Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take you from start to end of your career, 27 Oct. 2010
By 
Christopher Harries (Medway, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Practice of System and Network Administration (Paperback)
I cannot fault this book at all and it is perfect for anyone though I especially recommend it for anyone just starting out in IT, graduates et al. That being said however, anyone can pick this book up and learn very easy to read information what ever stage of their career they are, whether you have recently been promoted, or are starting in a new field of IT, their is something for every one. This book is all about the theory and this is often missing from a lot systems and network administrators. This won't tell you what commands to type at what time, but it give you a solid background of information that is just as vital and the information you will learn will help you build and maintain networks that stand to the test of time. If you are working in IT, buy this book; no arguments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The review from a recently graduated SA, 18 July 2011
This review is from: The Practice of System and Network Administration (Paperback)
So far I've thoroughly enjoyed the book. I'm a recent bachelor's degree graduate in systems administration and I wanted to find something new to study my field from and so far I've learned a great deal, including sane prcatices and what to do and what not to.

So far I only have about a year's worth of work experience from my current job, but for what's it worth, I do recommend this book to anyone wanting to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read for system administrators, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice of System and Network Administration (Paperback)
This book is essential reading for any System Administrator or Infrastructure Architect. It won't tell you what buttons to click or what to type at a command prompt, but it does discuss the thought processes and approaches required to designing and implementing IT systems. It is the closest to a book on infrastructure design patterns I have come across.

The writing style is easy to read and there are numerous anecdotes by the authors that bring their real world experiences to the topic being discussed.

I especially like the chapter structure that details the basics required to implement a solution, with a further section entitled "the icing" which takes the solution further.

If you have any interest or responsibility in systems administration, you need this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 18 May 2008
This review is from: The Practice of System and Network Administration (Paperback)
I wanted to improve my knowledge reading just some of the chapters... Once I started reading it I couldn't skip any word.

If you are beginner interested in networking - buy it. If you are senior IT networking specialist - buy it!

Money invested in this book will pay you back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imprescindible, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice of System and Network Administration (Paperback)
The book gives you solid fundaments to apply to system administration. It doesn't cover any specifics, so it won't help with little problems, but will give you great guidelines to design great systems and their maintenance process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery, great condition, 10 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice of System and Network Administration (Paperback)
The book was delivered before the ETD, it was in great condition and will be useful help in our work. If you are on your way to becoming a sysadmin this is a must have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading for a system administrator, 15 Dec. 2011
By 
A. P. Reyes (Zaragoza, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Practice of System and Network Administration (Paperback)
Good reading for a system administrator.
It can help you to manage lots of situations of real sysadmin life with several examples and alternatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice of System and Network Administration (Paperback)
Thank you great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Practice of System and Network Administration
The Practice of System and Network Administration by Strata R. Chalup (Paperback - 5 July 2007)
£29.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews