Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! A readable expert book on Java concurrency
Concurrency is hard and boring. Unfortunately, my favoured technique of ignoring it and hoping it will go away doesn't look like it's going to bear fruit. Fortunately, Java 5.0 introduced a new bunch of concurrency utilities, that work at a higher level of abstraction than marking blocks as synchronized and fields as volatile. Unfortunately, there haven't been that many...
Published on 7 Aug 2006 by Thing with a hook

versus
0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Most confusing book
In a nutshell - it's a pain reading this book. Very poor examples and by far the worst explanation I have ever read. Going through the same sentence again and again and again, for the first few chapters at least, you feel like the author's has been just asked to fill up the pages.

If you manage to get the topics, just google it and I promise you will get better...
Published on 18 Oct 2010 by KR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on Concurency, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
This book is very good. It explains the concepts in a very clear and decisive manner. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars By far the book on (new) Java concurrency, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
Very detailed and well constructed. It is the definitive guide on the new concurrency package and ways of designing concurrency system. Personally, I think the new concurrency in Java is over the top and quite overwhelming but this book does it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any java programmer, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Andrew Gustafson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For too long a lot of developers believed that concurrency was an area which only an expert could understand. This book provides a perfectly brief and yet comprehensive guide to building safe and performant multi-threaded applications in java. I would recommend that all java programmers read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Java books out there!, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
I found this book to be a very interesting read. It covers the threading/concurrency concepts quite in detail (& with real life analogies some times). I found the writing to be easy & engaging at the same time.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to learn about Java concurrency APIs and understand general threading/concurrency concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable addition for the Java developer, 4 July 2012
By 
M. Hansen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
This book is a "must have" for Java developers.

it introduces the concepts of concurrency, illustrates
how to apply them in practice and gives plenty of code
examples of how to do distinct right from wrong adoption.

Working with threads in Java can be tricky but from my experience,
most of my mistakes were based on not having fully understood the basics.
The authors doing a very good job on illustrating the basic's first
and building a solid foundation on top of it.

It's not a beginner's book but the advanced programmer will find
a lot of valuable insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A reference to have handy all the time!, 8 Nov 2011
By 
H. Silatani (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
very well explained and practical. Not having it finished yet , already made use of what I learned in the book. It helped me to understand java concurrency much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and focused book, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
You will need some previous Java knowledge before reading this book.

The book is very interesting and well written; provides you with a step by step learning of the multi-threading issues and provides you good examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every serious Java developer, 22 Dec 2010
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
If you are serious about developing stable, robust multithreaded java applications, this book is a must. In-depth explanations of how threads work internally, why synchronization is needed, what it's actually doing from a memory point of view etc, are some of the many things you will find in this well-structured book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In depth, engaging and concise, 29 July 2010
By 
Larry Ger - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
I have always been a fan of Goetz's writing. He has not disappointed with this book.
So impressive not in its coverage of one of the more complicated facets of software development.
Brian's teachings are both broad as well as deep.
Most impressively is his ability to explain complexity in a simple, engaging manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Java Concurrency in Practice
Java Concurrency in Practice by Doug Lea (Paperback - 9 May 2006)
£27.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews