Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars27
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2007
Good book. Covers a lot of ground and gives a good survey of the field. Time is on its back, however. The use of web frameworks such as Struts or Spring, and the use of ORM tools such as Hibernate or JPA makes much of the book "redundant". Such tools although solving a lot of practical problems, also introduces many new ones. Maybe a new edition of the book should cover such ground.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
This book is a fundamental read for software professionals. The benefit of shared language in software design is unquestionable and this book describes the architectural patterns (as opposed to the GoF design patterns, which are more granular). The book is well written, with a surprising amount of humour that makes it an easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2008
This book has some useful patterns such as Special Case, Lazy Load and Application Controller, however for .NET developers you won't gain a great deal from this book, and a lot of the patterns/code examples are very biased towards Java. The code samples in C# you wouldn't write the way that Fowler has written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2009
Like it or not, PoEAA has become one of those must-read books. It's clear and to the point, and I'm honestly struggling to say anything bad about it. The only issue is that it's so enterprise-heavy that if you haven't worked much with Enterprise apps, you'll end up bored and/or confused from the outset.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Gang of four is a classic reference to this material but it it done at a lower level. This is more of a definitive reference on patterns in application development.

A must read of developers working with patterns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
I am not disappointed I've spent my money on it. Very good although all the examples in everything except php :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
A very nice guide book for hwo wants to learn somme software paterns and how to implement them in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
Great resource for designing and building services within the enterprise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
Really good reference book to keep in the office.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
I have bought several of Martin Fowler's other books as well. I find him a very good writer. however this book was my worst buy. Perhaps since at this stage of buying, I wasn't aware that this book is already 12 years old now. I would rather look somewhere else for similar books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)