Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Forensics and Files Structures book, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Yay!! (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: File System Forensic Analysis (Paperback)
Easy to read textbook for BSc Forensics and IT Security (though not specific to the course, it's a classic text).

Advanced but easy to understand, with descriptions which are quite riveting. For instance the Intel pentium v Unix and Mac systems... the way they order bytes (the big ending order against little ending ordering is reversed. Did you know that? It's written for Forensics students, yet if you're studying general computing this level of expertise will set you apart from everyone else.

* Volume analysis (Pc, Server, Raid)
* File system analysis
* Fat concepts & data structures
* NTFS concepts
* Ext2 and ext3 concepts
* UFS1 and UFS2 data structures

Incredible depth and breadth, and very accessible in attitude.
A classsic text, that *must* be on the bookshelf of anyone studing Forensics, IT security, Encryption.
Wish I'd read it years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars file system help, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: File System Forensic Analysis (Paperback)
It s a very helpfull tool about everyone who wants to be a great examiner......very good analysis about all the fields and many examples
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is my bible, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: File System Forensic Analysis (Paperback)
OK, so it's now a little outdated as it was originally written in the earlier days of NTFS so some things have changed slightly with Windows 7, 8 and now 8.1 but as a guide to the fundamentals of the FAT and NTFS filesystems, I refer to this every time. This book has saved my bacon on numerous occasions when I just couldn't find what I was looking for online and I would strongly urge anyone working the digital forensic field to get a copy of this book, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I found this text book to be a good general grounding for a forensic sciences degree, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: File System Forensic Analysis (Paperback)
I found this text book to be a good general grounding for a forensic sciences degree especially those specialising on forensic computing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short time to receive the book, excellent conditions., 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: File System Forensic Analysis (Paperback)
Delivery before the expected time. Excellent conditions. This mechanism for submitting feedback is quite boring. I just wanted to say that I received what I expected and more. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very, Very Useful !!, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: File System Forensic Analysis (Paperback)
My son is at University studying Forensic Computers and book was recommended by his tutor.
Obviously I do not have a clue if the book is any good or not but on asking my son his opinion was that it's priceless! Apparently there are very few books written bout the subject let alone one that is so useful. The book is not cheep to buy (but books aren't now) but if it's just what is needed and allows your study to progress more smoothly it becomes an essential and the price has to be paid, even if its parents that fork out or even family members club together.
Study is hard enough without the correct equipment.
Delivery was very prompt, was well packaged.
I would recommend the book and company to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars File System Forensic Analysis, 9 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: File System Forensic Analysis (Paperback)
I BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY SON , WHO IS IN UNIVERSITY .
ALLTHOUGH I DONT REALLY UNDERSTAND IT,IT HAS PROVED TO BE A VALUABLE BOOK TO HIM .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

File System Forensic Analysis
File System Forensic Analysis by Brian Carrier (Paperback - 17 Mar 2005)
39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews