Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comprehensive introductory physics textbook
When selecting this book, I had a good look at all the one-volume introductoy physics books on the market and although others (such as those from Halliday, et al, Cutnell and Johnson, and Benson) are as comprehensive, this one wins hands down in terms of readability and presentation: Both the main text and the accompanying diagrams are first rate.
The only real...
Published on 26 Mar 2004 by M. J. Barber

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usable, but not great
This is a very comprehensive text book, covering all the topics one could reasonably expect to encounter in the first year of a physic university course in good detail. Key concepts are derived, discussed and summarised, and there are many worked examples. All chapters end with a summary which is useful for revision or for quick-reference.
Unfortunately, some of the...
Published on 1 Feb 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comprehensive introductory physics textbook, 26 Mar 2004
By 
M. J. Barber "matt_b2" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: University Physics with Modern Physics with Mastering Physics (International Edition) (Paperback)
When selecting this book, I had a good look at all the one-volume introductoy physics books on the market and although others (such as those from Halliday, et al, Cutnell and Johnson, and Benson) are as comprehensive, this one wins hands down in terms of readability and presentation: Both the main text and the accompanying diagrams are first rate.
The only real drawback with this book is its sheer size. At 1500+ pages it's very heavy and its bulk also makes it less than suitable for idly skimming through. However, that goes with the territory, as you don't get too many physics textbooks that come in pocket editions. I'd echo the other review's comment that a multiple-volume edition would be a good idea, although I'd suspect many thrifty students would be prepared to live with this rather than pay the extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Physics book, 28 Dec 2005
By 
M. Hutton "Eraserhead" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: University Physics with Modern Physics with Mastering Physics (International Edition) (Paperback)
After using this book for a couple of lecture courses at Warwick University (Relativity and Mechanics). I can say it is a great buy probably the best book I have bought. The book has loads of questions (over 100 for some chapters) for practice and the key points help summerize the equations you have learnt which is really useful, and 50% of them have answers at the back too. The book is very detailed, probably too much as just a backup for lectures, as it is huge, but there is probably enough to learn the subject on your own, it also seems pretty well written and has lots of diagrams and pictures too. The book also includes a sunscription to MasteringPhysics.com which works well, it is extremely useful but to be useful it needs to be supported by your university, the book comes with 2 years of free subscription.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helped me get a first in my first year, 5 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. Simon Robert Needham (Frodsham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: University Physics with Modern Physics with Mastering Physics (International Edition) (Paperback)
This book is an excellent choice for a first year physics undergraduate. Without it I wouldn't have got a first in my first year at uni. Gives a good introduction to most areas of physics, and question and answer sections are particularly useful for exam revision. Not much use past the first year however when specialised books are required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Undergraduate Course Material, 11 Jan 2007
By 
Jack Bauer (Poole, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: University Physics with Modern Physics with Mastering Physics (International Edition) (Paperback)
Having graduated in Physics some years ago I now find myself working towards a Masters degree in Theoretical Physics and required a good undergraduate book in order to go over the essentials and basics of a lot of material. I found this book to be excellent as a reference guide, covering everything you should need for a first degree as well. The specialist chapters on Relativity and Quantum Mechanics are treated just right in my opinion as there are more detailed books available in these subjects, but it gives the core ideas a good going over. I wish I had used this book in my undergraduate years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usable, but not great, 1 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: University Physics with Modern Physics with Mastering Physics (International Edition) (Paperback)
This is a very comprehensive text book, covering all the topics one could reasonably expect to encounter in the first year of a physic university course in good detail. Key concepts are derived, discussed and summarised, and there are many worked examples. All chapters end with a summary which is useful for revision or for quick-reference.
Unfortunately, some of the derivations and worked examples are poorly done. On some occasions, many steps of working are skipped, while on others, things are worked through in far too much meticulous detail.
I tend to use my copy mainly for reference or reminding myself of points from lectures. I would not want to use this as a sole method of learning physics.
I also find the sheer size of the book prohibitive. Not only is it too heavy to easily carry around, it is also sufficiently large and heavy that merely turning through the pages can be a chore. This would be a much more usable book if it were published in two volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It book fills gaps in engineering knowledge, 31 Jan 2007
By 
ab..c (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: University Physics with Modern Physics with Mastering Physics (International Edition) (Paperback)
Hi,

This book is a wonderful way to find out and repair gaps in basic engineering knowledge. If your undertaking around 'H.N'D' plus type level 'engineering' this must be on your bookshelf. The book is about as clear on its topics at this level as I have seen.

From basics to useful introductory explanations of and substantial topics as 'Electromagnetism' and 'thermodynamics' and 'Nuclear Physics'. This is a wonderful of its level book. Yes the size of the book is overkill and makes it hard to hold for very long periods. This would really help any one with engineering type studies who say missed out on 'A'-level 'Physics'. Yes it is a lot of money but its clear and obviously a 'labour of love' by the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tries too hard to be accessible to everyone., 12 May 2008
This review is from: University Physics with Modern Physics with Mastering Physics (International Edition) (Paperback)
On the upside, this book is filled with examples, and it has a lot of figures and graphics that helps keep it out of the 'dreary, dry and dusty'-category. When beginning physics, it is helpful having a book such as this because it contains most of the basics for reference.

The problems appear when you advance in knowledge in physics and mathematics. The authors have a hard time getting to the point, because their strategy seems to be to explain everything as verbosely as possible so as to ensure that none will fail to understand it. After a while this gets incredibly tiresome, and it is also impossible to filter out the superfluous and get to the point, because the points are concealed in vast quantities of text. The book also takes annoying shortcuts, because it tries to be accessible to everyone, even those lacking Calculus.

The final verdict is that this book is somewhat useful, but could have been condensed to half its size by cutting its awful attempts at being pedagogical. For effective learning, you would do good to look elsewhere for more concise books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book ticks all the boxes for physics student, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: University Physics (Hardcover)
Bought this for my son, a first year physics student and he loves it. Says it is informative, very helpful and a book he constantly refers to. I think he likes how it is laid out and presented which is important for material which already has a high level of difficulty to learn and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for refreshing my knowlege of classical physics, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: University Physics with Modern Physics with Mastering Physics (International Edition) (Paperback)
For everyone who completed his physical study fifty years ago and has plenty of free time.

The best price to weight ratio. Three kilograms of high quality printed paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 10 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: University Physics with Modern Physics with Mastering Physics (International Edition) (Paperback)
I had to buy this book in first year of my Physics degree. I was told that it would be used for second year work too. However, I have found that the material covered in the second year course is more advanced than what is in the book. It was quite useful for first year though although Mastering Physics is a waste of time! It offers no solutions to problems and takes marks off for the most ridiculous things! But overall I would say it's worth buying for a first year undergraduate Physics course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0223d80)

This product

University Physics with Modern Physics with Mastering Physics (International Edition)
Used & New from: 15.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews