Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!
Took it for my CCIE preparations, and I was really happy with it, goes into details without killing your brain with boring theory details
Published 15 months ago by Mateja Jovanovic

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original was Much Better
I really looked forward to getting my hands on this long-awaited second edition. Unfortunately, there's been a switch of authors, and, boy, does it show. Stevens' original was a joy to read because the writing style was excellent, and easy to follow even for someone with very little protocols exposure. The same thing can unfortunately not be said of this edition, so what...
Published on 23 Dec 2012 by DungBeatle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original was Much Better, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: The Protocols v. 1 (Addison-Wesley Professional Computing) (Hardcover)
I really looked forward to getting my hands on this long-awaited second edition. Unfortunately, there's been a switch of authors, and, boy, does it show. Stevens' original was a joy to read because the writing style was excellent, and easy to follow even for someone with very little protocols exposure. The same thing can unfortunately not be said of this edition, so what used to be the Bible on TCP/IP internals now looks like it's an invitation for another author to create a book that's the true successor to Stevens' masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceiving, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: The Protocols v. 1 (Addison-Wesley Professional Computing) (Hardcover)
Deceiving book.
I do not believe Stevens wrote a word. Stevens books are simple the best ever writen on the subject. Be them Unix programming to sockets, say it.

Because one is very technical expert of something does not mean he is a good writer. This is exactly the case, boring book, hard to read, at every page I was just but tired. This is just the oposite with Stevens books.

Hey Kevin go to Stevens and apologise him for this disgusting book. Didn't you get anything from his 1st volume? This yes was an amazing book and yet no other even compares.

Hey you all amazon clients, buy the 1st volume it instead of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: The Protocols v. 1 (Addison-Wesley Professional Computing) (Hardcover)
Took it for my CCIE preparations, and I was really happy with it, goes into details without killing your brain with boring theory details
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For all those subtle TCP/IP details you occasionally need, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: The Protocols v. 1 (Addison-Wesley Professional Computing) (Hardcover)
For all those subtle TCP/IP details you occasionally need. The book is rich in detail. Each chapter has a thread (ie its more than a reference book) but you can read the chapters in isolation or in any order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... the basis of most contemporary hacking so a guide like this is essential reading for anyone responsible for cyber ..., 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
TCP/IP is often misunderstood but forms the basis of most contemporary hacking so a guide like this is essential reading for anyone responsible for cyber security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100%, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: The Protocols v. 1 (Addison-Wesley Professional Computing) (Hardcover)
100% very happy with this book, my son is enjoying it, I for one cannot understand any of it, we got this book within days of ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TCP/IP Illustrated: The Protocols v. 1 (Addison-Wesley Professional Computing)
£32.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews