Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Guide for Indie Filmmakers
Mr. Maschwitz' book is absolutely essential reading for any serious independent filmmaker. It covers the whole gamut of filmmaking, from pre-production to shooting to editing to visual effects, with a huge emphasis on getting the absolute best image quality for the least expense. He also covers the areas that most writers tell low-budget filmmakers to avoid - gunfire,...
Published on 22 Feb. 2007 by H. E. Bowen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT NOT WORTH THE PRICE!
This was a good book but, it was a bit of a let-down compared to the Guerilla Film Maker's Pocketbook which I bought for less than half the price of this book, and was far more useful. Basically this book promises much but, does not deliver. I only write this review because I don't want other people to make the same mistake I made by paying the full price for this book...
Published on 16 April 2011 by ZYQU


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Guide for Indie Filmmakers, 22 Feb. 2007
By 
H. E. Bowen "Sundog Industries" (Warwick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit) (Paperback)
Mr. Maschwitz' book is absolutely essential reading for any serious independent filmmaker. It covers the whole gamut of filmmaking, from pre-production to shooting to editing to visual effects, with a huge emphasis on getting the absolute best image quality for the least expense. He also covers the areas that most writers tell low-budget filmmakers to avoid - gunfire, action, explosion - the good stuff! It's clearly written and very inspirational. If you make films, buy this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!!!, 22 Jun. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit) (Paperback)
This incredibly readable book is written in a straightforward, conversational way and is always offering ideas and inspiration with a very "can do" approach to filmaking and effects. There is a DVD included with the book which contains additional chapters which you really should read when prompted and Stu Maschwitz has created a forum dedicated to the book where you get the opportunity to ask questions or swap experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 April 2007
This review is from: The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit) (Paperback)
I normally buy books with high hopes and then feel let down when they are not mind-boggingly brilliant. This is one of those few books that hasn't only not let me down but has in fact exceeded my expectations. It's absolutely brilliant.

It's written in a nice humourous tone which doesn't come across as forced and stupid and there's a wealth of extremely useful information on all aspects of filmmaking. Most topics are covered briefly, but not so briefly that you they pass you by, and not so extensive that you get bored by them. It's a film that shows you what you need to do, makes you want to do those things, makes you want to make films by any means necesary, with whatever you have at your disposal. And it makes you feel that even if you only use 10% of the techniques discussed in the book you can still make a pretty good film.

As I said, amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, hands down, 3 Jan. 2008
By 
Alfonso Gomez Jordana (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit) (Paperback)
I just bought this book, and, what can I say that others haven't... It's absolutely fantastic.

It has more than 300 pages covering all that involves making a movie- doesn't have to be an action one- at home, by using DV cameras and PC.

It has lots of key ideas, hundreds of tips and tricks... everything is covered. Although maybe for completely starters, it might be confusing as it doesn't explain the obvious basics of filmmaking (and I mean just obvious things, such as how to capture your video on PC, or how to turn on your camera :P ). Anyone who's owned a home camera can easily get on with the book.

And it also includes a DVD with his own example movies, and with many very useful and professional projects, presets and scripts for After FX, which will make you're life easier (especially adding VFX and color correcting). And also 50 or 100 pages in pdf documents, expanding the books' own ideas.

One point, though. As the book says, it is almost impossible to make a film with 0 budget. You should almost obligatorily buy After FX (7 or greater will be better) and a DV camera (200 euro at least, mayeb Canon MVX 460 will be the minimum). If you're not willing to spend that money (500-600 euro) then, my friend, many things in this book won't serve you.

When you read it, you'll understand why you need a minimum money to spend.

Jump in and become a DV Rebel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best indie film-making book I've ever read, 10 Feb. 2008
By 
Hywel Phillips (Reading, Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit) (Paperback)
Stu Maschwitz is a tech-head film-maker who quit ILM to start his own production house, The Orphanage. You can see their work in Robert Rodriguez' Sin City.

The DV Rebel is Stu passing on a decade of wringing the ultimate results from consumer digital video equipment in order to make exciting and ambitious action movies on a micro-budget. It covers all aspects of the film making process in an accessible, entertaining way, but also contains the technical asides to make you understand WHY you need things like a true 24p or 25p mode on your camera.

If you are attempting any sort of Indie film-making on a small budget, I'd throughly recommend it, even if you are shooting a slow historical romance on 16mm film. If you are trying to make an action movie with a digitial video you just HAVE to read it! Maschwitz' hard won tips will save you many hours of work and improve the end quality of your film in pretty much every aspect.

I wish I'd had the book when I shot my first short film a few years ago. I'd independently reached many of the same conculsions as Stu, but there was still a great idea, a cool insight or a funny anecdote on almost every page. It is a little heavy on After Effects in places but the principles are so well explained that you can easily apply it to any film-making workflow.

If you only buy one book on low-budget film-making, this should be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 Feb. 2007
By 
This review is from: The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for those new to filmmaking and those who are already in the industry (like myself).

Although you can tell the author is a big fan of Adobe After Effects the book isn't dominated by After Effects - there is a great chapter on Online Editing including some genuinely helpful insight into colour grading (or color correction!!).

The included DVD has some useful Excel calculators on it as well as After Effects project files, and also the authors own short movie - which he refers to in the book.

I can't recommend this book enough (I can't write decent reviews either, writing isn't one of my fortes I'm afraid :) ).

I give this book 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Dec. 2007
By 
David Packer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit) (Paperback)
I expected a book like so many others, full of theory with very little actual useful, practical information. It was the opposite, with many tips, tricks and terminology for the aspiring director.

It has a focus on After Effects for post production work but is good as a general guide to filming action movies too. It would also be pretty useful for film making in general, with sections on grading, camera work and editing

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction for amateurs, 30 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit) (Paperback)
I feel as though I should be using the video-review option Amazon provides for this book, sadly though this book focuses almost entirely on action films (as the title obviously states)... if you're looking for information about the camera to use, how to set up your shots etc this isn't the book. It is however a great resource for creative ways to stretch your budget further.

One of the things the author has provided that's particularly helpful are references to hollywood films that provide excellent examples of the stuff the book teaches.

It is difficult to make a list of pros and cons but it boils down to this: if you want a book to help you make cheap practical and special effects and optimise your budget it's great, possibly unbeatable... if you want tips on being a film-maker you may want to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT NOT WORTH THE PRICE!, 16 April 2011
This review is from: The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit) (Paperback)
This was a good book but, it was a bit of a let-down compared to the Guerilla Film Maker's Pocketbook which I bought for less than half the price of this book, and was far more useful. Basically this book promises much but, does not deliver. I only write this review because I don't want other people to make the same mistake I made by paying the full price for this book. Buy a used copy if you must but, don't pay full price for a new one unless you have money to burn. And for those of you who don't believe me...buy this book, and buy the Guerilla Film Makers Pocketbook, and compare them for yourself, and you'll realize for yourself exactly what I mean.

Best regards

ZYQU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 16 Aug. 2008
By 
A. Jakobs "SuperDre" (helmond.nl) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit) (Paperback)
I've read it completely, and must say it is a great read, it has excellent examples. I've got a lot of filmmaking books, but this one is on top of my list (on actually making lowbudget movies). The included dvd is also a great example to see what he's talking about...
I must say toward the end of the book it gets a bit tedious, but that's mostly because of using the computer..
I recommend this book to anyone, especially in combination with the book 100 Great Home Movie Techniques: A Step-by-Step Guide to the Professional Secrets of Movie Making
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The DV Rebel's Guide: An All-digital Approach to Making Killer Action Movies on the Cheap (Peachpit)
£30.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews