Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best practise messaging and system integration, 29 Feb 2004
This review is from: Enterprise Integration Patterns: Designing, Building, and Deploying Messaging Solutions (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Hardcover)
This is not your typical programming patterns book, nor does it use UML. This is a list of named and defined best practises for enterprise integration using messaging. It takes a step back from programming and looks at how you would use a messaging technology (Tibco, MQ, MSMQ, Sonic, Intalio, etc.), to provide an integration architecture to connect all the systems within an organisation and externally.
The book arose from a Patterns conference where patterns for connecting different apps were discussed. The list of patterns was developed collaboratively by industry experts on the website [...]
I've spent the past three years integrating hundreds of applications following corporate acquisition, disposal, outsourcing, and consolidation inside a large bank. This book summed up very precisely what I learnt in the first year. It does not go into more complicated patterns such as "Compensating Transactions" and "State Synchronization", but it covers the basic 50 everyday patterns of design very thoroughly.
The book is part of the Martin Fowler and Kent Beck series and this shows in the quality. It is highly readable and thoroughly peer reviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must - get it!, 7 Jan 2004
This review is from: Enterprise Integration Patterns: Designing, Building, and Deploying Messaging Solutions (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Hardcover)
I bought this book a month or so ago, and was not disappointed! This has to be one of the best computing books I have read in a long, long time.
Often when designing enterpise system one can get lost in detail. This book is about taking a step back and thinking about how the components in the enterpise architecture interact with each other, and how this messaging interaction can be modelled using UML-based techniques. I say UML based because the authors have developed their own descriptive diagrammatic notation that is extremely easy to follow. This messaging interaction takes the form of 70 or so patterns that describe messaging scenarios.
You have confidence in the authors, you know they know what they are talking about and have distilled their real-life experience with large scale enterprise solutions into real life problems and solutions. Whether you are from the .NET or J2EE camp, you will find what you need here if you are involved in building enterpise systems.
If you are looking for a book that gives you all the answers (and code) then this is not it - what it does give you is a number of ways of reasoning with example code to provide you with the ammunition to develop your own solution in a logical and progressively thought out manner. The text is informative, clear and uncomplicated with adopting a patronising tone - it just tells you what you need when you want it.
I really would recommend that this becomes part of your programming book collection, and when you think that you know how to design something, stop and open the book!
The only downside is that not all the source code is available in the accompanying website, oh well can't have everything.
If you are not sure about buying this book, then check out [...] that will give you a real flavour of what they are talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book which will become a standard reference, 24 July 2005
By 
Andrew Johnston "(www.andrewj.com/books)" (LEATHERHEAD United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enterprise Integration Patterns: Designing, Building, and Deploying Messaging Solutions (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Hardcover)
This book could really be titled "Everything You Wanted to Know About Message-Based EAI, But Were Afraid To Ask". It's a very comprehensive book, which goes beyond mere patterns to introduce the reader to a wide range of topics in the world of messaging. It forms a strong and useful counterpart to the many more general books on architecture patterns, for example Martin Fowler's "Enterprise Architecture Patterns" in the same series.
The book is very accessible, written and illustrated clearly and assuming very little initial knowledge. However it will also provide value to the experienced messaging developer, formalising his or her knowledge and suggesting new ways of using messaging to solve different problems. I particularly like the way that Hohpe and Woolfe lay out each pattern using language and visual styles to naturally delimit the sections of the pattern, rather than using lots of sub-headings. This increases the readability significantly.
Several books on patterns talk about a "pattern language", the idea of describing a complete design in terms of named patterns for the architectural form of each component. However this is one of the first books I have read which really adopt this idea - the authors have created a new visual language, which they first use to describe basic patterns in terms of basic message constructs, and then describe more complex patterns and solutions using the icons for the intermediate patterns. Best of all you can download a Visio stencil from the website and start using and extending the pattern language yourself.
The book is remarkably technology-agnostic, providing many examples in both .NET and Java forms, and with a fair sprinkling of other technologies, for example using proprietary EAI tools such as Tibco. I have certainly seen and used some of these patterns in older file-based integration schemes, and I suspect many of them work for Web Services too. As such the book has a much better claim to be a true "patterns" book than one wedded solely to a single technology base.
Each group of pattern descriptions is followed by a detailed "practical example" section which shows how one or more messaging technologies can implement the preceding patterns to solve real problems. There aren't any real "antipatterns" in the book, but the book is realistic about when a given technology or pattern should not be used, which is just as valuable.
If I have a complaint it's a minor one, that the book is too long. Including the multiple introductions, it runs to over 700 pages. Dipping in and out my read through has taken many months. Like many patterns books, in an attempt to keep each description self-contained you find by half-way through that some basic things are being repeated regularly. A more "normalised" structure might have been better. Also, although most of the book is very readable, a couple of chapters by "guest" authors, including the final one on Web Service standards, take a more academic tone.
That said, this is an excellent book, which can be read from cover to cover, or stands as a general-purpose reference, and I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Very Few Books available on EAI Patterns, 21 Jan 2004
This review is from: Enterprise Integration Patterns: Designing, Building, and Deploying Messaging Solutions (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Hardcover)
This book illustrates numerous EAI patterns (in the same line as the "Gang of Four") and demonstrates how multiple patterns seamlessly coexist and co-ordinate in EAI architecture. The importance of specific patterns based on application architecture and the schematics is described lucidly. Explains how to transform the theory in practice and how to implement an EAI. Talks about many EAI products (Biztalk, TIBCO, MQ Series etc.) along with the process to implement the patterns with them as integrator.
A book surely closer to us; who wants to see it (Sample Codes are helpful) to believe it. Surprised to see only one review on such an exciting book. A Must have for the architects who just does not depend on vocabulary to earn a living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Developers/Architects Guide, 26 Aug 2005
This review is from: Enterprise Integration Patterns: Designing, Building, and Deploying Messaging Solutions (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Hardcover)
Simply put ths is the de-facto guide for both developers and architects. I am (realatively) new to the developer/architect job and was recomended to read this by a work colleague.
Things I liked about the book included:
(1)Excellent practical examples that explain what he means.
(2)No bias and No focus on a particular vendor technology. Im personaly sick and tired of hearing/reading from microsoft/ibm/and other partners that simply want to keep their higher partner benefits by carping on about how their technology is better than the other!!!.
(3)Simple to read, even Martin Fowlers part is a doddle to understand.
(4)Great working example from the online site.
In all an excellent book that i really believe will help those who are responsible for technology in an organisation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes clear a difficult topic, 26 Sep 2005
By 
Szilágyi Donát (Dunakeszi, Hungary) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enterprise Integration Patterns: Designing, Building, and Deploying Messaging Solutions (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Hardcover)
The book shows how to convert integration problems to small patterns and how to implement these patterns.
The new thing here is the adding a small icon to each pattern, what enables us designing the integration as a circuit diagram.
If you are using C#/MSMQ or JMS, you will find enough code fragments to implement the patterns.
But you won't find info about building or deploying your application or configuring your environment, so keep the documentation from your vendor at hand as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formalise you're learning regarding Messaging, 2 April 2006
By 
Mr. M. J. Small (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enterprise Integration Patterns: Designing, Building, and Deploying Messaging Solutions (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Hardcover)
I use Tibco RendezVous amongt a few other lesser known messaging products and enjoyed this book as it reinforced what I had already learned from experience and furthered this some more. None of the content is rocket science, but then that's what makes it easy to pickup and make sense of. I also liked the way the author made a solid effort to apply examples to multiple platforms/packages. It makes you realise how it's much more important to come up with the right design first at an enterprise level and you can then pick the appropriate product afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not dated much at all, 14 Jun 2009
By 
Julian Browne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enterprise Integration Patterns: Designing, Building, and Deploying Messaging Solutions (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Hardcover)
This book first hit the streets in 2004, when EAI hype was in full swing and MOM was seen as a bit of a silver bullet. Thanks to the subsequent over-promotion of SOA (anyone noticing a pattern?) and many poor messaging implementations a lot of the good ideas have been a bit sidelined.

I've just purchased the December 2008 reprint of this book and frankly it's as valid today as it was when it came out. Messaging as an implementation style may not be quite as popular, what with the rise of data/compute grids etc, but problems and patterns are largely timeless. As a handbook for enterprise integration I haven't seen a better guide. I give it four stars only because I'd like to see a new edition that deals with integration around contemporary approaches like cloud and mega-scale patterns like map/reduce.

I paid just under thirty quid, which is slightly above average for a tech book but worth every penny when you think a few dodgy design decisions would cost your company vastly more to fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the best books on messaging, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I have kept this book on my wish list for many years because I generally buy cutting technology titles, I finally decided to buy it and got the kindle version. Now I regret I didn't buy it years ago, as it would have given me the knowledge I've learnt in the hard way through experience. I believe it is still the best book on messaging and a must have for any serious software architect. I especially like the balance between theoretical content and practical examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good tips for starting integration topic., 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enterprise Integration Patterns: Designing, Building, and Deploying Messaging Solutions (Addison-Wesley Signature) (Hardcover)
That book sums up patterns for integration very well. But compared to real life it misses some points, mostly with performance.
For example subscribe channel can be very costly in time, when processing 1000 messages per second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews