Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Photoshop book I've found...
I've got a few Photoshop books and DVD tutorials, including the Martin Evening 'Photoshop for Photographers' book and Deke McClelland's 'CS2 one-on-one' book, which are both very good, but it wasn't until I worked through this book that Photoshop really started to come together for me. Very well organised and written, good examples and exercises, lots of great tips and...
Published on 5 April 2006 by Leo

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Price
Feedback is more to do with the delivery than the product (it hasn't arrived yet) as a busy photographer I often need reference books for little jobs I pick up along the way. I ordered this under the assumption it would be delivered from the UK, I cannot afford to wait for USA deliveries. So after 3 days I was told that this book was out of stock in the UK and would be...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. N. A. Bonnar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Photoshop book I've found..., 5 April 2006
By 
Leo (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I've got a few Photoshop books and DVD tutorials, including the Martin Evening 'Photoshop for Photographers' book and Deke McClelland's 'CS2 one-on-one' book, which are both very good, but it wasn't until I worked through this book that Photoshop really started to come together for me. Very well organised and written, good examples and exercises, lots of great tips and tricks for quick and effective photo editing, the techniques give great results. It's improved my skills considerably and really boosted my confidence. Ideally you should have a bit of basic photoshop knowledge before starting it (the Deke McClelland book already mentioned is a good starter) but that aside I'd recommend it to anyone interested in this subject, without hesitation. Essential reading and money well spent, thank you Karen Eismann!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katrin Eismann takes a look at photoshop from a different angle, 22 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I own a lot of photoshop books and most books explain photoshop from a more tool oriented approach. This book is different. It teaches you to look at a photo, analyse what is wrong with the photo and then describe a number of techniques in sufficient detail on how to fix the photo using photoshop.
This book increased my knowledge of photoshop significantly after playing around with photoshop for 10 years...
Some highlights for me:
- How to detect and solve colour casts
- How to improve photos taken into the sun
- Restoring photos which are almost completely faded
- Glamour photography photoshopping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential companion to Photoshop, 21 July 2006
By 
R Judd (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This is the book that Adobe should have written! Katrin has produced a dipper's delight; every page contains a wealth of information together with easy-to-follow examples, that make exploring new techniques and processes a real pleasure. Photoshop is such a powerful tool, but this book really demystifies so much of its interface and gives you the confidence to start exploring its real potential. Whether you're a professional Photoshop user, or a hobbyist keen to increase your skills, this book is indispensable reading. I can't recommend it too highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written - gets you to professionalism, maybe not for experts., 6 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I suspect this book will have to be updated to deal with some of the new features of PsCS3 (Brightness and Contrast, for instance, the new interface, smart filters and so on) but overall Eismann writes in a fun and informative style that kept me reading despite knowing most of the techniques she describes. For the professional, who has been learning about and playing with Photoshop for a while, many of the techniques are likely to be minor variations of ones you already use. Many of the best tips are those overlooked by poor retouchers, and should be natural to most pros (previsualisation, and actually looking at the whole image!), but I've also found a wealth of helpful technical data, as well as the clearest description of Photoshop colour modes I've seen in any book.

I'd also have to say that this book is better set than Dan Margolis's "The Canyon Conundrum", and held my attention far longer than anything of Scott Kelby's I've tried to read. As a primer for anyone getting into photoshop, this book should be enough to give you near expert skills in a matter of months. All the essential shortcuts are covered (apart from brush blend modes, but she offers an even quicker alternative!), as well as information on the essential tools and workflows of the trade. I'd highly recommend having a copy of this, unless you've been using the application since it was called ImagePro - the four stars is because the value to someone familiar with colour management and decent retouching experience is slightly less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice surprise, 12 May 2010
By 
J. Quirino "Quakr" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I ordered a few books about digital manipulation, a couple from Dan Margulis, Skin, and this one.

For some reason, i thought this one was probably the weakest....

But after doing a book tour from start to finish, i was very pleased to find out this book is way more then i had hoped for, and not only introduces quite a few golden tricks, it is very easy to read and understand, unlike the Dan Margulis technical books, which are great as well, but not possible to read from start to finish without ripping some hairs off.

So, i rate this book 5 stars, because it contains valuable information that will improve your workflow considerably, but it is also very easy to read, and has some great examples / illustrations for the reader to see the before and after.

Even if you work with Photoshop daily and think you already have a large bag of tricks, it's still money well spent because there might be something you may have missed, and sometimes the small things make a big difference!

Thanks for the valuable information and nifty tricks Katrin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like having a friendly personal tutor in your hand!, 28 Sep 2010
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I was looking for a book that gives advice rather than sets-in-stone the way to use Photoshop as a tool for old photo restoration. This book does exactly that.

Katrin Eismann gently takes you by the hand and guides you using detailed step-by-step instructions and screenshots for the many tools involved in the Photoshop restoration and retouching process.
She also explains the various methods to solve an issue by sharing her own experiences with using Photoshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for Reference., 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book is extremely helpful when doing restoration work. It goes into allot of detail, and attempts to show lots of different methods to restore photos. It is a big book and will take some time to go through it all, but the suggestions of what you can or need to do from start to finish is very good. Plenty of tutorials and examples to follow along with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent on restoration and retouching, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
A must for photography students and very useful tips for photographers and graphic designers. It will save you time as it has a lot of shortcuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as before, 20 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I have the previous edition by the same author and the content is great, easy to follow and a great book to work from.
Service by amazon was as normal excellent and the Royal Mail delivered it puctually, all round good service, I ordered a second book which was to be delivered by another agent, it didn't arrive and when I checked online it was on its way to Ireland, I cancelled the order because of the problems with the delivery firm selected by amazon.
I have never had any problems with amazon in any respect but if I purchase anything in future and it is down to be delivered by this agent the item will be cancelled, they are taboo to me and from the ratings by many other reviewers online
My thanks to amazon
Jim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop, 8 May 2010
By 
Roy (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Katrin Eismann is in my view the 'queen' of Photoshop and this type of book. Really useful for those who want to get into the detail of photo restoration. This version built around CS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter)
Adobe Photoshop Restoration & Retouching (Voices That Matter) by Wayne Palmer (Paperback - 17 Nov 2005)
£30.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews