Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made Me Think...
I believe I made changes to several websites after just a couple of chapters and they're much better for it.

Some of the points appear to be common sense and obvious, but only once you've read them!

I would describe this book as a must-read for web designers.
Published on 14 May 2007 by Sohnee

versus
74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usability - for Americans
Steve Krug covers many aspects of usability in an accessible, light-hearted and easy to read way.

It must be said, though, that Krug's idea of usability is usability for Americans. He assumes we all come from the same place, speak the same language, use the same language scripts and so on. He dismisses web forms in a couple of sentences and international web...
Published on 8 April 2009 by Amsterdamned


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A little knowledge is a dangerous thing..., 28 Aug 2008
By 
M. Hogarth (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
First things first.. this is not a book for web designers, graphic artists, developers or anyone who actually has to do these sorts of tasks for a living (or even for a hobby, for that matter). You will not learn anything from this book that you don't already know and, in fact, there is some stuff in here that I think it would be better off NOT knowing, particularly some of the garishly coloured and clustered monstrosities that are heralded as examples of good design.

The only people who would find this book useful are management-types and marketing people... the kind of people who really should stick to pushing pens and emailing rather than getting involved in the dirty work of designing and developing a succesful website. This book could do a lot of damage in terms of giving delusions of grandeur to these sorts of people!

Much of the advice given in the book is out of date, and many of the example websites are now either not there or have been altered to the extreme. On a posative note, this book does state the obvious to quite a phenominal level and I suppose there may be some people to whom this may be of benefit.

Personally, i'd reccomend any web proffesionals who are thinking of buying this book to stay the heck away!! If you're a manager/marketing person or someone who needs to create the illusion that you know what you're talking about when asked to comment on a website, then this book may be of benefit.

==EDIT==

I wrote this review when I was much younger and a little less experienced (have left original text above). I found the book again while I was moving house and decided to give it a re-read, having since had two and a half years working in a fairly intense e-commerce environment.

I had previously not seen the need for a book like this, given that (and I stand by my original point) much of what is said is very obvious stuff. What I didn't consider is that maybe it isn't obvious to everyone.

What I have discovered is that the need to justify the obvious stuff does still exist. Particularly in environments where marketing teams are trying to design by committee and pulling projects every way they can, it is pretty handy to have a book to lean back on and say "look, this guy is an expert, and he says you are wrong".

It is a nice read for web professionals in these kinds of environments because reading the words of someone who completely agrees with you can be a great comfort if you're surrounded by people who don't. I cannot deny that on re-read, with thicker skin, I agree with almost every word Krug says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is not delivered Please HELP, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
the problem is that it's not yet dellivered .. so if you can find my tracking nomber or other information
I think the problem is that deutche telecom service you've used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Web Design for Idiots, 1 May 2010
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
This is a short 100 pages devoted to telling you to keep your pages easy to understand and not confusing in any way. There really isn't anything else in this book. The examples, book layout and copy are all old and dated like they were produced in the late '90s. There is nothing more than the most basic of common sense in here. Unless you think making a cluttered web page where the text links are not clear is a good idea, I wouldn't bother with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought - "Don't Make Me Think", 24 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability

Fantastic product - fast delivery - top quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably great, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
I have yet to read the book, but have had it recommended by loads of people. Sorry for the worthless review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing book, 11 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
This book is shallow and does not teach you anything past the obvious. Truly disappointing. I read it within a day and got rid of it as soon as possible as it made me angry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As Dean Allen wrote just short of ten years ago., 19 July 2010
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
Users don't read,
users only scan,
users haven't got
no attention span.

Careful, keep repeating it to yourself and you might start to believe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't make me think...what more can you say?, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
So you think, I want to write a book. You think of the title: "Don't make me think" then you spend more sweat and tears trying to write snappy ideas to make the title work than are available on the subject. FAIL. Usability -don't make me think. After that what is there to say? This book was boring, poorly laid out and this guy clearly has a crush on Amazon that makes you want to yell in your best American kid's accent: "If you love Amazon so much why don't you marry it?" Sheesh. I have gained more knowledge out of the free cheat sheet download than this book besides if you need a book to tell you how to make your website more "usable" you probably shouldn't be in web design...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No delivery, 6 Feb 2010
By 
P. Maan "P" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
I ordered the book online 9 days ago and am still waiting for the delivery...this is crazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews