Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pragmatic, insightful. Written by a true master of the Java language.
I'd describe this book as being essential reading for any serious Java developer.
* Joshua provides a clear, concise and insightful guide that will help you better understand the intricacies of Java.
* The book of 78 recipes and helped me immensely to improve my understanding of Java.
* It's provides a no holds barred insight into some of the peculiarities...
Published on 10 Nov 2008 by Mr. Jeremy Flowers

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pragmatic and well structured.
This book contains essential tricks and systematic guidance when you're programming in Java language. Actually I will recommend this book for all Java programmers even for those experienced enough. They will have the chance to plunge deep into many weaknesses and effectively to avoid different aspects or "soft" spots of the Java programming language.
Published on 14 July 2011 by Andrew Andreev


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pragmatic, insightful. Written by a true master of the Java language., 10 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Effective Java: Second Edition (Paperback)
I'd describe this book as being essential reading for any serious Java developer.
* Joshua provides a clear, concise and insightful guide that will help you better understand the intricacies of Java.
* The book of 78 recipes and helped me immensely to improve my understanding of Java.
* It's provides a no holds barred insight into some of the peculiarities of the Java API's as it has matured over the years.
* In particular I found these chapters useful:
** Generics one of the most illuminating I've read. (Though I still find the Java syntax rather odd in places!)
** Enums and Annotations
** a good intro to the more up to date ways of doing Concurrency.
** I also found the defensive copying example most enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 30 May 2009
By 
A. Laher "wibble" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Effective Java: Second Edition (Paperback)
This book gives a comprehensive series of practical recommendations, on a broad range of topics in the Java 5 API.

It's packed with tips which make you go "aaaah I get it now", as in "I remember wondering about that and making a vaguely instinctive decision, instead of knowing precisely what to do and why".

Highly recommended for anyone who's been Java-ing for a year or 4, and wants to make better-informed design decisions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read book, 14 Nov 2009
This review is from: Effective Java: Second Edition (Paperback)
I bought both the first and second editions of this book. I feel that this book has probably made the biggest contribution to my understanding of programming in any language, although it is very much a book about the corners of Java and the pitfalls of many of its advanced features. Whilst many books give advice which fits a particular situation this book gives authoritative detail that empowers you to make a call on whether the technique fits the given situation or visa versa. This book is a must read for anyone who wants to undertake any type of code review of Java - particularly your own code!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I must read for every Java Developer, 25 Feb 2013
By 
P. Apostolopoulos "papo2000" (Athens,Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Effective Java: Second Edition (Paperback)
This is one of the top 3 books that every java developer should read during his/her career. Joshua Bloch was one of the key players for many years in the API design and implementation of the Java Language. His ideas /comments and tips towards Java development are always to the point and relevant no matter if you doing J2EE or J2SE development
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Effective Java: Second Edition (Paperback)
Large scope, useful, easy to read and understand, some code examples... I recommend it to every java programmer! Just buy it and improve your java code ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so much a Java book as a all round guide to good OO programming, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Effective Java: Second Edition (Paperback)
I picked up this book last week as a new project requires Java to be learned, I was half expecting a walk through of how to use the language in the best way but it goes much deeper than that.

It's actually changed the way I think about my coding completely and I'm sure I'll be a better programmer for having read this whether I'm working in C#, Java or any language in the future. I would reccomend to almost any working programmer who cares about their craft
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: Effective Java: Second Edition (Paperback)
Great book, one of the best java books i have read. It's very organized, with great explanations writen by an exceptional programmer.
It's a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Tips, 12 Mar 2010
By 
pcm (Epsom, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Effective Java: Second Edition (Paperback)
If you want to write quality Java code, this is a must-buy book. It is ideal for dipping into for hints on how things are done properly (and efficiently). Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: Effective Java: Second Edition (Paperback)
Great book. Contains very important details and it worth to read it and even more to understand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very intresting read, full of pragmatic advices, 5 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Effective Java: Second Edition (Paperback)
Should be next to any Java developer's keyboard. A mandatory read for serious developers, and I would say that 50% of the advices apply to any OO language, so it's worth reading event if you are using another language, like C#.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Effective Java: Second Edition
Effective Java: Second Edition by Joshua Bloch (Paperback - 8 May 2008)
£24.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews