Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars13
2.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2004
The best book I've ever read on UML and I've seen a few ones: clear, understandable, distinguishing the most and least important concepts, as short as possible. The authors have been there, they look thoroughly the semantics of each concept introduced. I used "Using UML" to prepare very good slides on UML. It has been recommended to me by a Dutch university teacher and I realised that the book was used in lots of universities in the world. I can't thank him enough. A must read. I hope the authors will update it quickly on UML 2.0 ...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2003
The first part of the book is geared up towards the student talking about bread-and-butter things like component design, OO concepts etc, this is ok but you won't read it twice.
As a reference, the rest of the book covers the UML basics but not to any great depth, it can still leave you asking questions. Something like the UML User Guide is a better bet.
Overall, its a good book to have as a reference, but I'm still looking for a better one. (This review is based on the 1.3 edition).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 1999
As an IT student on a MSc course that is now quite focussed on OOP and teaches UML, I found this clear and comprehensive. One criticism is the Open University-style in-text questions which irritate as they disrupt the reading. Also it is annoying that the Java impementations of the examples are not available to students. Finally, the book should have been sub-edited and produced more professionally. The amateur dtp shows through.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2001
Very student focused and covers allot of general software engineering principles of good practice. Oriented towards software engineering as a discipline using UML to complement this.
Its worth noting that any particular process to using the UML is not emphasised in the book. Its use within a development team is implied but this is not a comprehensive process book, nor is it meant to be.
It does provide a good reference for the UML syntax but does omit certain areas (ie active classes). Overall a good book, I also recommend 'The UML User Guide' by Rumbaugh, Jacobson and Booch in the same series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2003
I was wary of the 'average' reviews for this book, but it was recommended for a course module so...mistake! In the inept hands of these authors UML becomes 'Unremittingly Dull Language' - they plough into the field with no adequate ground-laying or overview, no concept of how the reader absorbs ideas, and definitely no humour! These are not people you'd want at your house party.
The language is wooly, unneccesarily confusing and inspires such boredom that you just don't care what they're saying - there must be a better book than this!?
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
Okay, Stevens tries to be rigorous in the definition of UML elements and how they relate to OO concepts.
But God, how can anyone write so frustratingly ?
Paragraphs have to be read a few times before the - essentially simple - meaning emerges.
A good book on UML needed to be written for sure.
But only by someone with some gift for synthesis and whose desire to enlighten won't be dampened by the fear of being contradicted by some hair-splitter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2001
This is probably one of the worst written computing books I have ever read. It is disjointed, poorly structured and unwieldy. If it were not for being forced to plough through this monsterous tome by my OU study, I would have given up reading in fits of rage on many occasions. This is not just personal opinion, my fellow M301 students found it equally arduious. Perhaps the pace and structure of the underlying OU course is some-what to blame, but the general style has purely academic bent. If you need to study UML for a college course it is probably adequate, if you are wanting to learn UML for work or general interest try something else.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
Good book at providing explanations on different specified topics but it does drag on and can become very boring and long winded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2002
The original edition of the book was based on the UML 1.1 standard. The Object Management Group's UML Revision Task Force was charged with updating the language to deal with bugs and suggestions, and versions 1.3 and 1.4 of UML were released. The first three printings of the Updated Edition of the book were based on UML1.3; later printings are based on UML1.4 (which differs from UML1.3 only in very small ways, see below).
The main changes between UML1.1 and UML1.3/4 are to the relations between use cases (Chapter 8). This is not surprising: as we discussed in the original Chapter 8, the original scheme (uses and extends relations between use cases) proved confusing, particularly because these relations were counterintuitively described as generalisation relationships. These relationships have been replaced by a "genuine" generalisation relationship, plus two stereotyped dependencies corresponding to the old stereotyped generalisations.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2002
As a software engineering student, I purchased this book to complete some of my final year assignments. We had to use a substantial amount of UML in the assignments and I knew very little about it.
I found the book no use at all! It introduces the concepts surrounding object-orientated development, and skims over the different diagrams used in UML in a confusing manner.
The book is not very long, and no way worth the price.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)