Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! A readable expert book on Java concurrency
Concurrency is hard and boring. Unfortunately, my favoured technique of ignoring it and hoping it will go away doesn't look like it's going to bear fruit. Fortunately, Java 5.0 introduced a new bunch of concurrency utilities, that work at a higher level of abstraction than marking blocks as synchronized and fields as volatile. Unfortunately, there haven't been that many...
Published on 7 Aug 2006 by Thing with a hook

versus
0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Most confusing book
In a nutshell - it's a pain reading this book. Very poor examples and by far the worst explanation I have ever read. Going through the same sentence again and again and again, for the first few chapters at least, you feel like the author's has been just asked to fill up the pages.

If you manage to get the topics, just google it and I promise you will get better...
Published on 18 Oct 2010 by MKMaddy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! A readable expert book on Java concurrency, 7 Aug 2006
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
Concurrency is hard and boring. Unfortunately, my favoured technique of ignoring it and hoping it will go away doesn't look like it's going to bear fruit. Fortunately, Java 5.0 introduced a new bunch of concurrency utilities, that work at a higher level of abstraction than marking blocks as synchronized and fields as volatile. Unfortunately, there haven't been that many books on the subject - even the good Java 5.0 books (e.g. Head First Java or Agile Java) make little mention of them - Thinking in Java being an honourable exception. Fortunately, JCIP is here, and it is authoritative stuff. And it's (mostly) very easy to understand. Plus, at 350 pages, it's not an enormous chore to slog through. It even covers changes to the upcoming Java 6.

Before tackling this book, you should have at least some idea of pre-Java 5.0 concurrency. You don't need to be a threading master, though, as the first part of the book covers basics like deadlock, atomicity and liveness. This was my favourite part of the book, as it comes with lots of small code snippets, both right and (horribly) wrong, and pithy design guidelines. It's rather like Effective Java in that respect - although the material on threading was probably the weakest part of that book, so this is a definite improvement.

The second part deals with thread pools, cancellation strategies, and GUIs. This is also excellent. Part three covers performance and testing. The last 75 pages are for advanced users and goes into a fair amount of low level detail (including a discussion of the Java Memory Model), which may be of interest to experts only.

I would be lying if I said that reading this book will demystify concurrency completely. Who wrote which bit of the book is unclear (although readers of Effective Java will probably spot parts of the text that seem rather Joshua Blochish), but while it's mostly very clear, some parts of the text are a little murkier than other. Perhaps this is to be expected given the subject matter. But for the most part it's surprisingly easy reading, and very practical to boot.

Let's face it, short of aliens landing and introducing a radically new way of computing, multicores are here for the medium term at least, so thread-dodging wimps such as myself will just have to get used to it. That being so, this book is going to be installed as one of the must-read books in the Java pantheon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great introduction to Java's concurrency API, 28 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
If you are serious about java development you know you can't ignore threads.

Yet, so many skilled developers incredibly passionate about object orientation seem uneasy when confronted with threading-issues.

Is i++ an atomic operation ? Have you ever heard of CopyOnWriteArrayList ?

Do you know how to deal with InterruptedException ?

This is a very readable book which will make sure not only that your code will not deadlock but that you know why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to date blueprints for writing multi-threaded apps., 8 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
I would go so far as to say the authors have done a commendable job cracking a tough nut.

By reading the book you will be instilled with a set of blueprints that you can use to code multi-threaded apps and facilitate writing
threaded apps using the latest Java 5 and 6 classes.

Real life analogies were usually given to put problems into perspective at the outset of a new topic.

The book gave examples categorised into three groups. Good, bad and fragile stylised with a smiley, sad and indifferent faces.

For me seeing how not to code is equally valuable, lest you get caught with the same traps.

The book was broken down into four sections:
I Fundamentals
II Structuring Concurrent Applications
III Liveness, Perfomance & Testing
IV Advanced Topics

The book also has a good bibliography for further reading. I particularly found Hans Boehm's article excellent supplementary reading.

I particularly liked coverage of non-blocking synchronisation in chapter 15.

In contrast I found chapter 12 to be the most daunting to get to grips with (Testing Concurrent Apps). I found myself losing the thread in Listing 12-12! (Where a listing boils down to just a method! With undefined variable "barrier". barrier.await() is declared twice in succession! Huh? What's barrier?).
Thank heavens for section 12.4.2. / Findbugs.

jcip.net is the website where you can find the book source and errata.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommend for knowledge on multithreading, 15 Jun 2010
By 
G. Krishnan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
This book is definitely a very useful one for people who seek to know more about multithreading in java 1.6

Gives a good introduction. To get the max out of this book one should go slow and practice whats being said when you finish a chapter, otherwise it is very easy to forget / lose what you just read a couple of chapters back.

Could have been printed on a little larger font. One has to read a lot more text in this book than other java programming books.

Most of the chapters are around 20-25 pages. Hence i would recommended you have atleast a couple of hours for each sitting to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read. The best book out there on the java concurrency., 26 Jun 2009
By 
Tommaso Galleri (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
This is a very well written book and in my opinion currently the best book on Java concurrency out there. If you are a Java developer, this is a must read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to get my head around concurrency again as do not need it too much in my job. With this being a Joshua Bloch book and the fact I love Effective Java this was a must buy.

Easy to read, and gets to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on Concurency, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
This book is very good. It explains the concepts in a very clear and decisive manner. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars By far the book on (new) Java concurrency, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
Very detailed and well constructed. It is the definitive guide on the new concurrency package and ways of designing concurrency system. Personally, I think the new concurrency in Java is over the top and quite overwhelming but this book does it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any java programmer, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Andrew Gustafson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For too long a lot of developers believed that concurrency was an area which only an expert could understand. This book provides a perfectly brief and yet comprehensive guide to building safe and performant multi-threaded applications in java. I would recommend that all java programmers read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Java books out there!, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java Concurrency in Practice (Paperback)
I found this book to be a very interesting read. It covers the threading/concurrency concepts quite in detail (& with real life analogies some times). I found the writing to be easy & engaging at the same time.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to learn about Java concurrency APIs and understand general threading/concurrency concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa60c0c18)

This product

Java Concurrency in Practice
Java Concurrency in Practice by Doug Lea (Paperback - 9 May 2006)
29.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews