Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect Introduction for beginnners
This book makes an excellent job of acquainting a new user with Flash cs3. With the help of the downloadable content, you work through the book step-by-step until you've made a fully functioning flash website that implements a broad range of multimedia i.e forms, imported video, sounds, dynamic lettering etc.
As someone who is extremely computer literate but somewhat...
Published on 14 Aug 2007 by G. Harwood

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many errors and presumptions
I had the first book from David Morris "Creating a web site in Flash 8" I found the book to have errors, some parts worked others did not do what they were supposed to do. I thought the second book may be different, it is just a very slightly different take on the first book. There are errors that throw you off, presumptions and many mistakes on the short cuts for Mac...
Published on 11 Dec 2007 by Mark Lawrence


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many errors and presumptions, 11 Dec 2007
By 
Mark Lawrence (, London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creating a Web Site with Flash CS3 Professional:Visual QuickProject Guide (Paperback)
I had the first book from David Morris "Creating a web site in Flash 8" I found the book to have errors, some parts worked others did not do what they were supposed to do. I thought the second book may be different, it is just a very slightly different take on the first book. There are errors that throw you off, presumptions and many mistakes on the short cuts for Mac computers ( I think by the screen shots that he uses a PC). I would recommend Flash CS3 Professional Hands on Training by Todd Perkins. This has clear and precise instructions on how to get to grips with Flash, which, is a very complex application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect Introduction for beginnners, 14 Aug 2007
By 
G. Harwood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creating a Web Site with Flash CS3 Professional:Visual QuickProject Guide (Paperback)
This book makes an excellent job of acquainting a new user with Flash cs3. With the help of the downloadable content, you work through the book step-by-step until you've made a fully functioning flash website that implements a broad range of multimedia i.e forms, imported video, sounds, dynamic lettering etc.
As someone who is extremely computer literate but somewhat ignorant of web design software, working through this book allowed me to physically see the effects that each instruction was having - giving me much scope to play around with things and thus allowing me a deeper insight into the workings of Flash than through a dry reference-type book.
This is NOT a reference book, and isn't likely to be of interest to anybody who has used Flash before - but to the beginner, it's the perfect introduction - 90% practical and 10% theory (and very cheap).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless intro to Flash CS3 Pro, 13 April 2008
This review is from: Creating a Web Site with Flash CS3 Professional:Visual QuickProject Guide (Paperback)
This book suffers from a very misleading title. It does not show you how to use the new actionscript 3 wich would be the point for a quickstart with Flash CS3 Pro, since that is the big new thing w CS3. Instead it is obviously a re-hash of an old book showing actionscript 2 wich is for Flash 8 or older. Why use CS3 Pro at all for oldstyle S2? Might as well stay in using Flash 8 then. A complete waste of money if you want to learn CS3. Very disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time - buy the QuickStart guide instead, 9 Nov 2007
By 
F. Martin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creating a Web Site with Flash CS3 Professional:Visual QuickProject Guide (Paperback)
I thought that reading this book would provide a good introduction to Flash but I found it pretty much a waste of time. You cannot learn very much from a book like this because you really need proper detailed explanations of the features and concepts involved, which only a more detailed reference style book can provide. I gave up with the book half way through and bought the Visual QuickStart Guide from the same publisher which I am finding to be excellent. I had no experience of Flash before buying these books - the QuickStart guide is easy to follow and perfectly suited to a novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to a wide range of facilities but you need to be patient!, 4 Dec 2007
By 
Steve Johnson "Steve Johnson" (Skye, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating a Web Site with Flash CS3 Professional:Visual QuickProject Guide (Paperback)
This is a great book to give you a flavour of what Flash can do for you and you can learn from it but not enough to go and do similar things yourself! It took me around 5 attempts to get right through the books instructions as the slightest wayward keystroke means you get off track and can never get back! Save it after each successful bit of progress (I ended up with about 20 files eg page50, page65 etc!). Take your time and it does make sense and you'll be amazed at what Flash can do and what a remarkably cheap book can show!

All in all a great way of seeing a wide range of Flash abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars creating a website in flash, 24 Sep 2009
By 
S. Todd "sitodd" (Barnsley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creating a Web Site with Flash CS3 Professional:Visual QuickProject Guide (Paperback)
Just received this book and after looking through a few other books on the subject of website production have found this to be one of the best designed and layed out instruction books.
There are no leeps in the instructions to leave the uninitiated confused, and it ties neatly in with web side downloads.

I would recommend this book to anyone just starting out producing a web page. I even managed to use it effectively with earlier versions of flash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good clean book., 30 Dec 2009
By 
P. Garlick (Port Talbot, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creating a Web Site with Flash CS3 Professional:Visual QuickProject Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book for when I was in University two years ago as it was recommended to me by my Flash Lecturer.

It gives clean and consise information on how to set up Flash CS3 and get your first website working. This was all I really needed to build up my own Flash creations and this book was a good reference.

It is a great book for beginners. 4*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a great book, 7 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Creating a Web Site with Flash CS3 Professional:Visual QuickProject Guide (Paperback)
It is a very good book and helped me so much it teaches you how to build a website from the begging even if you don't have any previous experience with flash you can use this book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creating a Web Site with Flash CS3 Professional:Visual QuickProject Guide
£9.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews