Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice map of a beautiful area
The OS Explorer series works at 1:25000 which is 4cm to the kilometer or 2.5 inch to the mile. That's as tight a scale as you'll get from the OS (their Landranger series are less fine at 2cm to the kilometer) and it's easily enough for casual rambling or more serious hiking. To give you an idea of the scale, it takes four of these Explorer maps to cover the English Lake...
Published on 3 Jun. 2011 by Crookedmouth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My map doesn't look like the picture it has a pink front
The map I received isn't new as discribed. My map doesn't look like the picture it has a pink front. The map inside is of snowdon but not overly happy
Published 2 months ago by Andrew roe


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice map of a beautiful area, 3 Jun. 2011
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (Somewhere in the Jurassic...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snowdon (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
The OS Explorer series works at 1:25000 which is 4cm to the kilometer or 2.5 inch to the mile. That's as tight a scale as you'll get from the OS (their Landranger series are less fine at 2cm to the kilometer) and it's easily enough for casual rambling or more serious hiking. To give you an idea of the scale, it takes four of these Explorer maps to cover the English Lake District (OL4, 5, 6 and 7). I would suggest that if you're driving or cycling on good roads and paths you may be better off with the more manageable Landrangers.

These maps are printed both sides, and they also fold out pretty big, so if your route takes you over the page, maneouvring these beasts can be a little cumbersome. Note also that the key is only printed on one side, across a boundary and that can cause some difficulties. So, some serious map folding is needed - when I was in the Territorial Army, we even had a lesson on the subject.

The "Active" version is waterproofed and costs a few pounds more than the plain paper map but it is even bulkier. I prefer to use the paper map and stuff it in a map case or even a clear plakky bag. Horses for courses.

If you're sticking to roads, paths or decent tracks, or are going to be within sight of plenty of obvious landmarks, you can operate without a compass. If your walk is a little more adventurous, you'd be wise to carry one with you, but bear in mind that effective compass usage doesn't come without a little training and practise.

Final tip: before you leave the car park, "orient the map". In other words, make sure you know where you are on the map and where you're going. Line up your route on the map with the route on the ground and be aware that this might require you to hold the map upside down or on it's side. Try and maintain a reference between the map and reality as you go, matching landmarks on the ground with those on the map, and you'll never get lost.

Away from the practical aspects, I love OS maps and I can spend hours poring over them. It's almost as good as actually going to the places they depict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 2 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Snowdon (OS Explorer Map Active) (Map)
Top quality OS map as ever. Waterproofing works well and shows no sign of degrading after several trips. Good to write on wipe off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Map, 30 Nov. 2013
By 
L. F. Haywrd "ashfish47" (Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snowdon (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
What's not to like about a map which tells you where the paths are up Snowdon. did the climb with my Grandson of 16 - went up the Pyg and down the Rangers. Think we'll go down the Miner's next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Map, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snowdon (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
I have been using these maps for years for doing coastal walking around England and they are great and comforting to have. They have a lot of detail and would recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARVELOUS, 29 Jun. 2009
By 
Ms. R. J. Riley "BEXSTER" (RETFORD, NOTTS ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snowdon (OS Explorer Map Active) (Map)
EXACTLY WHAT IT NEEDED TO BE, DIDN'T ACTUALLY NEED IT FOR CLIMBING SNOWDON BECAUSE THE PATHS ARE SO OBVIOUS BUT INVALUABLE FOR OTHER WALKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great price, good map, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. William Scroggs "Billy S" (Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snowdon (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
Is a perfect map for hill walking at a great price.... Will look at this site when I need another trad OS map
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snowdon (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
A must read before the actual climb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good map, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snowdon (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
I have plenty of these OS explorer maps, never use any other for hiking. Usually buy the waterproof versions but absolutely fine with a decent map case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for mountain walks!, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snowdon (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
Very detailed, easy to read and user-friendly. It becomes pretty hard to get lost with this map in your backpack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say..., 20 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snowdon (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
... about OS maps? Excellent as always and the Explorer ones really do withstand the weather and last far longer than the standard paper maps. I never walk more then a couple of miles from the car without one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snowdon (OS Explorer Map Active)
Snowdon (OS Explorer Map Active) by Ordnance Survey (Map - 12 May 2008)
£11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews