Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good detailed hiking map
The OS Explorer series works at 1:25000 which is 4cm to the kilometer or 2.5 inch to the mile. That's as tight a scale as you'll get from the OS (their Landranger series are less fine at 2cm to the kilometer) and it's easily enough for casual rambling or more serious hiking. To give you an idea of the scale, it takes four of these Explorer maps to cover the English Lake...
Published on 3 Jun. 2011 by Crookedmouth

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice little book
Nice little book with some good maps but drivers may want to have a larger, more detailed map of the area as I did get lost a couple of time being unable to find smaller routes. But generally very helpful, EXCEPT for the writeup on Clapham as being "one of the prettiest little villages that anyone could wish to find; it is almost as if it was planned with the picture...
Published on 3 Jan. 2011 by mmrich


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good detailed hiking map, 3 Jun. 2011
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (Somewhere in the Jurassic...) - See all my reviews
The OS Explorer series works at 1:25000 which is 4cm to the kilometer or 2.5 inch to the mile. That's as tight a scale as you'll get from the OS (their Landranger series are less fine at 2cm to the kilometer) and it's easily enough for casual rambling or more serious hiking. To give you an idea of the scale, it takes four of these Explorer maps to cover the English Lake District (OL4, 5, 6 and 7 - for my holiday there this year I'll be taking three maps) or two (OL2 and 30) for the Yorkshire Dales. I would suggest that if you're driving or cycling on good roads and paths you may be better off with the more manageable Landrangers.

These maps are printed both sides, and they also fold out pretty big, so if your route takes you over the page, maneouvring these beasts can be a little cumbersome. Note also that the key is only printed on one side, across a boundary and that can cause some difficulties. So, some serious map folding is needed - when I was in the Territorial Army, we even had a lesson on the subject.

This is the "Active" version it's waterproofed which costs a few pounds more than the plain paper map but it is even bulkier. I prefer to use the paper map and stuff it in a map case or even a clear plakky bag. Horses for courses.

If you're sticking to roads, paths or decent tracks, or are going to be within sight of plenty of obvious landmarks, you can operate without a compass. If your walk is a little more adventurous, you'd be wise to carry one with you, but bear in mind that effective compass usage doesn't come without a little training and practise.

Final tip: before you leave the car park, "orient the map". In other words, make sure you know where you are on the map and where you're going. Line up your route on the map with the route on the ground and be aware that this might require you to hold the map upside down or on it's side. Try and maintain a reference between the map and reality as you go, matching landmarks on the ground with those on the map, and you'll never get lost.

Away from the practical aspects, I love OS maps and I can spend hours poring over them. It's almost as good as actually going to the places they depict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales: Southern and Western Areas (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
I only trust OS maps, and I love their detail and beauty. This particular map also includes the popular Yorkshire Three Peaks, which are a must if you visit the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for holidays/touring, 26 Aug. 2011
By 
Paul Chapman (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These maps are great for touring - the interesting places are clearly marked so its difficult to miss the the key features in an area. I get the impression that the series is being discontinued so Ive started a collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Map review, 14 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales: Southern and Western Areas (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
Very useful for our 3 peaks preparation especially in view of the revised route to avoid the boggy part of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good as ever, 29 May 2014
By 
G. Anstey (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales: Southern and Western Areas (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
Probably the best maps in the world. The essential map for anyone with an interest in the outdoors, whether for leisure or study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ordnance survey map, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Eaton "snakes alive" (lancs uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales: Southern and Western Areas (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
What can I say? This is another top quality walking map from the Ordnance Survey stables. Soon to be extinct I hear
due to the advance of sat nav technology -portable sat navs are apparently the way forward now for modern walkers.
Map reading will fast become a dying skill. So only those of us with this knowledge will be able to save the world when
Armageddon comes and no electronics work anymore...However, I digress, the map is well made the covering is detachable to enable better folding and fitting into your waterproof case. the usual rules apply a good compass is handy when reading these maps in situ. North is at the top of the page as usual and all the other compass points are in their usual places. Cheers for the Ordnance Survey walking maps and Boo to sat navs..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic OS guide, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales: Southern and Western Areas (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
Haven't actually used the map yet, but OS maps are the ideal walking and touring companion. Exceptionally good value compared to the price in High Street bookshops
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super map, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales: Southern and Western Areas (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
A lovely map for such a great part of the hills to walk in. We have used several times. Much cheaper than the OS website or shops.
It would be better if the car parks were all marked on the maps and their locations a bit clearer. Also I'd prefer it zoomed in a little more as if you're not experienced at reading them it can often be difficult to decipher exactly where to go.
Hint: Look out on the ground for the black line boundary walls as some are no longer there or just a few random stones in a line as aposed to a clear 4ft wall!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great companion, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorkshire Dales: Southern and Western Areas (OS Explorer Map) (Map)
If you are, like me, new to map reading get this and start using it in conjunction with your Pathfinder guides. It all fits together after a while and its really handy on some of the less well marked trails. If you are using the Pathfinder guide then get the OL30 and OL2 (I think that is what they are) since the guide covers both areas of maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars O. S. Map, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful I would be lost without it . Fortunately it covers the area in which I am walking, the one negative comment the path one is looking for is always on the crease !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yorkshire Dales: Southern and Western Areas (OS Explorer Map)
Used & New from: £3.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews