Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Logic Pro 8 bible.
If you want to get to grips with using Logic Pro 8 than this is the book for you. Right from the word go David Nahmani gets you making music and this hands on approach is used throughout the book. The book is clear and concise from beginning to end. The lessons are thorough without a step missed out and given to you in bite sized pieces so you never feel lost or...
Published on 4 May 2008 by Mr. D. Ward

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective Stock from Amazon
I have just opened the accompanying DVD with this book. This was a replacement for my original order, from Amazon, as the first copy they sent me had a defective DVD Rom. The replacement copy they sent me also has a defective DVD ROM. This is appalling customer service. I am astounded that Amamzon have replaced a defective product with another defective product...
Published on 26 Sep 2010 by Gary


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Logic Pro 8 bible., 4 May 2008
By 
Mr. D. Ward "mad mac" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8: Creating and Producing Professional Music (Paperback)
If you want to get to grips with using Logic Pro 8 than this is the book for you. Right from the word go David Nahmani gets you making music and this hands on approach is used throughout the book. The book is clear and concise from beginning to end. The lessons are thorough without a step missed out and given to you in bite sized pieces so you never feel lost or overwhelmed. The numerous screen shots also act as a further guide to help you along. At the end of every of every chapter is a lesson review, a set of questions and answers, that nicely summarizes the key points of the lesson. I also liked the section on trouble shooting and the inclusion of a glossary of terms and the summary of keyboard shortcuts. This is a book you'll want to keep because once you been through the lessons it will make a valuable reference book to dip into again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Logic Pro 8 first timer, 30 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8: Creating and Producing Professional Music (Paperback)
As they say in Dragon's Den, "..let me tell you where I am". My experience - I am new to both Apple and Logic 8, and invested in both as technology was now able to cover my lack of formal music training.
After a months of 'playing' it was clear that the logic Pro 8 manual which comes with the package is well written, but does not offer up any projects or walkthroughs for you. This book does just that.

I thought that I was using maybe 25% of Logic's capabilities starting "raw" and self taught, but having only gone through 3 lessons so far on this book, I am surprised at what I did not know, even on basic inputs.

The DVD is structured with lessons that are logic projects and a few other artifacts to really hold your hand through every keystroke. Only on two occasions was I confused at what was being asked of me, which was partly due to my wireless keyboard not having all the keys that a full one does.

Certainly after lesson 3, you already feel you have made some significant progress and already understand editing audio, basic mixing, song construct and multi takes etc.

I will aim to update this when I am through all 12 lessons, but given this is probably about 16 hours equivalent of classroom quality training, I would not hesitate to recommend to new users like myself. The book forms part of Apple's Pro training programme and is classified 'Beginner/Intermediate'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE LOGIC, THEN BUY THIS BOOK!, 29 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8: Creating and Producing Professional Music (Paperback)
A fantastic training book ideal for anyone new to Logic or looking to expand their production skills,, a very easy read with screenshots, the lessons are pretty in depth and cover Recording Audio, Mixing, Programming and Editing MIDI and loads more!

once finished this book, i will be moving to book two 'Logic 8 beyond the basics.

cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 20 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8: Creating and Producing Professional Music (Paperback)
Open this book before you open up Logic on your Mac. You will not regret it. It is step by step and simply and logically (no pun intended) laid out. If you want to get down to making music as quickly as possible this book allows you to do so, without assuming you have much previous knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Apple Logic Pro 8 Traing Series - Book 1, 12 Feb 2010
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8: Creating and Producing Professional Music (Paperback)
The first book in this series of two on Logic Pro 8 is excellent. It takes you through the stages of music production with practical excercises so that you avoid the difficulty of having to know what function you want to use before you can look it up in the Ref Manual. For me, it was pitched at just the right level and I learnt a great deal by working through it. It also gives tips about the music production, not just the technicalities of using Logic. It's split into chapters, so, for example, if you want to know how to record an audio track and then edit an audio track, say tidy up a vocal,you just read those two chapters which take you right through the process. Similar chapters on mixing, drum machine programming, etc.

I strongly recommend this as a way into starting to learn thoroughly how to use Logic, both musically and technically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morning Class, i'll be teaching you what you need to know on Logic 8, 25 Nov 2009
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8: Creating and Producing Professional Music (Paperback)
The word helpful isn't a word i'd use for this book, because it's way beyond that.

It isn't a learning companion to a classroom, it IS your classroom. This book will teach you how to use pretty much all the tools in Logic Pro 8 (and express), but the more advanced editing stuff is in the companion book 'Beyond the Basics' but Beyond the Basics won't help you until you're already well versed in everything from this book and using it to practice on your own music, or whatever you're planning on using it for.

Don't waste time and money on very expensive so called 'Logic 101 music production courses', they teach you the same stuff.

This is apple certified; it will get you through the apple logic 101 exam if that's what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Logic Companion, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. C. Contino "Tino" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8: Creating and Producing Professional Music (Paperback)
I am new to Logic Express, but have used Final Cut Pro extensively, and used the Apple Training series book to learn that, and I am happy to confirm that the quality is the same, and just as fun, as its a real 'Hands On' approach to teaching.
The programme is so big and complicated you would be lost without this book.
A must buy for any beginner, or anyone who wants to learn how to properly use all the features in Logic Pro and Express.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive guide, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8: Creating and Producing Professional Music (Paperback)
well explained walkthrough style presentation only down is that screen grabs are presented rather in dark light. Uswe it with Logic software open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book for the logic user, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8: Creating and Producing Professional Music (Paperback)
This is a must have reference book for anyone using the Logic Pro 8 software (and its subsequent updates). It is clear, very easy to understand and allows you to make best use of your Logic sequencing software that can be a little confusing at times. The quick reference to a book section I find preferable to skipping back and forth with the on line help section contained within the software. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just want we needed !, 7 Jun 2009
By 
V. M. Minto "Minnie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8: Creating and Producing Professional Music (Paperback)
I bought this book for my Partner Niklas who has just published his songs on myspace ! We upgraded the software from Garage Band to Logic Pro and want a different in more musical options and ways of workings - thank you and life is sweet with our musical vibes around the house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews