Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up from me.
As someone approaching the subject of web usability for the first time I found Steve Krugs book to be an excellent introduction. This book is aimed at someone who would like to find out more about the basics of Usability testing. For example you may be a web designer of a small company where the business doesnt have the budget for a Usability department or a home user who...
Published on 5 Jun 2006 by Mr. G. Moseley

versus
77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usability - for Americans
Steve Krug covers many aspects of usability in an accessible, light-hearted and easy to read way.

It must be said, though, that Krug's idea of usability is usability for Americans. He assumes we all come from the same place, speak the same language, use the same language scripts and so on. He dismisses web forms in a couple of sentences and international web...
Published on 8 April 2009 by Amsterdamned


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usability - for Americans, 8 April 2009
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
Steve Krug covers many aspects of usability in an accessible, light-hearted and easy to read way.

It must be said, though, that Krug's idea of usability is usability for Americans. He assumes we all come from the same place, speak the same language, use the same language scripts and so on. He dismisses web forms in a couple of sentences and international web site users in even fewer. In terms of international viewers of web sites, some of his advice is downright damaging.

Read this as an introduction to usability, but look further too - otherwise we will never be rid of the scourge of the required "State" field in forms ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up from me., 5 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. G. Moseley (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
As someone approaching the subject of web usability for the first time I found Steve Krugs book to be an excellent introduction. This book is aimed at someone who would like to find out more about the basics of Usability testing. For example you may be a web designer of a small company where the business doesnt have the budget for a Usability department or a home user who wants to add that extra touch to your web pages or even as an introduction to the subject that escapes the tech lingo of Human Computer Interaction professionals.

I would give this book a big thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every web designer should read this., 23 Oct 2005
By 
Cravenplan Computers Ltd (Salisbury, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
Very easy to read but full of useful advice. Every web site owner and web designer needs to read this book. The recommendations could easily add thousands to your bottom line if you're selling on line.
I particularly liked the "fixed" versions of home pages with the description of the "problem areas". All the other points covered were very clearly explained and easy to take on board. Particularly useful sections covering home page design and testing sites for usability.
I bought four books about usability recently and this is easily the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made Me Think..., 14 May 2007
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
I believe I made changes to several websites after just a couple of chapters and they're much better for it.

Some of the points appear to be common sense and obvious, but only once you've read them!

I would describe this book as a must-read for web designers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone involved in website production!, 15 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
Since reading the first edition some years ago, I always refer to this book during usability presentations and recommend it to not only designers and developers, but also consultants, project managers and even clients. When the second edition was released in 2006 I purchased a few copies for the office and made it essential reading for everyone!

It's a very easy read and doesn't complicate matters with technical jargon, but instead relates to everyday tasks such as likening finding a product on a website to looking for a chainsaw in a hardware store. It examines the way we use the internet, it highlights that people don't use websites the way the designer intended and that we don't `read' websites, we scan them. It covers popular, common-sense solutions to these issues and uses clear, well-illustrated examples. It also talks about simplifying usability testing so you do enough of it, and uses some real-world examples to demonstrate.

It is an essential purchase for anyone involved in website creation and there are three new chapters in the second edition that help justify a new purchase if you already own the first edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't make me think- Usability for dummies, 5 May 2009
By 
Ida Tafuri (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
When I bought this book I was redesigning my ecommerce website. Even if it was written almost five years ago, I found the suggestions given were very usefull.
Now, the beta version of my site is running I can actually see how much it was improved by following the hints this book gave me. And it's written in a way that even someone that don't work with this kind of thing can understand. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Information Architects and web usability - a good a place as any to start!, 29 May 2009
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
This reference is one of the best places to start your journey into IA and usability. It's clear, concise and has a friendly tone that actually makes the book very easy to read.

Whilst many aspects of the web have moved on since this book was first written, the vast majority of the ideas, thought processes and methods used within are still perfectly valid. They will continue to be valid for the foreseeable future too.

This book is something I'd recommend any web designer, IA or developer picks up. Whilst some of the ideas may seem basic to you now, there are some very simple ideas in here that you've probably overlooked or forgotten about. It's never too late to look back to basics to see what you've missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most usable book about web usability, funny and easy to read, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
"Don't Make Me Think" by Steve Krug is slightly different web design book than readers are used to find around. Starting from the misleading title because reading it will make reader to think a lot but also from its presentation which is more a picture book then the book.

But I can assure you that after reading/viewing it you'll have at least several ideas how to improve usability of your website and be able to better understand users - what they like and what they don't, how the regular user is browsing Internet.

Web usability is feature about many web designers don't think enough or not at all resulting in websites that are maybe nice or full of information but unusable.

The book starts with introducing of several guiding principles, followed by design patterns and tools which would help you improving website efficiency. Throughout all book the author insists on usability testing and where the book excels is that many examples are illustrated to see where and how the actual websites were enhanced. It's great to see that author is realist, he knows the usability testing could be very expensive, due to that he gives tips to designers how testing can be done cheaply, even with 10 cents per day.

I liked the most simplicity of idea he brought with sentences like:
- It should be very clear what is clickable
- Get rid of half the words, then get rid of half of what's left
- "The trunk test" - if you've been blindfolded and locked in a car trunk, you should be able to answer these questions about a site immediately when your blindfold is removed: What site is it? What page am I on?, What major sections does this site have?, Where can I go from here?, Where am I in relation to the rest of the site?, Where can I go to search?

In many examples with existing websites author is going beyond just design, he discuss all the elements needed to make a nice and usable website - the content, the graphics, the navigation, etc.

Although the book is published 8 years ago, this is recommended read for any web designer or enthusiast, you'll be able to learn some useful tricks and get some tips to make good website or enhance existing one.
Because it's funny and easy to read, in same time providing tons of useful information, you'll read it cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for anyone doing anything on the web, 25 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
In web terms the book might be ancient, but it is still very accurate. He manages to present complex matter in bite sized chucks you cannot stop eating. No boring academic writing. Through examples, pictures and bullet points you are fed all the basics you need to know to lift your website to a higher level.

Just get it ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute must read for all web designers., 23 May 2007
By 
Brice Fernandes (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Paperback)
This is a book that you can read in less than a day, and will make the pages you design slicker and so much easier to navigate.

Reading it should save you several days of usability headaches on the project you work on currently, and many more on subsequent projects.

Clear, simple, concise advise on making sure that the pages you design will attract and retain readers.

couple with a good CSS book and a thorough read of the xhtml specifications, you should be well on your way to building fantastic websites.

could not recommend it enough.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability
£22.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews