Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-have if you do OpenGL ES 2.0, 8 Sep 2012
If you plan on doing OpenGL ES 2.0 at all, this is a must have.

It is not very beginner friendly (if you have no experience with OpenGL) but takes you through all the different parts of OpenGL ES 2.0 and does so in a fairly platform agnostic manner (examples are written in C).

Probably not as much a book you would read from beginning to end as a reference to turn to for in-depth explanation of a feature or technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you'll need to know to get started., 25 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: OpenGL ES 2.0 Programming Guide (Paperback)
As pointed out in previous reviews, openGL ES 2.0 is very different to previous versions. So be sure exactly what it is you need to know before purchasing. The book does provide a complete implementation of the fixed pipeline however, and sourcecode can be downloaded. Interestingly a time limited online version of the book is available via a code on the inside cover. While I've not used it yet I can see it coming in handy at some point.

A basic knowledge of openGL and C was enough to make the book perfectly readable for me, I read most of it before sitting down at the computer with it for the first time.

The book also provides a good reference guide, information on EGL and some information on iPhone development. I can see the tables of the built in functions coming in very handy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start for programming in ES 2.0, 23 Aug 2010
This review is from: OpenGL ES 2.0 Programming Guide (Paperback)
This is written by industry leading GL experts, so the information provided is spot on, and is very helpful for those who are new to programming in ES 2.0. It is more targeted towards those who have experience with GL and 3d graphics previously, but isn't so technical that it can't reasonably be followed by those starting out, but it will take a lot of cross reference and learn-as-you-go. I got this book as I was thrown into a project porting GL 1.x to ES 2.0 and this book has proven invaluable as an educational and technical info source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most useful book for iOS/Android developers, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OpenGL ES 2.0 Programming Guide (Paperback)
I got this book a while back when I was first getting in to Android and iOS development. It is full of practical examples and code snippets that I still return to now when needing to check things. Definitely a useful book for anyone wanting to create GLES2 games for any platform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, clear and concise., 9 Jun 2011
This review is from: OpenGL ES 2.0 Programming Guide (Paperback)
A great book which explains the principles (and some details) of using OpenGL upon embedded devices.
The book is nicely paced and covers some basic graphics concepts before moving onto details of vertex space, drawing buffers, textures and more. Each chapter contains background context, moves into OpenGL implementation, and covers API reference in good detail.
There is some iOS-specific code, but it not a distraction. I have used the book to create 3D for an Android software, and it was extremely valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware: Its about OpenGL ES 2.0 Not about version 1.x, 25 Dec 2009
By 
Tjl Wolterink (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OpenGL ES 2.0 Programming Guide (Paperback)
I started reading the book and it's a good book however before you buy this book there are some things you need to know:

This book is by no means an introduction to opengl or opengl es. It is mainly focused on opengl 2.0 and the programmable pipeline for shaders etc that it provides.
Therefore this book is no good if you're knew to opengl or want to learn about the fixed function pipeline that opengl es 1.0 and 1.1 provide.
Opengl 2.0 is not backwards compatible to opengl 1.1.

The book make some assumptions on the readers. You should be provicient in graphics programming and off course programming in general. Apart from that it, sort of, assumes you already have some knowledge about opengl.

So only buy this book if you really want to know more about 2.0 and already know about opengl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know about OGL ES 2.0, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OpenGL ES 2.0 Programming Guide (Paperback)
A great book, from the ground up. Covers nearly all aspects of ES 2.0 in an easy-to-read fashion, without skipping over anything important.

All code is written on and for Windows pc's although all of it compiles on ES 2.0 emulators.

Did not enjoy the renderMonkey examples that much, but they are just your average frag / vert shaders after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OpenGL ES 2.0 Programming Guide
OpenGL ES 2.0 Programming Guide by Dave Shreiner (Paperback - 24 July 2008)
28.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews