Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars62
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2011
The OS Explorer series works at 1:25000 which is 4cm to the kilometer or 2.5 inch to the mile. That's as tight a scale as you'll get from the OS (their Landranger series are less fine at 2cm to the kilometer) and it's easily enough for casual rambling or more serious hiking. To give you an idea of the scale, it takes four of these Explorer maps to cover the English Lake District (OL4, 5, 6 and 7). I would suggest that if you're driving or cycling on good roads and paths you may be better off with the more manageable Landrangers.

These maps are printed both sides, and they also fold out pretty big, so if your route takes you over the page, maneouvring these beasts can be a little cumbersome. Note also that the key is only printed on one side, across a boundary and that can cause some difficulties. So, some serious map folding is needed - when I was in the Territorial Army, we even had a lesson on the subject.

You could do well to buy a mapcaseto keep it dry. Alternatively, you can buy a waterproofed edition of the map - the "Active" version - which costs a few pounds more.

If you're sticking to roads, paths or decent tracks, or are going to be within sight of plenty of obvious landmarks, you can operate without a compass. If your walk is a little more adventurous, you'd be wise to carry one with you, but bear in mind that effective compass usage doesn't come without a little training and practise.

Final tip: before you leave the car park, "orient the map". In other words, make sure you know where you are on the map and where you're going. Line up your route on the map with the route on the ground and be aware that this might require you to hold the map upside down or on it's side. Try and maintain a reference between the map and reality as you go, matching landmarks on the ground with those on the map, and you'll never get lost.

Away from the practical aspects, I love OS maps and I can spend hours poring over them. It's almost as good as actually going to the places they depict.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
If you are going walking in the Peak District you need this, even if you have a book of circular walks to use. With the one for the northern part of the PD, it allows you to check, shorten, or extend your walk, and avoid any walking that is beyond members of your party or that you just don't fancy. Money well spent.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
This is excellent. For the unelightened, an ordnance survey map is a two dimensional miniature pictorial reproduction of the three dimensional landscape in a particular area of the world - in this case the English Peak District. You can then use it to imagine yourself as a very very tiny person and find out where you in relation to other places, and "map" out a route back to reality. Like all the best ideas, it's brilliantly simple. It is important to remember though that it will only be of use to you if it matches the actual place you're in. There are little illustrations of hills, paths, roads, rivers, streams, toilets (denoted by a big 'P' sign - very handy), streets and whole towns, helpfully labelled with their correct names. When out "country walking" (or yomping, rambling, or even strolling), and you don't have the capability of elevating yourself into the stratosphere to get this kind of "overview", then this foldable replica of the real world will do nicely instead.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Going on a holiday earlier ths year to the Peak District, thought "I must get an OS map" thinking of all the detailed spots I could identify and visit. Well, the problem is that these maps are so detailed, it is almost impossible to find out where you are and where you want to head for. And in large part this is due to how unwieldy the maps are; at times, it felt like a "Carry on Hiking" film, with the map wrapped around my head. They do a "laminated all weather version" this is more expensive , £7.99 I think, but probably worth paying out the extra.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Great map, very large for walkies but perfect for using at home

Whatever happened to those little green and white super-detailed small maps that were around a few years ago? They seem to have disappeared.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
You shouldn't go walking in the Peaks without an OS map. A good scale and good detail.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
OS Explorer maps are about the best to use, this one covers the peak district which is a great place to walk and even better during the winter months, I normally know my way around the peak district but if bad weather closes in its always worth carrying one of these maps and a compass to keep you on track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
For our gentle week's rambling in the Peak District this map fits the bill. As essential as walking boots. Helped to make sense of the awesome views once we'd climbed up that hill. Yes, I could see where that steam train started and where it's going. And Chatsworth must be just be over there. Etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Not much one can say about OS maps. This has the usual fine mapping and will be useful for a planned walk in the Peak District. I have a number of various OS maps and have found them invaluable for planning country walks and for general interest in areas of the UK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Already used this on a weekend away. Friends had walk guides with toy maps printed off the internet and we wouldn't have had half as good a walk without the OS. Great maps at a great price on Amazon :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)