Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little too much tub-thumping
As an amateur website designer, who tries to stick to modern standard-based layout, I'm always keen to pick up tips from the pros. This book certainly helps with this, there are a lot of useful tricks and pointers to websites I might otherwise have missed.

Like other reviewers, I found that the earlier part of the book is overly concerned with the methods of 5...
Published on 21 Sep 2006 by Joseph A. Wright

versus
10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How frustrating........memories of the past
After the first 200 pages of negativity, I had to throw the book in the bin!

Zeldman continually patronises the developers of the past working in environments of which the browser providers had no standard (to which still continues to a greater or lesser degree today). The fact that multiple instances of a site were required to cater for the anomolies between...
Published on 1 Sep 2006 by Mr. R. Bamforth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little too much tub-thumping, 21 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
As an amateur website designer, who tries to stick to modern standard-based layout, I'm always keen to pick up tips from the pros. This book certainly helps with this, there are a lot of useful tricks and pointers to websites I might otherwise have missed.

Like other reviewers, I found that the earlier part of the book is overly concerned with the methods of 5 to 10 years ago. People buying the book will probably be sold on CSS-based layout (or at least standards as the method of choice) before they buy. So a much shorter case would suffice. There is an over-emphasis on older browsers as well: Netscape 4.x, IE/Win 4 and IE/Mac 5 get much too much space. Most people are targeting IE 6, Firefox Opera 8 and Safari today.

Overall, there is a lot to learn from this book. Be prepared to skip over the lecturing, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Standards advocacy at its best, 18 July 2009
By 
Asgeir Enersen (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book presents all the arguments you might need to convince anyone, however sceptical, that following standards is the way to go when building websites. Jeffrey Zeldman obviously knows his stuff and is one of the foremost authorities in the field.

This book also stands out from the bulk of technical books by being funny and personal, without ever compromising the integrity of the text.

Sadly, his examples of browser (mis)behaviour are hopelessly out of date. That was true even when this revised edition came out in 2006, and makes all the once usefull browser speciffic workarounds pretty useless.

An updated version is expected later this year, so you would probably be better off waiting for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Designing with Web Standards, 27 Feb 2009
By 
AJ CLARK (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I was very pleased with this book. It came promptly and was in very good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How frustrating........memories of the past, 1 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
After the first 200 pages of negativity, I had to throw the book in the bin!

Zeldman continually patronises the developers of the past working in environments of which the browser providers had no standard (to which still continues to a greater or lesser degree today). The fact that multiple instances of a site were required to cater for the anomolies between browser types and versions is true however CSS would not have saved the day then nor now.

Zeldman is right......you do need standards and from what I was picking up on his thoughts, the standards you create yourself are probably appropriate to the work you are performing. This I agree with Zeldman however blaming the development strategies of the past are not the way forward. I do understand Zeldmans frustrations from the past however blaming each developer for using multiple font tags is not really approprite for the time he refers.

I was looking for technical inspriation to the world of CSS (of which I totally agree is the way forward). Certainly, the first two hundred pages do not offer this. I could not cope reading further......hence the book went in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab78b2a0)

This product

Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter)
Designing with Web Standards (Voices That Matter) by Jeffrey Zeldman (Paperback - 6 July 2006)
29.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews