Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a brilliant introduction to patterns regardless of which language you program in!, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read a few Ruby books and this one has to be my favourite!

If you buy any book on patterns, in any language, you will definately be doing yourself a favour and teaching yourself a transferable skill. However, it's more of a "transferable skill" if you are able to:

a) understand; and
b) remember

the code in the first place!

The consiceness of Ruby and easy-to-read style of the author allow you to do both.

Russ doesn't just spoon feed you pattern after pattern. Instead, he presents a series of problems, in which he builds an initial program, and refactors toward the end solution/pattern.

What I found especially encouraging along the way is that Russ's ability to point out the use of patterns within the Ruby Language itself and other libraries used. Russ doesn't tell you to boast of his mysteriously aquired knowledge. He admits that his knowledge is the result of rummaging through the source and he encourages/inpires you to do the same.

The book covers 14 of the patterns covered by GoF's book however after reading this book you shouldn't have a problem understanding patterns on resources such as Wikipedia or using them to derive a Ruby version if needed.

The chapters on DSL's and Metaprogramming are brilliant and will make you really think about what you've learnt in the previous chapters. These chapters alone teach you how to transform Ruby(or <insert meta-programming-langage>) into a powerful tool.

You come away from this book a better programmer ready to appreciate and understand libraries like Rails, Docker, Vagrant, Puppet, even JQuery etc down to the file layout. Better still it if you have anything in mind, it puts you in a position to start your own!

To get begin your knowledge of patterns with any other book would be your first mistake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Design Patterns without Java (long overdue)!, 11 Dec 2009
By 
SimonT "Simon" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby) (Hardcover)
Firstly, I'd never used Ruby before I read this book but I am reasonably experienced in Python and Perl. Having picked up this book from the work library and browsed it, I was quickly hooked. Most books on design patterns that I'd come across were aimed at Java (yuck!) programmers, this was the first I'd found that described design patterns for a dynamic language. The author seems to have found an unmet need in the programming books market with this one. Any Perl or Python programmer who understands the basics of OO should have no problem with the content here, the examples are very clear and the explanations are excellent. Using this book and Google searches the patterns described can easily be translated into either Perl or Python. My only quibble, and it's a very minor one, is that although UML is used throughout, there is no brief overview of it. As he writes so well, maybe he could have even made UML seem interesting! Anyway, I really think this book is well worth the price, I've now got my copy and have even begun to dabble in some Ruby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Depth and Clarity, 15 July 2008
By 
G. Gilmour (Belfast N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby) (Hardcover)
This book has three goals. To introduce Design Patterns, introduce Ruby and explain how the latter simplifies the former. That it manages to do so in 330 pages, without over-simplifying or stresing one goal at the expense of another, is an amazing achievement. Highly recommended to anyone interested in Design Patterns, regardless of their current language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best programming book I have ever read, 10 Feb 2008
This review is from: Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby) (Hardcover)
I bought this book seeking to understand more about Design Patterns and general Ruby programming, having only dabbled in ruby through Ruby on Rails. This book is very easy to read, the examples are simple enough to be easily followed when not at a computer but also sophisticated and useful to really play around with and learn from the code.

The style of the writing is very easy to follow and the author explains the concepts well with real world examples. I really liked how he looked at a variety of uses of the design patterns he presents.

I cannot recommend this book enough, it is simply the most well written and informative programming book i have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I see everyone else gave 5 stars..., 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby) (Hardcover)
...and this book really is worth 5 stars.

I've previously worked using C# and Perl, dabbled in Haskell, and lately had been making a real effort to learn Ruby. But when you're learning a language you'll read a few books on the subject and mostly it'll be syntax and the odd concept interspersed with quite contrived and slightly useless examples, so you're left at the end with knowledge but lacking the experience you generally only get from working on the coal face.

I'd read design patterns books before, and they usually help bridge that gap which is why I was so pleased to see this book exists (especially for a dynamic language too), but it is really in a class of it's own. The examples are so relevant to real work that you could actually take them and release them as actually useful software (at least the beginnings of some). Since reading this book I've written two libraries, one of which I released as a gem that other people are downloading and using, and the other will be released as part of some desktop software soon. I feel this is a direct result of reading the book.

Every bit of praise the other reviewers has given is true. This probably is the best computing book I've read, and I'm going to email the author and thank him personally too. I hope he writes a lot more books because he's good at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a brilliantly written book!, 4 April 2008
This review is from: Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby) (Hardcover)
It manages to fully accomplish two distinct things : a) give the reader a great, working understanding of design patterns and b) introduce and showcase the Ruby programming language. Unlike the GoF design pattern book this one is written in a concise and pragmatic fashion, offering relevant, real-world examples of how and when to apply design patterns and also provides a unique perspective on how certain patterns are but a product of the constraints of current frameworks and languages . On this merit alone I would recommend this book to programmers and designers as a thesis on design patterns, regardless of their choice of programming language.

At the same time, this book is an excellent introduction to Ruby, especially for people like me who have strong OO background but no experience in dynamic languages like Ruby. The author manages to seamlessly tie-in familiar design patterns with their Ruby implementation, explaining the traditional OO way of implementing them, as well as the 'Ruby way'. This is done in a progressive way, introducing new features of the language with each pattern. By the time I finished reading this book I felt very comfortable with coding real-life applications in Ruby.

Overall, one of the best technical books to have ever adorned my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpassed all expectations, 28 April 2009
This review is from: Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby) (Hardcover)
I picked this up on a whim and expected a standard regurgitation of the GOF in Ruby. What I found was one of the most grown-up programming books I have read in years. Highly recommended for Ruby programmers, and those wanting to understand why they should consider being Ruby programmers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best patterns book for ruby developers, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby) (Hardcover)
It is very good book for new and old developers, who want to have better grasp of the design patters. It is well structured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent patterns book, 24 Mar 2011
By 
M. Regan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby) (Hardcover)
I really liked this book and found it very easy to read. I would recommend it even for people who had only a little knowledge of ruby as the examples were very good and easily understandable for a Java programmer. I also liked the way the ruby flavours of the patterns were given at the end of each pattern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If only more technical books were like this., 13 Jan 2011
By 
Dave C (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby) (Hardcover)
Russ Olsen is surely a talented programmer, and an enthusiast for Ruby, but he doesn't get carried away, showing off with patterns or language features where they are not needed, or over-engineering his examples. His programming style is pragmatic and maintainable, and he explains it all very clearly. This book was a good refresher for design patterns and taught me a lot about Ruby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby)
Design Patterns in Ruby (Addison-Wesley Professional Ruby) by Russ Olsen (Hardcover - 10 Dec 2007)
27.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews