 2008
By 
B Lavender "Ben Lavender" (Ruislip, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I attended Joshua Porter excellent panel session, 'Social Design Strategies', at SXSW 2008 and was keen to read his book. The book does not disappoint. The title is misleading it's about more than just social networking; and this is a good thing. For example, there's some excellent stuff on how to design a good sign-up process and how to respond to customers on service failures. Joshua details a hierachy covering different levels of customer engagement and how to move them up the value chain. All in all brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive book to building your next Web 2.0 site, 21 April 2010
By 
jakeone (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
As a web developer, I love this book. I wouldn't have believed it possible to cram so much useful information into 180-ish pages but the author does an amazing job. I approached the book having built many rather boring-looking sites and always knew they weren't quite right but couldn't put my finger on it - this book put that right.

The book is basically a step-by-step guide to designing websites that meet the needs and expectations of today's surfer - rather than the surfers of the '90s (which my sites were guilty of). Just take a look at the Contents page. The author walks you through the "Usage Lifecycle" - users start off unaware of your site, then they become interested, then they're first-time users, then regular users and finally they become passionate users - and shows you, step-by-step, how to design for each phase. The author tells you the "best practice" for each stage, what works, what will make users abandon a stage (and how to design to avoid this), what will kill your site.

I have one observation - the final chapter, "Funnel Analysis" is pretty boring - not at all like the rest of the book - but this is probably my own natural aversion to anything involving testing, statistics or anything analytical!

If you are a web developer I recommend you get this book to ensure you are building professional sites that work. If you're thinking of getting someone else to build you a site, you also need to get this book to make sure the developer is designing to best principles and that there is an excellent reason behind every design choice you make.

My only criticism of the book? I wish the author would stop telling my competitors these secrets ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about social media, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
It is surprisingly difficult to find smart and useful books about social media. Most books may be 500 pages long and have a catchy title but yet they don't really offer anything of value to anyone who already knows the basic things about social media. They usually don't go much further than to cover the basics such as Facebook, Twitter or networking. Also they often focus on examples and ideas that mostly suit big companies or what these companies have already done.

Social media is so much more than a few particular apps or platforms and especially when trying to research, invent and adapt in this area, I find this was one of the few books that was helpful to me. It's not a long book but it's useful, clear and to the point. So much better than 500 useless pages.

I learned new things and new ways to look at things from this book and found its approach easy to understand. I used this as a reference and source material for my thesis. This book won't fulfill all your needs about social media and social web design but will give you some good ideas that you can put to use, even in a smaller company website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very engaging read, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Anna Botsvine (The Hague, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Great model of the Usage Lifecycle which covers different steps of user engagement. This book is full of very good examples.
I also really like the part about Funnel Analysis. Very practical and good way to analyse the problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Web design expertise for non-designers too, 14 Feb 2010
This review is from: Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book showing just how your website should be designed. Even if you are not a web designer, this book will help. It provides clear, practical and up-to-date guidance on what your website should look like if it is to take advantage of the social web. It is written in an easy-to-understand style and has plenty of useful pictures to help explain what you need to think about for your website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Guide to Building a Successful Social Website, 13 July 2009
By 
A. Naisbitt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book is almost like a blueprint for designing and building a successful 2.0 website. It takes you through the stages of user adoption and the boxes you have to tick to build a community of passionate regular users through to design principles you should use to maximise the number of people trying, adopting and hyping up your site.

If you're designing a social website or building an online community, the sooner you get this book the better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a design book, 14 Feb 2009
By 
David Hamill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
If you want to learn how to create relationships with your users rather than have them visit and leave, then read this book. It's not just a design book and it's not just a social media book.

It is well written and you can easily skip to the bits that concern you. Porter explains social media in a way that few people manage to do as simply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good point to start, 3 Feb 2009
By 
B. Janssens (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
The book is an excellent starter to get insight into building websites for ongoing participation. One possible point of improvement: the book focuses on the what-to-do -aspect where I would have liked more focus on how to apply these insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No return on investment, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is one of the most useless books I bought since university (12 years ago).

I simply cannot understand WHO would benefit from it. For sure, there is nothing wrong, it is not outdated with regard to the facts. But it is simply non revealing. There is nothing in this book that a serious internet professional does not already know about. You would tract more benefit listening to my wife explaining the workings of the circle of friends of Winnie the Pooh to my 3, 5 and 7 year old boys than reading this book.

I am sorry. A complete waste of money and a big disappointment.

And on top of it... It is truly DULL. Not one wit or passage with humour. Crisp and boring.

Could fit first year undergraduate of digital marketing or information technology just for the sake of it. But those kids will probably already be a lot more familiar with the Social Web than Mr. Porter is.

This book goes into the the bottom shelf of the library, together with some "Teach yourself Javascript 1.1" and "Building your Business with Google for Dummies". Never to be consulted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter)
Designing for the Social Web (Voices That Matter) by Joshua Porter (Paperback - 24 April 2008)
Used & New from: 0.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews