Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reality is requirements change and evolve!
This book delivers a practical, lightweight solution to requirements gathering and management. User stories can stand-alone in their own right, or can be used in conjunction with other agile methodologies or techniques. In fact Cohn gives examples of how user stories have been implemented in more traditional IEEE 830 projects with strict audit requirements.
User...
Published on 20 Jan 2005 by Ian Marples

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why are all Agile books about web development?
Like many other people in the IT world Ia m trying to get to grips with Agile, Scrum and how it can be applied in my workplace. The frustrating thing is that nearly every book I look at is based on web applications and this book is no exception. If, like me, you work in embedded systems then this book is of little use. However it is a good primer for Use Stories although...
Published on 29 Aug 2010 by Marie Kyletoft


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reality is requirements change and evolve!, 20 Jan 2005
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Paperback)
This book delivers a practical, lightweight solution to requirements gathering and management. User stories can stand-alone in their own right, or can be used in conjunction with other agile methodologies or techniques. In fact Cohn gives examples of how user stories have been implemented in more traditional IEEE 830 projects with strict audit requirements.
User stories are an agile practice. Like other agile practices, they put the customer at the heart of the process. Agile practices work by communication; by involving the customer they focus on business value. Cohn keeps this underlying principle at the centre of his arguments for adopting user stories.
The book contains information not only about writing user stories but how they fit into, and drive, agile development processes. Cohn favours the SCRUM methodology and XP practices. These are referred to throughout the text and are summarized in the books Appendices.
At the end of each chapter a summary of responsibilities for developers and customers (along with a summary and a set of questions) are given. If nothing else these will act as a point of discussion, particularly with those who subscribe to the 'big up front design' school of thought.
All chapters are short and to the point. The sections are broken up well and the book gains from having a simple, working example given in part 4 showing how the techniques in the first 3 sections are applied to a practical situation.
My opinion is that this is an excellent book, anyone who is undertaking, or involved, an IT project would do well to read this. If nothing else it offers an alternative to 'traditional' waterfall-orientated processes, or no formal requirements management at all (beer-mat specifications).
As a personal recommendation, I would suggest looking at the other titles in the Addison Wesley Signature Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More then a story on stories, 24 July 2004
By 
Hubert Smits "Hubert" (Boulder, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Paperback)
Mike Cohn is one of the founding members of the Agile Alliance. This long term commitment to the agile movement and agile thinking shows in his writings, and this book is no exception.
The book addresses user stories, it investigates the user story from different perspectives, explains thoroughly how to get to the point where the story reaches its conclusion. Then the book goes further. It expands the role of a story into planning of releases and products, making it the centre of software or product development.
A very readable book not only if you want to develop practices around stories, but also if you need an insight in the impact of implementing agile practices in your environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you ever need to know about User Stories !, 20 Mar 2004
By 
Ms. Rachel C. Davies (Rugby, Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Paperback)
Mike Cohn's book User Stories Applied is an excellent handbook on how to write User Stories and their role in agile software development. The book covers planning and tracking team velocity against the plan, including how to get started with these techniques. Mike really knows his subject and his book captures useful hints and tips for Customers and Developers based on practical experience with User Stories. I recommend this book to any team who want to get the best from the application of User Stories on their projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why are all Agile books about web development?, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Paperback)
Like many other people in the IT world Ia m trying to get to grips with Agile, Scrum and how it can be applied in my workplace. The frustrating thing is that nearly every book I look at is based on web applications and this book is no exception. If, like me, you work in embedded systems then this book is of little use. However it is a good primer for Use Stories although it still leaves me unconvinced that Use Cases are not still the better way to go. The section on Acceptance testing was plain laughable. As a test manager I can say that the tests listed in the examples were incredibly basic, but even worse they didn't even cover some very important situations. I can say from experience that if only these acceptance tests were being applied by the user/acceptor it is extremely likely that you will end up with a system that is in theory accepted but completely unacceptable.

However, as I said a good primer and easy to read just left me wanting SO much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Brilliance, 3 April 2009
By 
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Paperback)
I have been researching in the LEAN/AGILE spaces for the last year in regard to implementation in a large software development organization. This book brings a large amount of practical advice in regard to the use and disciplines of User Stories to replace more traditional 'behemoth' requirements gathering.

The book assumes no previous experience of AGILE processes and would indeed serve most admirably as a general introduction to AGILE analysis. As any sensible reader you will not subscribe to all arguments/points in the book, indeed it encourages you not to and adapt as necessary but places it in overall context that is incredibly simple and clear to understand. Including a chapter dedicated to describing some warning signals or 'bad smells' that something is amiss.

In short it tells you what User Stories are, how to fish for them, how to write good ones, how to estimate on them and how to manage them in terms of overall delivery - Cohn leaves no stone unturned. The writing style is friendly, informal, humorous in points and leaves you at the end with a strong feeling of accomplishment that comes with learning skills you know you are going to use again and again.

I heartily recommend this book for anyone - experienced Analysts to novice computer hobbyist's that are interested in streamlining their development efforts and truly trying to deliver what a customer wants - fantastic piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant example based book, 2 Aug 2010
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Paperback)
I have never practiced any agile development, but I am in the process of understanding how it works - in practise. The examples that are used in this book are very well written.

I have skipped a few chapters here and there, because I'm going to cherry pick what I want to use. The way the book is written actually allows that.

Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very practical guide to getting started with Agile, 22 Sep 2008
By 
S. Jack (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Paperback)
We're just launching a new project, and we'll be using Agile for the first time. I've found this book very useful for telling me exactly what I need to do when. The book is well structured and very readable. As a bonus, it doesn't just deal with how User Stories are Applied, but also has a good writeup about why they work, which I think you'll find useful if you want to convince your boss to try out Agile practices.

The case study at the end ties everything together nicely, my only critisim being that it ends rather abruptly. For a more extensive case study, covering several iterations, and not just the planning stage, see Mike Cohn's other book, Agile Estimating and Planning (Robert C. Martin).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars INVEST in this book, you won't be sorry, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Paperback)
INVEST in this book, you won't be sorry. Another clear and concise how-to book from Cohn. Would have liked to see more on acceptance criteria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction into User Stories and how to Plan a Project, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Paperback)
This book provides a comprehensive review of User Stories, how to write them and how to plan. Very easy to follow and very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the overview but could do with a better summary of each topic . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison-Wesley Signature)
26.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews