Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good course book
This book is well written and aimed at those with little or no prior knowledge of databases (e.g. undergraduates). It goes from conceptual design right down to low level topics. I think the main strength of this book lies in its excellent examples. There are several case studies which are used very well to show practical examples of concepts described. Would recommend it...
Published on 8 Feb 2005 by Mr. D. M. Crathern

versus
13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good student textbook maybe...
I'll keep this short and sweet: while this may be a good textbook to use when on a database course (and I mean one for full-time students who have yet to enter the world of work) this is definitively no use to those requiring a practical manual that will help you to solve a real-world problem or implement a real-world database solution. I don't think it strives...
Published on 18 Dec 2005 by Richard Schollar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good course book, 8 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. D. M. Crathern "Dom" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation and Management (International Computer Science Series) (Paperback)
This book is well written and aimed at those with little or no prior knowledge of databases (e.g. undergraduates). It goes from conceptual design right down to low level topics. I think the main strength of this book lies in its excellent examples. There are several case studies which are used very well to show practical examples of concepts described. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a text book on databases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good despatch as well as good timing and the book was a good escond hand book, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation and Management (International Computer Science Series) (Paperback)
Thank you very much for the good service, looking forward to next purchase i will do for an other book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book!!!, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation and Management (International Computer Science Series) (Paperback)
Delivery was speedy. Received it within 2 days of ordering. This book is absolutely brilliant as it gives me the required information I need for my Database module at Uni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper than in store, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation and Management (International Computer Science Series) (Paperback)
This book places a strong emphasis on good design practice, allowing readers to master design methodology in an accessible, step-by-step fashion. In this book, database design methodology is explicitly divided into three phases: conceptual, logical, and physical. Each phase is described in a separate chapter with an example of the methodology working in practice. Extensive treatment of the Web as an emerging platform for database applications is covered alongside many code samples for accessing databases from the Web including JDBC, SQLJ, ASP, ISP, and Oracle's PSP. A thorough update of later chapters covering object-oriented databases, Web databases, XML, data warehousing, data mining is included in this new edition. A clear introduction to design implementation and management issues, as well as an extensive treatment of database languages and standards, make this book an indispensable, complete reference for database professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a professional but not a beginner, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation and Management (International Computer Science Series) (Paperback)
If you already have an idea of using and working with a database, then the book is perfect for increasing your knowledge. As a beginner, you may not want to read the book according to the way the chapters have being outlined but rather, jumping from chapters to chapters.

Generally packed with terminologies that may not be easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brillant!!!, 9 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation and Management (International Computer Science Series) (Paperback)
Thank you, got this book cheaper than the recommended price. It is brillant with very good illustrations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good student textbook maybe..., 18 Dec 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation and Management (International Computer Science Series) (Paperback)
I'll keep this short and sweet: while this may be a good textbook to use when on a database course (and I mean one for full-time students who have yet to enter the world of work) this is definitively no use to those requiring a practical manual that will help you to solve a real-world problem or implement a real-world database solution. I don't think it strives to be the latter and doesn't stake a claim to be such a work but the point needs to be made to ensure people do not purchase it under the assumption that it is something that it certainly is not.
If you want a hands-on, useful SQL primer, go for Ben Forta's "SQL in 10 minutes", or for a practical how-to book on starting out in database creation, try out George Hepworth's "Grover Park George On Access": what they lack in terms of relational calculus (find this in "Database Systems"!) they make up for in teaching you stuff you can actually use. You'll also save yourself a lot of cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawn! Yawn! Yawn!, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. J. G. Barratt "Boozer" (St Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation and Management (International Computer Science Series) (Paperback)
I am a mature postgraduate student studying for an MSc and I got this book from my university library. I have been data modelling and building database systems for over 15 years and I love designing databases. I'm very good at it.
If you want to learn formal terminology that you will never use again, and be confused by unnecessary equations, read about Cartesian products before fully knowing what a database table is, (sorry it's formally known as a `relation', not a `table') and learn long-dead terminology that nobody else uses, etc., then this is the book for you. If not, avoid it like the stinking plague. It's utter rubbish!
If the authors of DS were to write another book about the joy of sex, then it would be the dullest, most long winded, irrelevant, un-arousing book ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews